Locker bypass for 2015 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-05-2015, 08:43 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
JimmyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 710
Locker bypass for 2015

I know this has been discussed hundreds of times, but I'm looking for an easy way to allow my lockers to engage in 4-Hi. I recall that, several years ago, Superchips offered a unit that included this feature. That would be the easiest approach, but I don't think it's available. If anyone's tried the re-wiring suggestions on a 2015, can you post back with the link? Thanks.

JimmyW is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 06:05 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 66
No one has info on this?

Fla Tom is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 06:06 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
jeepers29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Georgetown, Texas
Posts: 6,003
I remember seeing a discussion on here but don't remember the outcome. what words have you searched?
__________________
98 TJ 4i in currie with Currie bars front and rear
2014 JKUR AMP"D,Ace slider,BFG AT/KO's 33's
Ace Tire carrier/ rear bumper,LOD Mid width front bumper

I love my country. That's why I despise the government.
jeepers29 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-06-2015, 06:09 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
jeepers29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Georgetown, Texas
Posts: 6,003
I don't know how to link but if you search"might be opening a can of worms here" on the forum, you will find your answer.
__________________
98 TJ 4i in currie with Currie bars front and rear
2014 JKUR AMP"D,Ace slider,BFG AT/KO's 33's
Ace Tire carrier/ rear bumper,LOD Mid width front bumper

I love my country. That's why I despise the government.
jeepers29 is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 07:45 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 66
Thanks for the search help . Now trail dash is made by who?
Fla Tom is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 07:46 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
SoK66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 825
By tapping into the locker relay grounds you can rig up switches & relays to activate the lockers in any combination and in any t-case range. It's adviseable to also rig in an activation switch for your supplemental locker switches so you can't inadvertently engage a locker at speed. Doing this bypasses the "Locker Nanny" speed & range logic, except when you engage a locker using the bypass the dash light(s) starts flashing. They'll flash utill you turn the switch off. If you don't use your bypass system you can stil switch the lockers using the normal Rubi switch on the dash.

I want to switch them using my sPOD. It can be done but sPOD won't tell you how. Liability worries.
__________________
Jeeps: Where my 401(k) went to die!
SoK66 is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 08:38 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
ASE_MasterTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 692
Setting up locker engagement via locker relays is really not difficult at all (particularly with an SPOD).

Why would you want to be 'locked' in 4hi though?
__________________
2014 JKURX-Black
ASE_MasterTech is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 09:08 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 430
In on this. Did it on our 2013 and wondering if it is the same on our 2015. Just ground the factory relays?
adr1601 is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:51 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
marslim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASE_MasterTech View Post
Setting up locker engagement via locker relays is really not difficult at all (particularly with an SPOD).

Why would you want to be 'locked' in 4hi though?
Based from precious discussions seems some people think they need their lockers to get to work in the snow haha.
I have mine wired direct to my SPOD and they work great, biggest advantage is they lock and unlock instantly, the odd time a touch of movement is required to take the pressure off but that is it. Much better setup for me than the factory crap.
__________________
2012 jk 6sp, 35" Hankook MT's, 2.5" Rock Krawler max travel, Rancho 9000's, bushwacker flatties, F&R Rubi Dana 44's w RCV's, chromoly shafts, 5.13 gears, AEV snorkel, Spod, Ace sliders & rear bumper, skid plates, Fab fours diff covers, RR front bumper, Q9000s winch ***SOLD

1997 TJ LQ4/4l80, F&R 14 bolt on WOD tube chassis 112" WB, build in progress
marslim is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 11:20 AM
Thread Starter
  #10
Jeeper
 
JimmyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 710
Thanks.
>I have mine wired direct to my SPOD ...

Forgive me, but what's the "SPOD"? Do you have a diagram?

>Why would you want to be 'locked' in 4hi though?

Depending on snow conditions, 4Lo does not allow enough speed to maintain momentum. I'm not talking about "street speed," but 4Lo just is too slow sometimes.
JimmyW is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 01:05 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
jasunto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 121
My superchips flashcal has this option in it. I haven't tried I though.
jasunto is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 04:21 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
flash1034's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Juan Capistrano
Posts: 622
Lockers in deep sand and 4 Hi is very handy. 4lo doesn't allow enough speed for deep sand.

Flash
flash1034 is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 05:02 PM
Thread Starter
  #13
Jeeper
 
JimmyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 710
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasunto View Post
My superchips flashcal has this option in it. I haven't tried I though.
Their Superchips site states that this option goes only as far as 2010 models for the Flashcal. The Flashpaq 3872 includes 2014 and seems to include the axle-lock-in-4Hi feature, but is about $350.
JimmyW is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 05:50 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 66
Where are the factory rellays located?I know there are 2 relays onder the hood pasenger side and 2 drivers sideare either of those the ones?
Fla Tom is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 09:04 PM
Thread Starter
  #15
Jeeper
 
JimmyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 710
Supposedly, you can ground one wire at the transfer case to enable locking in 4-Hi and 4-Lo. Anyone have a picture or info?
JimmyW is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 09:39 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
jeepmoabhells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyW View Post

Their Superchips site states that this option goes only as far as 2010 models for the Flashcal. The Flashpaq 3872 includes 2014 and seems to include the axle-lock-in-4Hi feature, but is about $350.
Bully dogs GT tuner had it and it works great
jeepmoabhells is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 09:53 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 464
Locker Switches - Off Road Engineering LLC

off road engineering sells a kit - this is what I bought. Haven't installed it yet but looks well designed and well made.
__________________
"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads"
- Doc Brown, Back to the Future
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 10:05 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 66
I looked at the link and did not see a price. What does the switch kit cost? Also answers my question on where the relays are thanks
Fla Tom is offline   Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 06:07 PM
Thread Starter
  #19
Jeeper
 
JimmyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 710
>Bully dogs GT tuner had it and it works great

Their site says that it will handle the lockers on 2015s. It's kind of pricey, unless you're going to use its other features. Perhaps using a tuner is better than replacing switches or messing with the relay from a warranty viewpoint. What do you think?
JimmyW is offline   Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 07:20 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
jeepmoabhells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyW View Post
>Bully dogs GT tuner had it and it works great

Their site says that it will handle the lockers on 2015s. It's kind of pricey, unless you're going to use its other features. Perhaps using a tuner is better than replacing switches or messing with the relay from a warranty viewpoint. What do you think?
That's why I chose it. Running on the regular tune I gained a few mpg but ease of use for options and install and return to stock are really quick. It is on the pricey side but for everything that is included it's well worth the price. Plus it is a USA made product designed by some good ol idaho boys.
jeepmoabhells is offline   Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 07:55 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
JEEPDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Over the hill
Posts: 1,828
Just a little FYI here. I have mine wired so they can be engaged at any time. (rubicon take off axles in a Sahara ) If you are needing that much wheel speed, you will probably run out of power before you run out of traction, even when not locked. And once you start getting down in gears, you just as well be in 4L! Just my experience. The only times I have ever been stuck in snow was when I was highcentered anyway, even with open diffs. And then it is winch, tow, or shovel! No traction aids will help you then!
P.S. I have yet to ever use the lockers in anything other than 4L.
__________________
Internet diagnostics..........unless you know exactly what to describe, and how to describe it, no one knows what exactly what to tell you. And if you DO know exactly what to describe and how to describe it.........you likely donít need the internet answer!!!!!!! LOL
Happy Truckin'
Desert Don, in the Grand Canyon State
JEEPDON is offline   Quote
Old 02-08-2015, 09:35 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fla Tom View Post
I looked at the link and did not see a price. What does the switch kit cost? Also answers my question on where the relays are thanks
It was about $90-95 if I remember correctly. You just have to call and they'll process your order and send it out same day. Very nice people, they're Jeepers too.
__________________
"Roads? Where we're going, we don't need roads"
- Doc Brown, Back to the Future
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 08:45 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
jasunto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyW View Post
Their Superchips site states that this option goes only as far as 2010 models for the Flashcal. The Flashpaq 3872 includes 2014 and seems to include the axle-lock-in-4Hi feature, but is about $350.
I'll try it this weekend and see if it works since I need to get a flex pic.
jasunto is offline   Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 09:25 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
marslim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,808
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEEPDON View Post
Just a little FYI here. I have mine wired so they can be engaged at any time. (rubicon take off axles in a Sahara ) If you are needing that much wheel speed, you will probably run out of power before you run out of traction, even when not locked. And once you start getting down in gears, you just as well be in 4L! Just my experience. The only times I have ever been stuck in snow was when I was highcentered anyway, even with open diffs. And then it is winch, tow, or shovel! No traction aids will help you then!
P.S. I have yet to ever use the lockers in anything other than 4L.
I also have rubi axles on my sport, wired off my spod. I have not once ever locked my diffs in anything but 4 lo either, as you say 4hi will generally power out in most situations requiring that much speed and traction so I'm always in 4lo for those situations where the factory lockers would engage anyways.
The one thing I do really enjoy is how much quicker the lockers engage/disengage when you push the button, they actually react right away whereas the factory system can sometimes take a fair bit of driving the make the switch.
__________________
2012 jk 6sp, 35" Hankook MT's, 2.5" Rock Krawler max travel, Rancho 9000's, bushwacker flatties, F&R Rubi Dana 44's w RCV's, chromoly shafts, 5.13 gears, AEV snorkel, Spod, Ace sliders & rear bumper, skid plates, Fab fours diff covers, RR front bumper, Q9000s winch ***SOLD

1997 TJ LQ4/4l80, F&R 14 bolt on WOD tube chassis 112" WB, build in progress
marslim is offline   Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 10:51 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
JEEPDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Over the hill
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by marslim View Post
I also have rubi axles on my sport, wired off my spod. I have not once ever locked my diffs in anything but 4 lo either, as you say 4hi will generally power out in most situations requiring that much speed and traction so I'm always in 4lo for those situations where the factory lockers would engage anyways.
The one thing I do really enjoy is how much quicker the lockers engage/disengage when you push the button, they actually react right away whereas the factory system can sometimes take a fair bit of driving the make the switch.
Yeah, I have never driven a Rubi so I dont know how fast or slow the factory system is! But I know mine is instantaneous...push button..locked, right now! And which ever axle I want locked. Also, I rarely just lock up and leave them locked, I will just lock them when needed, and as soon as I dont need them any more, unlock. I removed the sensor plunger for the indicator light on the dash, because from what I have read, that is one of the major causes for malfunction of the locking mechanism. Just built a plug for the hole!
__________________
Internet diagnostics..........unless you know exactly what to describe, and how to describe it, no one knows what exactly what to tell you. And if you DO know exactly what to describe and how to describe it.........you likely donít need the internet answer!!!!!!! LOL
Happy Truckin'
Desert Don, in the Grand Canyon State
JEEPDON is offline   Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 05:36 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
KurtieR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyW View Post
I know this has been discussed hundreds of times, but I'm looking for an easy way to allow my lockers to engage in 4-Hi. I recall that, several years ago, Superchips offered a unit that included this feature. That would be the easiest approach, but I don't think it's available. If anyone's tried the re-wiring suggestions on a 2015, can you post back with the link? Thanks.
Bully Dog GT for Jeeps

You can run lockers in hi, low, 2wd and disconnect sway bar in 2wd
KurtieR is offline   Quote
Old 02-14-2015, 08:18 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Chelan County, Washington
Posts: 430
I kind of enjoy running some of the dirt roads in 2wd, with just the rear locker engaged... Fun!

That's on a Sport though, with aftermarket air lockers controlled via the sPOD.

CW

Cascade Wanderer is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.