iOS and Android Programmer-Even disables Sway bar light - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree105Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-16-2019, 08:44 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
deeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 1,040
iOS and Android Programmer-Even disables Sway bar light

Just watched a video by JK Gear and Gadgets where he used a BLE OBD2 dongle and an app called JScan that works like a programmer. Looks like it even can disable the swaybar light. $15 for one VIN and $30 for a BLE adapter. Not bad. Here is a link to his video.


DAVE

__________________
2019 Forester Sport. Missing my Jeep.
deeve is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 08:53 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
eloucha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Columbus buckeye
Posts: 140
I guess this app will kill all programmer in market. sweet on ur phone u donít need to carry programmer with u only donít loose ur phone lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
deeve likes this.

eloucha is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 08:59 AM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
deeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 1,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by eloucha View Post
I guess this app will kill all programmer in market. sweet on ur phone u donít need to carry programmer with u only donít loose ur phone lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I was kinda thinking the same thing. Nice work on the developer to do all that.
eloucha likes this.
__________________
2019 Forester Sport. Missing my Jeep.
deeve is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-16-2019, 10:36 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Bob Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 3,802
Has anybody tried this on an android head unit yet?
deeve likes this.
Bob Sanders is online now   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 10:47 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Breckenridge,CO
Posts: 220
I have a programer for my Audi that is similar. Super cheap and runs over android.
M0J0 is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 10:50 AM
Thread Starter
  #6
Jeeper
 
deeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 1,040
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Sanders View Post
Has anybody tried this on an android head unit yet?
THAT would be a nice app to have on one wouldn't it?
__________________
2019 Forester Sport. Missing my Jeep.
deeve is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 01:43 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Bob Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 3,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeve View Post
THAT would be a nice app to have on one wouldn't it?

Indeed. It looks interesting. I just ordered the icar bluetooth adapter. When it comes, i'm going to try it on the dasaita and see how it flies.
Bob Sanders is online now   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 02:40 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Big-Foot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Gold Canyon, AZ/Kenyon, MN
Posts: 358
Has anyone tried it on a 2015 or later since they have locked ECUs?
__________________
Regards - Randy

2015 JKU Rubicon
2002 TJ Wrangler X
1998 S10 V8 Shop Truck
== Randyís Rod Shop & Fabrication ==
Big-Foot is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 02:49 PM   #9
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 20,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big-Foot View Post
Has anyone tried it on a 2015 or later since they have locked ECUs?
I am guessing it is like a procal ie only changes parameters that are superficial. It appears to have the same capabilities so I doubt it is any different.
Big-Foot likes this.
__________________
2018 Gobi Recon unlimited W/Mopar 2" lift coils combined with RK rear coils wedges, TF lower control arms, rear TF monster track bar and rear track bar bracket and Falcon 3.1 shocks, Cooper ST Maxx 315/75-17 on AEV Salta rims, Grabars, RE gas skid tank, mopar head liner, Warn VR10 and Maximus3 winch plate.
https://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/y...i-2192385.html
jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 02:58 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Cummins_Powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big-Foot View Post
Has anyone tried it on a 2015 or later since they have locked ECUs?
I thought the locked ECU was only engine tuning. A standard programmer just changing the gear ratio, tire size, etc, should be fine...?
Cummins_Powered is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 03:09 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Big-Foot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Gold Canyon, AZ/Kenyon, MN
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadmt View Post
I am guessing it is like a procal ie only changes parameters that are superficial. It appears to have the same capabilities so I doubt it is any different.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cummins_Powered View Post
I thought the locked ECU was only engine tuning. A standard programmer just changing the gear ratio, tire size, etc, should be fine...?
May well be right. I just donít want to be the guinea pig this time....
Cummins_Powered likes this.
__________________
Regards - Randy

2015 JKU Rubicon
2002 TJ Wrangler X
1998 S10 V8 Shop Truck
== Randyís Rod Shop & Fabrication ==
Big-Foot is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 03:12 PM   #12
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 20,318
I wonder if it can program the 430N to work with a back up camera?
__________________
2018 Gobi Recon unlimited W/Mopar 2" lift coils combined with RK rear coils wedges, TF lower control arms, rear TF monster track bar and rear track bar bracket and Falcon 3.1 shocks, Cooper ST Maxx 315/75-17 on AEV Salta rims, Grabars, RE gas skid tank, mopar head liner, Warn VR10 and Maximus3 winch plate.
https://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/y...i-2192385.html
jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 03:16 PM   #13
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 20,318
ok I downloaded the app and yes it can enable the backup camera and it says it can only set the tpms threshold on 07-15 wranglers. It can disable them on all years.
__________________
2018 Gobi Recon unlimited W/Mopar 2" lift coils combined with RK rear coils wedges, TF lower control arms, rear TF monster track bar and rear track bar bracket and Falcon 3.1 shocks, Cooper ST Maxx 315/75-17 on AEV Salta rims, Grabars, RE gas skid tank, mopar head liner, Warn VR10 and Maximus3 winch plate.
https://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/y...i-2192385.html
jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 03:17 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
terpsmandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Penn Yan, NY
Posts: 1,905
It depends on what PIDS have been written for the app. Torque includes PIDS for a Prius that let you do a lot of things such as turn off the reverse alarm and shut off the seatbelt alarm. I have been wondering why there wasn't a program for that until now. Going to get that app soon.
terpsmandan is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 03:20 PM   #15
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 20,318
be nice to allow putting in destinations for the nav with car in motion.
deeve, HKLover and Mc1123 like this.
__________________
2018 Gobi Recon unlimited W/Mopar 2" lift coils combined with RK rear coils wedges, TF lower control arms, rear TF monster track bar and rear track bar bracket and Falcon 3.1 shocks, Cooper ST Maxx 315/75-17 on AEV Salta rims, Grabars, RE gas skid tank, mopar head liner, Warn VR10 and Maximus3 winch plate.
https://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/y...i-2192385.html
jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 03:34 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
GitMoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big-Foot View Post
May well be right. I just donít want to be the guinea pig this time....
I'll be the guinea pig. Ordered the OBDII adapter. I have a 15 JKUR. Also have a brand new in the box ProCal that will be for sale if this app works. I just got my lift and 37s put on last week. Need to change a bunch of settings.
Big-Foot and deeve like this.
GitMoe is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 03:55 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Bob Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 3,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by GitMoe View Post
I'll be the guinea pig. Ordered the OBDII adapter. I have a 15 JKUR. Also have a brand new in the box ProCal that will be for sale if this app works. I just got my lift and 37s put on last week. Need to change a bunch of settings.

I've ordered as well. I have an android head unit and if it works on the head unit then it will be great just for the high idle during winching alone!
Bob Sanders is online now   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 04:01 PM   #18
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 20,318
what dongle did you guys order? I see some on amazon that are dirt cheap not sure if they are all the same.
__________________
2018 Gobi Recon unlimited W/Mopar 2" lift coils combined with RK rear coils wedges, TF lower control arms, rear TF monster track bar and rear track bar bracket and Falcon 3.1 shocks, Cooper ST Maxx 315/75-17 on AEV Salta rims, Grabars, RE gas skid tank, mopar head liner, Warn VR10 and Maximus3 winch plate.
https://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/y...i-2192385.html
jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 05:03 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
GitMoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadmt View Post
what dongle did you guys order? I see some on amazon that are dirt cheap not sure if they are all the same.
The video made it look you have to choose from one of 3 specific OBDII units. 2 of them are Bluetooth which works is Apple devices and one was WiFi which works with Android devices IIRC. Download the app and it should tell you which one to get.
GitMoe is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 05:24 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
uplandgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: WI
Posts: 238
I downloaded the app and found the dongle he liked and ordered it. Watched the video and saw the app work but still worried about bricking the TIPM like some of the others as I have an electrical gremlin situation I have been dealing with FCA for the last 18 months.


So I'm being a chickenshit till others have showed it works well without problems. I just can't give FCA a reason to say it's not their problem.
__________________
ALCOHOL!!! Becuase no good story ever started with eating a salad!
uplandgunner is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 05:40 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Bob Sanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 3,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadmt View Post
what dongle did you guys order? I see some on amazon that are dirt cheap not sure if they are all the same.

The icar vgate pro. 30 bucks on amazon. I have a cheap one. It doesn't work that well.
jadmt likes this.
Bob Sanders is online now   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 07:45 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
SmokyJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 29
Nice find. Thanks
deeve likes this.
SmokyJK is online now   Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 07:48 PM
Thread Starter
  #23
Jeeper
 
deeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 1,040
I've got the icar vgate pro coming as well. Looking forward to seeing how this turns out.
__________________
2019 Forester Sport. Missing my Jeep.
deeve is offline   Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 01:30 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
terpsmandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Penn Yan, NY
Posts: 1,905
Any ELM327 will work. Anyone know if this will work in IOS with BT? It looks like the AEV Procal has just been rendered obsolete. I got the app and it seems to do everything you can do with the ProCal or a Flashcal.
HardRock24 likes this.
terpsmandan is offline   Quote
Old 02-17-2019, 01:38 PM
Thread Starter
  #25
Jeeper
 
deeve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 1,040
You need an adapter that uses bluetooth 4.0/BLE or wifi to work with IOS. From what I have read the BLE ones are probably better. Most ELM327's out will not work on IOS.
__________________
2019 Forester Sport. Missing my Jeep.
deeve is offline   Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 02:19 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 59
Alright so I was very curious about this, as everyone else seems to be, so I snagged a Vgate ICar Pro and figured I would give it a shot. Here’s what I found so far from my 2015 JKUR...

The functions that I tested were as follows: DRL’s, Engine Idle RPM, flash lamps on lock, one press lock/unlock, sound horn on lock, sway bar on/off, tire size, and TPMS Threshold.

DRL’s: couldn’t get it to work, not matter which I selected or how many times I cycled the key, put it in gear, no joy.

Edit: turns out the DRL feature works perfectly fine just ensure that you do not have your parking brake set like I did. The Jeep must be both in gear with the parking brake off.

Engine Idle RPM’s: no joy here either, ABS light flashes repeatedly and there’s no change, cycled on/off no difference.

Flash on lock: it works! Cool I guess?

One press lock/unlock: this also works!

Sound horn on lock: you guessed it, it works!

Sway bar on/off: this also appears to work, cool

Tire size: here’s a fun one...I changed the tire size to 35” and it accepted the change and then immediately the sway bar light came on...doesn’t inspire a ton of confidence...cycled power and the swaybar light went out and didn’t return, changing the tire size again cause the swaybar light to illuminate, cycle power and it goes out etc...

TPMS Threshold: no joy here. It throws a fail code and will not update. The app states it’s for an ‘07-‘15 but it definitely does not work on mine. This one is kind of a deal breaker for me personally as I do like that little dummy light.

All in all I think it’s a great start, the app is easy to use, easy to connect, easy to understand, and definitely cheaper than almost every other option. Would I recommend it to anyone I know? Absolutely not. My total investment into this is $45 so not a huge waste but until this inspires more confidence in me I’ll be sticking with the Procal, call me old fashioned but dip switches and honking horns gives me the warm and fuzzy that the change took, flashing ABS lights and weird sway bar notifications does not inspire confidence in me. Your results may vary.
n3tfury, drrags, 2qik2see and 3 others like this.
88sporty is offline   Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 03:32 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 74
I had a similar experience, except that I did get the DRLs to work. The others you listed as not working I also failed to get to work with the same error message on the TPMS and same flashing ABS on the Engine Idle. I have a 2014 JKUR.
88sporty likes this.
DiamondMox is offline   Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 03:52 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiamondMox View Post
I had a similar experience, except that I did get the DRLs to work. The others you listed as not working I also failed to get to work with the same error message on the TPMS and same flashing ABS on the Engine Idle. I have a 2014 JKUR.
As it turns out I was an idiot about the DRLís. I was unaware, as I never use that feature, if the Jeepís parking brake is set they wonít illuminate, I went and re-tested them with my parking brake off and they work fine. Iíll edit my OP.
88sporty is offline   Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 04:19 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 218
Man, I was really hoping this app would work with the different tires sizes and lowering the TPMS setting. I don't have a sway bar disconnect, so that wouldn't be of any use to me at this time. Looks like I will be getting a Flashcal soon.
IGotLost is offline   Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 04:43 PM   #30
Jeeper
 
Cummins_Powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadmt View Post
be nice to allow putting in destinations for the nav with car in motion.
Pretty sure that needs a "lockpick" which plugs into the back of the headunit. I would guess it is not something that can be modified by the ECM or any of your standard "tuners".

EDIT: i also just saw your follow up post. Interesting that this says it can do the backup camera too, as i thought that was also a "lockpick" item or a dealer only flash.

Cummins_Powered is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.