'15 OEM Wheels and TPMS on a '14 JKRUX - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-18-2015, 08:09 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
tomba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 625
'15 OEM Wheels and TPMS on a '14 JKRUX

I recently picked up a brand new set of '15 JKU wheels to put on my '14 JKURX in place of the factory mud tires. I'm about to move back overseas, so I need a set for summer and a set for winter.

BUT...my '15 wheels came with the factory TPMS sensors in them...they are all brand new...less than 10 miles on the set. I drove on them this morning to work ( 32 miles) but the TPMS light never shut off. Does the '15 still use the 433 MHz sensors like the '14? Is there another step I need to do? The TPS monitor by the speedometer shows -- in place of where I normally see the tire pressures on all 4 tires.

thanks!

__________________
Current Jeeps:
1998 Jeep XJ- SOLD!
2014 Granite JKU Rubicon X 730n/ Dual Top/ 6SP Manual
2004 Ford E350 12 Passenger Van, 6.0 Diesel with Quigley 4x4- Cold Weather Package
tomba is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 10:17 AM
Thread Starter
  #2
Jeeper
 
tomba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 625
Don't know if this makes a difference or not, the '15 wheels are from JKU Sport

__________________
Current Jeeps:
1998 Jeep XJ- SOLD!
2014 Granite JKU Rubicon X 730n/ Dual Top/ 6SP Manual
2004 Ford E350 12 Passenger Van, 6.0 Diesel with Quigley 4x4- Cold Weather Package
tomba is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 10:58 AM   #3
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,968
The frequency is the same. It can take up to 2-3 on/off cycles driving approx. 20 min. for the sensors to synch. Since you put the wheels on a Rubicon, you'll have to air up to the recommended pressure that's listed on the door jamb. That's what the TPMS is set for on a Rubicon. It's probably 37. Sometimes it seems like there's an issue when sensors are swapped from a vehicle that doesn't have the connectivity group to one that does. The sensors should be the same. That might not be the case with your situation. I would give it more time and see if it finally synchs.
kik is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-18-2015, 12:12 PM
Thread Starter
  #4
Jeeper
 
tomba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by kik View Post
The frequency is the same. It can take up to 2-3 on/off cycles driving approx. 20 min. for the sensors to synch. Since you put the wheels on a Rubicon, you'll have to air up to the recommended pressure that's listed on the door jamb. That's what the TPMS is set for on a Rubicon. It's probably 37. Sometimes it seems like there's an issue when sensors are swapped from a vehicle that doesn't have the connectivity group to one that does. The sensors should be the same. That might not be the case with your situation. I would give it more time and see if it finally synchs.
Many thanks for that! Yeah I've been seeing some older threads about guys upping the tire pressure to around 44 psi and it seems to work. I have no idea what these guys filled them to yesterday when I had them mounted and rebalanced. Mostly worried because the State inspection is due next month!
__________________
Current Jeeps:
1998 Jeep XJ- SOLD!
2014 Granite JKU Rubicon X 730n/ Dual Top/ 6SP Manual
2004 Ford E350 12 Passenger Van, 6.0 Diesel with Quigley 4x4- Cold Weather Package
tomba is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 02:13 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,136
I have not found a reliable air gauge in years. If it is 37 on your door jamb then up it to 42 or better. The onesy twosey air pressure gauges could be off that much.

Bob K.
nwbronco is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 02:52 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Boiling Springs PA
Posts: 60
Are you sure you have the sensors in your new wheels? Were the '15 wheels bought from a private person? Heard this story so many times and, in fact, my son was also a "victim." The guy who sold the wheels and tires removed the sensors and put them on his new wheels. Yes, I know, he said the sensors were still in. They aren't; you need to buy a set off amazon for 48 or so dollars (five of them) and pay the $10 a tire to have a shop install them. You can put as much air as you want, pay a shop to electronically see a sensor, deal with the lack of dash gauge readout or do as I've suggested and fix the problem. The sensors activate after driving a couple of minutes if they are there.
DR MIKE is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 02:55 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 558
On the sport, it's probably an add on option, but I'm not sure.
bigjohnstud4200 is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 02:55 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,136
The air pressure has to be right first. Easy enough to run up the pressure and test again. You could be right Dr. Mike. But I could be as well.
nwbronco is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 02:58 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,136
I have seen about a half dozen '15 base model sports. They all have TPMS.
nwbronco is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 03:07 PM
Thread Starter
  #10
Jeeper
 
tomba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by DR MIKE View Post
Are you sure you have the sensors in your new wheels? Were the '15 wheels bought from a private person? Heard this story so many times and, in fact, my son was also a "victim." The guy who sold the wheels and tires removed the sensors and put them on his new wheels. Yes, I know, he said the sensors were still in. They aren't; you need to buy a set off amazon for 48 or so dollars (five of them) and pay the $10 a tire to have a shop install them. You can put as much air as you want, pay a shop to electronically see a sensor, deal with the lack of dash gauge readout or do as I've suggested and fix the problem. The sensors activate after driving a couple of minutes if they are there.
I'm about 99.9% certain they do...I picked them up from a Jeep shop close to my house that lifts brand new Jeeps and resells them for quite a pretty penny.. he puts the new wheels together before he had the new Jeeps in stock. I did ask before I picked up this set and was told "Yes, they're still installed". I'll start with the air pressure first, then see how that goes. I have a digital guage at home that was pretty close to the same as what the TPMS system read so I'll get the 44 psi a go first...
__________________
Current Jeeps:
1998 Jeep XJ- SOLD!
2014 Granite JKU Rubicon X 730n/ Dual Top/ 6SP Manual
2004 Ford E350 12 Passenger Van, 6.0 Diesel with Quigley 4x4- Cold Weather Package
tomba is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 03:08 PM   #11
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwbronco View Post
The air pressure has to be right first. Easy enough to run up the pressure and test again. You could be right Dr. Mike. But I could be as well.
I agree. All JK's have TPMS. Since the OP's wheels/tires have 10 miles on them they might have the sensors, but the original owner could have removed them. They would obviously have had to break them down. I would rather have a tire shop scan them in order to definately ascertain if the sensors are in the tires rather than break them down or purchase new sensors, without actually knowing if they're in there. Some sensors will synch after a few miles or after a few minutes, but some do take awhile. Chrysler indicates that it "could" take a few cycles driving at least 20 min. Why all of them don't synch. right away, I have no idea. TPMS is such a PIA that a few years ago a Procal solved this headache. Just a thought.
kik is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 09:05 AM
Thread Starter
  #12
Jeeper
 
tomba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 625
Gang- I'm beginning to think you guys are right! I checked the pressure after work...it was a bit high at 50 PSI. I aired them down to 40 psi but after my 32 mile trip to work this morning I still have the light on.

I shot the owner of the place this morning to ask...his assistant told me " they were still installed" but I think now that might not be the case.
__________________
Current Jeeps:
1998 Jeep XJ- SOLD!
2014 Granite JKU Rubicon X 730n/ Dual Top/ 6SP Manual
2004 Ford E350 12 Passenger Van, 6.0 Diesel with Quigley 4x4- Cold Weather Package
tomba is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 10:27 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Boiling Springs PA
Posts: 60
You don't have the sensors. As I said, I know the signs and now you can smell the bullshxt (;>))
DR MIKE is offline   Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 09:55 AM   #14
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by DR MIKE View Post
You don't have the sensors. As I said, I know the signs and now you can smell the bullshxt (;>))
I have to say that at this point DR MIKE might have nailed it.
kik is offline   Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 01:14 PM
Thread Starter
  #15
Jeeper
 
tomba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by kik View Post
I have to say that at this point DR MIKE might have nailed it.

Yeah that's for sure..hats off to Dr. MIKE....you nailed that one...lol I got the email back from the shop owner that said no! He does indeed pull the TPMS. I'll never understand that...you drop 2500 on 35s and wheels, 600 on the lift ( I like teraflex :P) but you don't drop 100 on new TPMS? Anyway, $103 dropped on new TPMS from Amazon, due to arrive tonight. Tomorrow I'll have them installed and rebalanced.
__________________
Current Jeeps:
1998 Jeep XJ- SOLD!
2014 Granite JKU Rubicon X 730n/ Dual Top/ 6SP Manual
2004 Ford E350 12 Passenger Van, 6.0 Diesel with Quigley 4x4- Cold Weather Package
tomba is offline   Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 01:18 PM
Thread Starter
  #16
Jeeper
 
tomba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by DR MIKE View Post
You don't have the sensors. As I said, I know the signs and now you can smell the bullshxt (;>))
LOL no kidding.. I should have checked anyway...lol Wheels and tires are perfect though...I did get an awesome deal, even without them. Just wish I had been told that when I asked and I wouldn't have paid to rebalance them twice.

__________________
Current Jeeps:
1998 Jeep XJ- SOLD!
2014 Granite JKU Rubicon X 730n/ Dual Top/ 6SP Manual
2004 Ford E350 12 Passenger Van, 6.0 Diesel with Quigley 4x4- Cold Weather Package
tomba is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.