Change Oil Warning after 3000 miles? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree9Likes
  • 1 Post By chaszur
  • 1 Post By Wandell
  • 1 Post By RoadiJeff
  • 1 Post By lowbatt
  • 1 Post By kik
  • 1 Post By Ed Pursell
  • 2 Post By YoMike67
  • 1 Post By kik
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-06-2017, 07:37 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
bahamasjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 132
Change Oil Warning after 3000 miles?

Hey guys,

So my 2010 JKU, previously owned, damaged and now in The Bahamas, had an oil change the moment I bought it (it was showing “Change Oil”).

just under 3K miles later I’m getting a “Change Oil” warning on the dash again. I checked the oil, and it’s full and still perfectly clear.

No sign of so much as a drop on the driveway.

Do I need to worry, or should I hit the gas pedal three times and put it down to a”A Jeep Thing!”

Unsure if oil warning is on a timer/mileage thing or if it’s hooked to something that’s malfunctioning.

Have a Bluedriver coming later this week so can finally read codes, but wanted input from here, as you guys know way more than me!

Cheers.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

__________________
Archery Instructor | Photographer | Dad
British | Bahamas
BahamaBlue/Groot | 2010 JKU Sport S
bahamasjk is offline   Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 08:50 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
YoMike67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 108
Not sure about the 2010, but IIRC, the 2016 manual says something about it being able to detect extreme conditions, idle times, ect. which has a bearing on how quick the oil change light will illuminate.

YoMike67 is offline   Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 09:32 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
bahamasjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoMike67 View Post
Not sure about the 2010, but IIRC, the 2016 manual says something about it being able to detect extreme conditions, idle times, ect. which has a bearing on how quick the oil change light will illuminate.


Hmmm.... I’ll look into that - but nothing extreme for engine oil (it can cope with much higher temperatures than we have on a day to day basis here, I figure>)

Ahhh, Jeeps!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Archery Instructor | Photographer | Dad
British | Bahamas
BahamaBlue/Groot | 2010 JKU Sport S
bahamasjk is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-06-2017, 09:55 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
chaszur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 487
I have a '10 JK and as I recall, the ECM is programmed to give you that warning based on duty time. I use synthetic and change mine about every ten thousand miles, give or take a few. I seem to burn about a half quart or so between changes. Hope that helps.
bahamasjk likes this.
__________________
Life's Short - Play Dirty!

2010 JK Sport 4 in Procomp lift, 35" KO2 tires, ARB front/rear, 4.88 gears, Smittybilt XRC 8 winch, Tuffy cargo enclosure, Spiderwebshades, ACE Engineering skids and rear bumper, Trektop NX, Yaesu- FTM400 Ham radio, Cobra CB radio, more to come .....
chaszur is offline   Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 09:55 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Wandell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,377
I would bet whoever changed the oil forgot to reset the system. Turn the ignition switch on but don't start the engine, then press the gas pedal to the floor and release it three times within ten seconds. Now turn the ignition switch off. This will reset the system.
RustyRide likes this.
__________________
2011 JKU, 3.8v6, automatic, 2.5 inch lift, 35 inch Nitto Trail Grapplers on 17x9 Eagle Alloy 197 wheels
Wandell is offline   Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 09:57 PM   #6
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,618
Did the person who changed the oil last reset the OLM when the oil was changed? If it was then I'd change the oil because the engine was probably operated under severe service conditions and it needs to be changed. If it wasn't reset I'd probably run it to 5K miles change the oil and reset the OLM at the time I change the oil.
demarpaint is offline   Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 10:14 PM   #7
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 6,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wandell View Post
I would bet whoever changed the oil forgot to reset the system.
I was going to suggest that but he said that when he bought it the "Change Oil" indicator was on. He had it changed and then drove it for 3,000 miles before it came back on.
bahamasjk likes this.
RoadiJeff is offline   Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 07:31 AM
Thread Starter
  #8
Jeeper
 
bahamasjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wandell View Post
I would bet whoever changed the oil forgot to reset the system. Turn the ignition switch on but don't start the engine, then press the gas pedal to the floor and release it three times within ten seconds. Now turn the ignition switch off. This will reset the system.


I did the reset on the first change.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Archery Instructor | Photographer | Dad
British | Bahamas
BahamaBlue/Groot | 2010 JKU Sport S
bahamasjk is offline   Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 11:25 PM   #9
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by bahamasjk View Post
I did the reset on the first change.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Then driving conditions dictate you should change your oil. Take a sample send it out for analysis and see good or bad the oil was for sure. That will also validate the accuracy of your OLM. Color of oil doesn't always indicate how good or bad the oil is.
demarpaint is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 02:19 PM   #10
Newb
 
lowbatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
I have a 2010 and mine is always 3000 miles on the dot when I reset the light.
bahamasjk likes this.
lowbatt is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 02:29 PM   #11
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by bahamasjk View Post
I did the reset on the first change.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
If you feel more comfortable you can change the oil since the computer basically indicated a severe duty situation. Just be aware that with early model JK's, dealers were able to program the oil change indication using the Starscan programmer, at an owners request, from a duty based indication to a mileage based indication. That's why there are some early JK's that will trip an oil change indication at a set mileage. If that's the case with your JK you can ignore the oil change notification and just do a re-set when it activates if that's what you prefer to do.
hrd rck likes this.
kik is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 03:03 PM
Thread Starter
  #12
Jeeper
 
bahamasjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by demarpaint View Post
Then driving conditions dictate you should change your oil. Take a sample send it out for analysis and see good or bad the oil was for sure. That will also validate the accuracy of your OLM. Color of oil doesn't always indicate how good or bad the oil is.
If only.... I'd have to package it up and ship it to another country for that.

No facility in this country would do more than look at the sample, maybe sniff it (if they were feeling like they *really* wanted to go above and beyond), then charge me $300 for the privilege!
__________________
Archery Instructor | Photographer | Dad
British | Bahamas
BahamaBlue/Groot | 2010 JKU Sport S
bahamasjk is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 03:05 PM
Thread Starter
  #13
Jeeper
 
bahamasjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by kik View Post
If you feel more comfortable you can change the oil since the computer basically indicated a severe duty situation. Just be aware that with early model JK's, dealers were able to program the oil change indication using the Starscan programmer, at an owners request, from a duty based indication to a mileage based indication. That's why there are some early JK's that will trip an oil change indication at a set mileage. If that's the case with your JK you can ignore the oil change notification and just do a re-set when it activates if that's what you prefer to do.
Any ideas what might trigger a 'severe duty situation'? Our roads are fairly crappy here, but our speed limit is 45mph, and it's never been off road since I got it.

Sadly, I don't know any history on it, so bad driving *prior* to me getting it and changing its oil is an unknown.
__________________
Archery Instructor | Photographer | Dad
British | Bahamas
BahamaBlue/Groot | 2010 JKU Sport S
bahamasjk is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 03:10 PM
Thread Starter
  #14
Jeeper
 
bahamasjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowbatt View Post
I have a 2010 and mine is always 3000 miles on the dot when I reset the light.
Thinking this may be the case. I'm trying to find the exact mileage on the day I bought it... but I know it's close to bang on 3000 since I had the change done.
__________________
Archery Instructor | Photographer | Dad
British | Bahamas
BahamaBlue/Groot | 2010 JKU Sport S
bahamasjk is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 04:09 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Ed Pursell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Allentown,Pa
Posts: 973
For appx. $40.00 bucks or so, I have it changed again and re-set. Then see when it comes on next time or you surpass 3,000 miles. For my piece of mind, I'd change the oil and re-set.
bahamasjk likes this.
__________________
~Ed~
Ed Pursell is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 04:41 PM   #16
Newb
 
lowbatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by bahamasjk View Post

Thinking this may be the case. I'm trying to find the exact mileage on the day I bought it... but I know it's close to bang on 3000 since I had the change done.
I think it starts the change oil notice about 500 miles before it is set. I use one of the tripometers to keep track of my oil change and ignore and reset the built in one.
lowbatt is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 06:00 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
YoMike67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by bahamasjk View Post
If only.... I'd have to package it up and ship it to another country for that.

No facility in this country would do more than look at the sample, maybe sniff it (if they were feeling like they *really* wanted to go above and beyond), then charge me $300 for the privilege!
[IMG]via Imgflip Meme Generator[/IMG]
ATX14 and bahamasjk like this.
YoMike67 is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 06:17 PM   #18
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by bahamasjk View Post
Any ideas what might trigger a 'severe duty situation'? Our roads are fairly crappy here, but our speed limit is 45mph, and it's never been off road since I got it.

Sadly, I don't know any history on it, so bad driving *prior* to me getting it and changing its oil is an unknown.
It doesn't have to be off road for severe duty. At this point it could trip as a result of mileage if a dealer programmed it for the previous owner. Once it's re-set if it trips at 3K miles again you'll know.
bahamasjk likes this.
kik is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 06:56 PM
Thread Starter
  #19
Jeeper
 
bahamasjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoMike67 View Post


Really want to see that image, but it’s not showing!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Archery Instructor | Photographer | Dad
British | Bahamas
BahamaBlue/Groot | 2010 JKU Sport S
bahamasjk is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 06:58 PM
Thread Starter
  #20
Jeeper
 
bahamasjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoMike67 View Post


Followed the link...

ROFL!

And about right!!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Archery Instructor | Photographer | Dad
British | Bahamas
BahamaBlue/Groot | 2010 JKU Sport S
bahamasjk is offline   Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 07:00 PM
Thread Starter
  #21
Jeeper
 
bahamasjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bahamas
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Pursell View Post
For appx. $40.00 bucks or so, I have it changed again and re-set. Then see when it comes on next time or you surpass 3,000 miles. For my piece of mind, I'd change the oil and re-set.


Yeah, heading off island next week, but it’s on the list for as soon as I get back.

(Will be a little more than 40 though... everything at least double here)


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
Archery Instructor | Photographer | Dad
British | Bahamas
BahamaBlue/Groot | 2010 JKU Sport S
bahamasjk is offline   Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 08:42 AM   #22
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by bahamasjk View Post
If only.... I'd have to package it up and ship it to another country for that.

No facility in this country would do more than look at the sample, maybe sniff it (if they were feeling like they *really* wanted to go above and beyond), then charge me $300 for the privilege!
Ouch!
demarpaint is offline   Quote
Old 08-25-2017, 12:47 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wandell View Post
I would bet whoever changed the oil forgot to reset the system. Turn the ignition switch on but don't start the engine, then press the gas pedal to the floor and release it three times within ten seconds. Now turn the ignition switch off. This will reset the system.
Thanks! Just searched the threads and found my solution.

RustyRide is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.