Brand new wheel/tire setup, TPMS light on ? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-01-2015, 10:16 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 15
Brand new wheel/tire setup, TPMS light on ?

Separate, but related to my original post about the recent changeover from OEM wheels/tires to the new setup, now i've got the TPMS icon lit up on the console. I've checked and re-checked the pressure all the way around, and it's within manufacturer's specs.

Anyone else out there in TV-land have a similar experience ? FWIW, i'm on ProComps (17x9) with 33" Mickey Thompson Bajas.

littlebunnybangbang is offline   Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 10:20 PM   #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 6,891
I missed your other thread. Did they transfer the old TPMS sensors to your new wheels or install new ones?

RoadiJeff is offline   Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 10:34 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Greg22585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by littlebunnybangbang View Post
Separate, but related to my original post about the recent changeover from OEM wheels/tires to the new setup, now i've got the TPMS icon lit up on the console. I've checked and re-checked the pressure all the way around, and it's within manufacturer's specs. Anyone else out there in TV-land have a similar experience ? FWIW, i'm on ProComps (17x9) with 33" Mickey Thompson Bajas.
If you do have the sensors installed you will have to inflate your tires above the recommended psi to turn the light off. My '15 JKUR would say INFLATE 37, I would air them up to 40 and then lower back to 35. I got the Flashcal so I could run 27-28psi, see my individual psi's and not have to fool with tpms lights and warnings.
Greg22585 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2015, 09:30 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Wandell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,378
Possibly, one or more of the sensors could have been damaged during the installation.
Wandell is offline   Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 09:48 AM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 11
Smile tpms sensors

you need two programmed keys to set the sensors. could be a bad battery too.
coastal mud is offline   Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 03:34 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Greg22585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by coastal mud View Post
you need two programmed keys to set the sensors. could be a bad battery too.
What do u mean by setting the sensors with 2 programmed keys? Is that what has to be done if u buy new sensors? I just swapped from my stock wheels to my new wheels, drove a couple hundred feet down the road the sensors set themselves to their correct location, left front right front etc etc.
Greg22585 is offline   Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 09:46 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg22585 View Post
If you do have the sensors installed you will have to inflate your tires above the recommended psi to turn the light off. My '15 JKUR would say INFLATE 37, I would air them up to 40 and then lower back to 35. I got the Flashcal so I could run 27-28psi, see my individual psi's and not have to fool with tpms lights and warnings.
I have 2015 JK Sport, just changed to 17" Rock Monster Beadlocks with 35" Duratracs. The default cold psi for stock tires is 35, Max for duratracs is 60. I don't have flashcal and nobody local sells it. TPMS light came on after 20mi. What should I inflate the tires to, if above recommended? Air down afterwards to?
Ducaton is offline   Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 10:46 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Greg22585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducaton View Post
I have 2015 JK Sport, just changed to 17" Rock Monster Beadlocks with 35" Duratracs. The default cold psi for stock tires is 35, Max for duratracs is 60. I don't have flashcal and nobody local sells it. TPMS light came on after 20mi. What should I inflate the tires to, if above recommended? Air down afterwards to?
I typed a really nice response and this dang app keeps crashing. 60psi is the max for higher load rated tires so that means u have a stiff sidewall tire under a really light vehicle. I suggest 28-30 psi from my own experimenting with my 37's load D tires and I think most people here that run load D and E tires will agree that 28-30psi is good. My factory spec psi was 37 and my tpms light activated when I got below 30psi. Psi's change with temperature, so u may be fine at 2pm but the next cool morning your psi may drop too low and set your lights off. You really need to get an AEV Procal or Superchips Flashcal for correcting the speedometer with larger tires and running lower more comfortable psi's. There's vendors on this forum that can get u which ever u choose, at your front door within 5 days and they even offer forum member discounts.
Greg22585 is offline   Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 10:59 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Greg22585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ducaton View Post
I have 2015 JK Sport, just changed to 17" Rock Monster Beadlocks with 35" Duratracs. The default cold psi for stock tires is 35, Max for duratracs is 60. I don't have flashcal and nobody local sells it. TPMS light came on after 20mi. What should I inflate the tires to, if above recommended? Air down afterwards to?
And I had my psi set at 34 until my Flashcal got here. I'm assuming the only difference between a JK Sport and a JKU Rubicon is just 1 is 35psi cold and the other is 37psi cold. Once my tpms light came on, they wouldn't go off until I got above 37. So I inflated all 4 to 40ish and that cleared all the BS, then I went around and lowered all 4 to 34psi, which kept the lights off until I received the Flashcal, then I lowered to 28 and haven't seen any lights or warnings since. My tires fluctuate between 26 on really cold mornings and 29 doing 70mph down the highway.
Greg22585 is offline   Quote
Old 12-13-2015, 12:43 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 155
Just a follow up, it seems Hutchinson wants the sensor mounted on a bracket that is away from the original location of the stock setup. I was told my options are:

1. Disable TPMS using AEV or flashcal programmer

2. Have dealer reprogram TPMS

Since I got beadlocks for airing down, that indicator will go off everytime I change pressure settings and would have to be reprogrammed each time.
Ducaton is offline   Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 06:45 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 155
I went to the dealer to ask about reprogramming TPMS. 176 and service advisor said no need to do it again when I air down then back up? It's a 1 time service to tell the tire size. Is this true? I would go this route if it is cause it's a waste to disable TPMS using programmers.

Ducaton is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.