A/C Compressor wont engage Troubleshoot to date - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By OJEEPRZ
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-26-2019, 05:06 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Iowa
Posts: 16
A/C Compressor wont engage Troubleshoot to date

Hey All,
09 Wrangler Sahara, had the air recharged and it worked. 2 weeks later quit working. went to take it back to check pressure and started working on the way there. 2 weeks later quit working again. Put a new Pressure switch on, no change. Had them check for low pressure, pressure was good. Put on new compressor. took it to recharge, they said the compressor wont engage, so they drained it back out. Checked the pressure switch and Im getting 5v. That's good Im assuming. Checked the power to the compressor its 12.5 volts on one side. Im lost. Any other ideas?

OJEEPRZ is offline   Quote
Old 07-26-2019, 08:55 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Bob Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 4,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by OJEEPRZ View Post
Hey All,
09 Wrangler Sahara, had the air recharged and it worked. 2 weeks later quit working. went to take it back to check pressure and started working on the way there. 2 weeks later quit working again. Put a new Pressure switch on, no change. Had them check for low pressure, pressure was good. Put on new compressor. took it to recharge, they said the compressor wont engage, so they drained it back out. Checked the pressure switch and Im getting 5v. That's good Im assuming. Checked the power to the compressor its 12.5 volts on one side. Im lost. Any other ideas?

Not sure what you mean by "on one side" but if you're getting 12 volts to the clutch and it's not engaging then either the clutch itself or the compressor's ground is the problem.

Bob Sanders is offline   Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 02:54 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Iowa
Posts: 16
When I said on the one side, I was referring to the two leads. Im assuming I didn't get anything on the one side because its a ground? As far as the ground wire for the AC Compressor, its not obvious where that is.
OJEEPRZ is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-28-2019, 05:19 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Bob Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 4,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by OJEEPRZ View Post
When I said on the one side, I was referring to the two leads. Im assuming I didn't get anything on the one side because its a ground? As far as the ground wire for the AC Compressor, its not obvious where that is.

One side should be ground, the other is 12 volts.
Bob Sanders is offline   Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 10:52 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 501
Could be several things here at play. Low refirgerant, bad tipm, blockage in the AC, bad compressor clutch.

Are you getting 12v to the compressor coil to turn on? This will give you an idea if the computers are in control and have the info they need to turn it on. Also wouldn't hurt to see if the compressor is grounded.

After that, you can check AC pressure with a set of pressure gauges. Not just low side but both. This will give you an idea of the health of the overall system. You also need to have the gauges hooked up while the issue is occurring. It may be low refrigerant, may be a blockage.

The second thing is you need to see what the pressure sensor is actually showing in the computer. The pressure sensor...according to the diagram I have available...is a 3 wire. You get 5v from the TIPM, a ground from the TIPM and a signal return to the tipm. Ideally you need to see what that voltage is in the TIPM by plugging a scan tool in.



With out visibility into those you are guessing. Kind of surprised that they put on a compressor. Wonder what made them pick that.
sequel is online now   Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 11:33 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Bob Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 4,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by sequel View Post
Could be several things here at play. Low refirgerant, bad tipm, blockage in the AC, bad compressor clutch.

Are you getting 12v to the compressor coil to turn on? This will give you an idea if the computers are in control and have the info they need to turn it on. Also wouldn't hurt to see if the compressor is grounded.

After that, you can check AC pressure with a set of pressure gauges. Not just low side but both. This will give you an idea of the health of the overall system. You also need to have the gauges hooked up while the issue is occurring. It may be low refrigerant, may be a blockage.

The second thing is you need to see what the pressure sensor is actually showing in the computer. The pressure sensor...according to the diagram I have available...is a 3 wire. You get 5v from the TIPM, a ground from the TIPM and a signal return to the tipm. Ideally you need to see what that voltage is in the TIPM by plugging a scan tool in.



With out visibility into those you are guessing. Kind of surprised that they put on a compressor. Wonder what made them pick that.

He said he's getting 12 volts to the clutch so it can only be the clutch or the clutch's ground. If it was pressure related or similar the computer wouldn't be sending power to the clutch.
Bob Sanders is offline   Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 12:04 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
He said he's getting 12 volts to the clutch so it can only be the clutch or the clutch's ground. If it was pressure related or similar the computer wouldn't be sending power to the clutch.
Good point. Got lost in the other part.
sequel is online now   Quote
Old 08-18-2019, 05:40 PM
Thread Starter
  #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Iowa
Posts: 16
Thank You all for the replies. Sorry I didn't get back sooner. Ended up being the ground wire. It was also causing 2 - 02 sensor check engine light errors.
Bob Sanders likes this.

OJEEPRZ is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.