Firewall plug? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-03-2014, 04:50 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
1stjeep09jk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 89
Firewall plug?

About to install a 20 inch light bar on my front bumper, what is the easiest way to run the wiring? Is there a removable plug in the firewall like some vehicles?

1stjeep09jk is offline   Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 05:06 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Southern California
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stjeep09jk View Post
About to install a 20 inch light bar on my front bumper, what is the easiest way to run the wiring? Is there a removable plug in the firewall like some vehicles?

Yes, it is on the drivers side under the hood. It is a black plug. It is located on the far left side towards the top. You will see other wires running into it. Just pop the plug off and remove it. Be carful, do not ruin the plug, you will need to re-insert it after poking a hole in it to run the wires through. You want to make sure the plug gets re-installed or you will get water through the hole.

The easiest way I found to run the wires is to run them from the engine compartment into the cab through the hole.

Open the Hood, prop it open.

Find the Plug

Remove carefully

Remove the Jeeps interior side panel located next to the dash. You will see it with the door open.

Use a Panel Puller wedge tool to remove the panel (NOTE: Use caution, be carful not to damage our gouge the panel) The tool is available for a few bucks at any Auto store. DO NOT USE ANYTHING METAL OR A SCREW DRIVER, YOU CAN DAMAGE THE PANEL>>>>

Remove the panel an do not lose any of the plastic clips (White) or the panel will not remount correctly

Using a coat hanger or a good wire fish tape, feed your wires through the hole from the engine compartment to the inside of the cab. with the side panel pulled, you will see the wire coming through towards the underside of the dash. Grab the fish wire you used and pull it through gently until you get your wires. Pull the wires through to the length you need.

Wire up and mount your switch your off!

PS Make sure to use the correct gauge wire and the proper relay and fuses that match your switch. Check the Amps on the lights you are connecting and make sure the relay and switch can handle the amps..

Ronniejr37 is offline   Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 05:09 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
1stjeep09jk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronniejr37 View Post
Yes, it is on the drivers side under the hood. It is a black plug. It is located on the far left side towards the top. You will see other wires running into it. Just pop the plug off and remove it. Be carful, do not ruin the plug, you will need to re-insert it after poking a hole in it to run the wires through. You want to make sure the plug gets re-installed or you will get water through the hole. The easiest way I found to run the wires is to run them from the engine compartment into the cab through the hole. Open the Hood, prop it open. Find the Plug Remove carefully Remove the Jeeps interior side panel located next to the dash. You will see it with the door open. Use a Panel Puller wedge tool to remove the panel (NOTE: Use caution, be carful not to damage our gouge the panel) The tool is available for a few bucks at any Auto store. DO NOT USE ANYTHING METAL OR A SCREW DRIVER, YOU CAN DAMAGE THE PANEL>>>> Remove the panel an do not lose any of the plastic clips (White) or the panel will not remount correctly Using a coat hanger or a good wire fish tape, feed your wires through the hole from the engine compartment to the inside of the cab. with the side panel pulled, you will see the wire coming through towards the underside of the dash. Grab the fish wire you used and pull it through gently until you get your wires. Pull the wires through to the length you need. Wire up and mount your switch your off! PS Make sure to use the correct gauge wire and the proper relay and fuses that match your switch. Check the Amps on the lights you are connecting and make sure the relay and switch can handle the amps..
buddy I appreciate the hell out of you. That helps out a ton!
1stjeep09jk is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-03-2014, 05:09 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Southern California
Posts: 125
Just to give you and idea, here are some custom switches and PODS I had made for my lights
Ronniejr37 is offline   Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 12:42 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 176
There is also a gromet on the passenger side that comes out under the battery. It is a total pain in the ass to get to and through. I decided that's where my amp wiring was going to come through and it was a huge mistake. Find a different route lol.
loudvegas is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.