Issues with 430 RBZ - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-17-2015, 10:28 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8
Issues with 430 RBZ

I removed a working 430 RBZ from my wife’s 2013 Compass and installed it in my 2013 Wrangler. It does not power on in the Wrangler…any suggestions?

dricouard is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 11:34 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 2,468
That radio won't work in a Wrangler. The Wrangler uses a high speed bus, wile the Compass is low speed.

jkudave is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:05 PM   #3
Commercial Member
 
dvn4life1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Caldwell, TX
Posts: 2,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkudave View Post
That radio won't work in a Wrangler. The Wrangler uses a high speed bus, wile the Compass is low speed.
I disagree. Mine (Wrangler) was optioned with the 430 RBZ. I believe you have to have it flashed.
dvn4life1972 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2015, 12:11 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 2,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvn4life1972 View Post
I disagree. Mine (Wrangler) was optioned with the 430 RBZ. I believe you have to have it flashed.
Wrong. There are 2 types of canbus systems in Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge vehicles - high speed and low speed. Thus, there are high speed and low speed 430 radios. A high speed radio won't work in a low speed vehicle and vice versa.

The OP's radio came out of a low speed Compass and will not work in a high speed Wrangler.
jkudave is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:16 PM
Thread Starter
  #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8
Unhappy

To jkudave: So how do I know which radios are for a high speed bus?

To dvn4life1972: How do I get it flashed?

They are making installation of radios difficult for the tech challenged people like me. lol
dricouard is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:23 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 2,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by dricouard View Post
To jkudave: So how do I know which radios are for a high speed bus?

To dvn4life1972: How do I get it flashed?

They are making installation of radios difficult for the tech challenged people like me. lol
Which radios are high speed depends on whether the vehicle is high speed. As I mentioned, the various OEM radios are made in both speeds for the various vehicles they are installed in. Your wife's Compass has a low speed can bus, while your Wrangler is high speed. When searching for an OEM radio to purchase, the bus speed should be disclosed.

You cannot flash a radio to switch it from high to low speed or vice versa.

Check out this video for more info of what OEM radio options you have for your Wrangler.
jkudave is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:23 PM   #7
Commercial Member
 
dvn4life1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Caldwell, TX
Posts: 2,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by dricouard View Post
To jkudave: So how do I know which radios are for a high speed bus?

To dvn4life1972: How do I get it flashed?

They are making installation of radios difficult for the tech challenged people like me. lol
There are plenty of threads here about getting a 430RBZ from a different year/model of Chrysler vehicle and what you have to do to get it to work.

@jkudave , I still disagree with you that you need a certain one, because of what I've read on the 430RBZ threads here, although I'll openly admit I'm very far from being some sort of expert or even being very knowledgeable on it.
dvn4life1972 is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:30 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 2,468
@dvn4life1972 , that's fine. We can agree to disagree.

If you have a moment, do a quick Internet/Google search on high speed vs. low speed can bus.

Also, you can check here and here to see the different high and low speed radios for various Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge vehicles.
jkudave is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:33 PM   #9
Commercial Member
 
dvn4life1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Caldwell, TX
Posts: 2,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkudave View Post
@dvn4life1972 , that's fine. We can agree to disagree.

If you have a moment, do a quick Internet/Google search on high speed vs. low speed can bus.

Also, you can check here and here to see the different high and low speed radios for various Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge vehicles.
I do recall reading in the main thread I'm thinking about on that...about some of the older RBZ's not being compatible. There's a wealth of knowledge here on that particular subject for the OP...

https://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/i-...ck-209198.html
dvn4life1972 is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:43 PM
Thread Starter
  #10
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkudave View Post
Which radios are high speed depends on whether the vehicle is high speed. As I mentioned, the various OEM radios are made in both speeds for the various vehicles they are installed in. Your wife's Compass has a low speed can bus, while your Wrangler is high speed. When searching for an OEM radio to purchase, the bus speed should be disclosed.

You cannot flash a radio to switch it from high to low speed or vice versa.

Check out this video for more info of what OEM radio options you have for your Wrangler.
I went to this link and the guy was demonstrating different stereos in a wrangler and the 430 rbz was one of them. He also mentioned about the stereos being pre-programed to the car. Any thoughts there?
dricouard is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:47 PM   #11
Commercial Member
 
dvn4life1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Caldwell, TX
Posts: 2,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by dricouard View Post
I went to this link and the guy was demonstrating different stereos in a wrangler and the 430 rbz was one of them. He also mentioned about the stereos being pre-programed to the car. Any thoughts there?
Look on the linked thread. It's a long thread, but ALL of your concerns are covered there.

https://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/i-...ck-209198.html

IIRC, when swapping in a 430 from another vehicle, you have to have it flashed (or the Jeep flashed) so it will work in your Jeep.

As far as the bus speed...I recall that also being covered in that thread. Where I disagree with jkudave is that I thought it had to do with the donor year and the year model of Jeep it's going into, but you should definitely double-check me on that.
dvn4life1972 is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:53 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 2,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by dricouard View Post
I went to this link and the guy was demonstrating different stereos in a wrangler and the 430 rbz was one of them. He also mentioned about the stereos being pre-programed to the car. Any thoughts there?
Again, just because the radio you have is a 430 RBZ doesn't mean it will work. Yes, there are 430 RBZs in Wranglers, but they are HIGH SPEED. Check my other post with the 2 links to the various radios. You'll see many appear to be the same, but the speed is clearly indicated.

The Wrangler has a HIGH SPEED can bus system. The Compass has a LOW SPEED can bus system. They are not interchangeable and neither are the radios. You have proof by the result you got when connecting the Compass radio in you Wrangler. IT DOESN'T WORK!!

oemautopartsco.com reconditions many of the radios they sell. They bench program the radio to the type of vehicle it's sold for. This does not change the can bus speed of the radio.

We can agree to disagree all day. I've been dealing/working with these UConnect radios for years.
jkudave is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:57 PM   #13
Commercial Member
 
dvn4life1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Caldwell, TX
Posts: 2,220
@jkudave I don't see where anyone has said flashing these changes the bus speed.
dvn4life1972 is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 01:02 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 2,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvn4life1972 View Post
@jkudave I don't see where anyone has said flashing these changes the bus speed.
Correct. I was simply trying to point out that there is nothing to flash to get the OP's radio to work.

I'm not trying to be difficult about this. I'm trying to save the OP the headache/hassle of trying to get something to work that simply won't.

If you or the OP dig/search enough, you will find that others here and on other Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge forums have had the same issues putting a low speed radio into high speed vehicle.
jkudave is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 01:07 PM   #15
Commercial Member
 
dvn4life1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Caldwell, TX
Posts: 2,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkudave View Post
Correct. I was simply trying to point out that there is nothing to flash to get the OP's radio to work.

I'm not trying to be difficult about this. I'm trying to save the OP the headache/hassle of trying to get something to work that simply won't.

If you or the OP dig/search enough, you will find that others here and on other Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge forums have had the same issues putting a low speed radio into high speed vehicle.
I actually DO agree with the bold portion ^^. Been encouraging OP to read the thread...ALL of that and more has been encountered in that thread. It's massive.

As far as the flash...I believe it is necessary if you just, say for example, purchase a used unit and it basically goes straight from the donor vehicle to yours.
dvn4life1972 is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 01:12 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 2,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvn4life1972 View Post
I actually DO agree with the bold portion ^^. Been encouraging OP to read the thread...ALL of that and more has been encountered in that thread. It's massive.

As far as the flash...I believe it is necessary if you just, say for example, purchase a used unit and it basically goes straight from the donor vehicle to yours.
No flash needed for a straight swap. I put a 430N into my '15 JKU, which came with a 130S. It was simply plug and play. It took longer to get the dash panel off.

If you add a backup camera to an OEM radio, without using a lockpick or NavTV, then you need a dealer flash to get the camera to work.
jkudave is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 05:59 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Rammer500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Avonmore,PA
Posts: 565
The only time you need to have the JEEP flashed to add the sales code(s) is when you are adding a backup cam or the Uconnect bluetooth module. The radio doesn't get flashed, the Jeep does so it can power up the module and switch the screen on the radio. Other than that is plug and play with a high speed unit.
__________________
2014 Rubicon, Mopar 2" lift w/Fox shox, RE Geo brackets, Teraflex monster front track bar, 315-70-17 BFG KO2's on 17x8.5 Level 8 Punch wheels. RBZ and PRS+, Bestop High Rock rack, High Access front bumper, CORE doors and a Trektop pro, Smittybilt Gen2 comp winch, Cobra 75WX.

2019 Rubicon 2 door
Rammer500 is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 10:30 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,136
A link to the older models. Low speed and high speed buses noted.

Jeep Grand Cherokee WK - MyGIG Multimedia Infotainment System - parts
nwbronco is offline   Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 11:09 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Unstuck 16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 4,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkudave View Post
No flash needed for a straight swap. I put a 430N into my '15 JKU, which came with a 130S. It was simply plug and play. It took longer to get the dash panel off.

If you add a backup camera to an OEM radio, without using a lockpick or NavTV, then you need a dealer flash to get the camera to work.
Or another option is an AEV rear view camera, that system comes with a flasher. That's what I have.
__________________
2016 JKU HR★AEV 3.5" DS RS★Rock Krawler Arms★Fuel Octane★Nitto Trail Grappler 35"★Adams 1310 D-Shafts★FOX ATS★TeraFlex TB★ARB Dif Covers★Gibson Exhaust★TeraFlex Hinge★TNT Sliders★JWS J-Series★JKS★Yeti DL&TR★MyGIGAir★Lukas★Viper5706★Maximus3★sPod★Rigid ★Springtail★Kicker★Genesis★Optima★Superchips TD2★Wilwood★ ★★★My Build★★★
Unstuck 16 is offline   Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 08:14 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Toledo
Posts: 386


jkudave is right though, which with my quick glance that has been decided already. A quick ebay search for both 430 RBZ low speed and 430 RBZ high speed will come back with the same radio but vehicle compatibility is different.
pjerzy is offline   Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 09:48 AM   #21
Commercial Member
 
dvn4life1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Caldwell, TX
Posts: 2,220
Quote:
The only thing about an older radio that would be a concern is that the SW version can only go so far. So say you have a 2010 radio, in most cases it wouldn't be able to have the SW updated to the current SW version. Also certain current features may not work correctly.
This is what had me confused. I remember now that you've mentioned it. It's been a while since I read up on it all.

@jkudave ... got my wires crossed, and he just showed where they got crossed lol.

I have all along encouraged the OP to read it all for himself, as I KNOW I cross my wires sometimes lol.
dvn4life1972 is offline   Quote
Old 11-18-2015, 04:45 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 2,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvn4life1972 View Post
This is what had me confused. I remember now that you've mentioned it. It's been a while since I read up on it all.

@jkudave ... got my wires crossed, and he just showed where they got crossed lol.

I have all along encouraged the OP to read it all for himself, as I KNOW I cross my wires sometimes lol.
No worries!!
jkudave is offline   Quote
Old 11-19-2015, 08:05 AM
Thread Starter
  #23
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8
Thanks to all for the low vrs high speed bus lesson!

Does anyone have a high speed bus 430 rbz with code to swap for a low speed bus 430 rbz with code?

dricouard is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.