Another JK stereo wiring question - stock infinity amp inputs - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-18-2015, 09:50 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
escher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 447
Another JK stereo wiring question - stock infinity amp inputs

Good day folks,

I have the 2008 Sahara with infinity system and sub. No Steering wheel controls or u-connect. I'm planning on a full upgrade of everything, but cant afford the whole shebang at once - so I'm thinking about doing it in phases..

I have a call into my dealer to see if I can cut my amplifier wiring harness without voiding my extended warranty (I dont believe wiring is covered, so I think I can splice in if I want).

Here is my question:

Are the stock infinity amplifier inputs line level or speaker output level?

I'm thinking about just swapping the head unit out, and tying into the stock amplifier(s) for now and running just two channel (front + sub) as the wiring to my soundbar is bad - I have a dead channel that just buzzes.

Then, down the road when I save up a bit more, I will get a 5 channel amp and run from my head unit pre-outs and bypass the stock amplifiers. Running all new heavy gauge speaker wires with new speakers as well..

My goal for now is to add the new head unit and *not* buy an expensive wiring harness - since I dont have u-connect or steering wheel controls, so I could care less about keeping factory wiring - I just want to splice into the amplifiers for now.


Clear as mud?

So - once again - is the stock amp line level or speaker level input?

Thanks guys!

__________________
2015 Wrangler Unlimited Sahara - Black

Yes - I Wave!
escher is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 09:56 AM
Thread Starter
  #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
escher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fenton, MI
Posts: 447
By the way.. I have read up on this a bit and realize that i can't run a fader with the factory amp and aftermarket head...
__________________
2015 Wrangler Unlimited Sahara - Black

Yes - I Wave!
escher is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.