Alpine Sub woofer issue - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By GuzziMoto
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-18-2018, 06:14 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 3
Alpine Sub woofer issue

I have a 2014 Sahara JK, it was in the shop back in August and before going into the shop the subwoofer was working fine. When picked up noticed it was not working. Looked up the fuse diagram and found the fuse that controls the sub. Somehow or some reason the fuse had been pulled and bridged into another slot? Yeah, seems fishy to me. Well it was in the shop again this past month for an issue with the driver side cylinder head. Well they called yesterday, said the jeep was ready so I went and picked up. Well, again the sub is not working. All other speakers work fine. I checked the fuse again and no issue there. I checked the power outlet beside the sub with a phone charger and it has power and works fine. So now I am at a loss on what it may be? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

2014SaharaJK is offline   Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 07:37 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Bob Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 4,576
Not sure what "fuse" you are talking about. There is no fuse for the sub. There is a fuse for the entire alpine amp (M12 or something like that). The outlet beside the sub has it's own fuse and has nothing to do with the amp.


If all other speakers are working then I would suspect a loose or undone plug.

Bob Sanders is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 12:28 AM   #3
RETIRED MODERATER

WF Lifetime Member
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hot as Hell Arizona, the home of the mighty Dragon. Beware of your surrounding, because of DANGER!
Posts: 34,560
to the Forum..
__________________
1974 CJ5, 2003 TJ, 2013 2 door Black Rubicon, auto, with 4.10 ratio.
Shaking at 40-70 MPH, Read this!!!

The Mighty Dragon is not concerned,
with
the needs of the Hunter....
Old Dogger is online now   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-19-2018, 07:59 AM
Thread Starter
  #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
Not sure what "fuse" you are talking about. There is no fuse for the sub. There is a fuse for the entire alpine amp (M12 or something like that). The outlet beside the sub has it's own fuse and has nothing to do with the amp.


If all other speakers are working then I would suspect a loose or undone plug.
M12 Fuse is fine also, Just checked it
2014SaharaJK is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 09:02 AM   #5
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Clear Spring, Md
Posts: 4,556
It sounds like your subwoofer is going bad. It is unlikely what you found last time had anything to do with it, it was likely just a coincidence. And this time there is no coincidence, it just isn't working. It could be a loose connection in the signal wire to the sub, or it could be the sub itself, since you say the sub has power. It only needs a ground, power, and a signal, if it has those and it does not work it is something internal.
2014SaharaJK likes this.
GuzziMoto is online now   Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 11:10 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Bob Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 4,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2014SaharaJK View Post
M12 Fuse is fine also, Just checked it

Long shot but....
Have you checked your head unit settings?
If they disconnected the battery for any length of time then I wonder if the head unit's memory goes bad and the eq settings revert back to flat making the sub SOUND like it's not working?
Bob Sanders is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 12:53 PM
Thread Starter
  #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
Long shot but....
Have you checked your head unit settings?
If they disconnected the battery for any length of time then I wonder if the head unit's memory goes bad and the eq settings revert back to flat making the sub SOUND like it's not working?


Yeah I adjusted all the setting back to what I normally have them on. Then tested by moving all the sound to rear, then front, then left and right.
2014SaharaJK is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 04:04 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Bob Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 4,576
Well, if all connections are good then there should be no reason the sub is not working unless it is blown, or the amp section is blown. There is no fuse just for the sub

Bob Sanders is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.