New Tires+Wheels and TPMS Sensors help! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-06-2014, 11:18 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
New Tires+Wheels and TPMS Sensors help!

Ok. so I recently replaced my stock rims tires and sensors (225/75r16 goodyear st and 16x7 wheels) with 285/75r16 goodyear duratracs, 16x8 wheels and new TPMS sensors. They were all mounted/balanced and shipped out to me. I put the new tires/wheels+sensors on my jeep but now the PSI on my dashboards TPMS screen isnt reading the right numbers. my tires are inflated to 36 which I checked, but its saying 32 for 2 tires and 33 for the other two on the illuminated screen on my dash. The weird part is, my TPMS warning light isn't lit and its not making sounds either. ANOTHER weird thing is, my cruise control won't work! Is this all related or is something wrong? answers would be appreciated.

Additional Info- On my invoice it says they are 56029398AB 433mhz snap in TPMS Sensors.

AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 01:57 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Ruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 818
Your sensors are probably still showing the old readings, give em a few miles to refresh. As for cruise control, I don't think it's related to the TPMS. Might wanna take it to the dealer for that.

Ruski is offline   Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 04:42 AM   #3
RETIRED MODERATER

WF Lifetime Member
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hot as Hell Arizona, the home of the mighty Dragon. Beware of your surrounding, because of DANGER!
Posts: 34,560
^^^x2
__________________
1974 CJ5, 2003 TJ, 2013 2 door Black Rubicon, auto, with 4.10 ratio.
Shaking at 40-70 MPH, Read this!!!

The Mighty Dragon is not concerned,
with
the needs of the Hunter....
Old Dogger is online now   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2014, 07:11 PM
Thread Starter
  #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
i see. My cruise control now randomly started working again but my sensors are still lacking. Do the bigger tires have something to do with it? I mean i only went from 29.3 to 32.8 so its not a huge difference, but if my cruise control didnt work once, im worried itll happen again. Unless the cruise control cpu learned that the tires were bigger and it reset itself.. Opinions?
AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 07:33 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
ataboyjeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Montreal (Quebec)
Posts: 135
What model year your jeep? 433mhz is for 2013 and up if i remember correctly...
ataboyjeep is offline   Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 07:39 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Ruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 818
Bigger tires shouldn't affect the cruise control nor the TPMS. How many miles did you put with the new tires? Cause it could take up to 30 miles or so for the sensors to reset.
Ruski is offline   Quote
Old 11-07-2014, 11:03 PM   #7
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Posts: 3,456
the new sensors might need to be "matched" to the vehicle. Sometimes it will auto match sometimes not.
__________________
'14 Willys JK Traded-In \
☻☻☻☻☻☻☻☻☻☻☻☻--- '18 Ram 2500HD CTD
'14 JKU SarahaTraded-In /
WillyD is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 12:49 AM
Thread Starter
  #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
Ive driven maybe 20 miles at best with the new tires and yes its a 2013 jeep wrangler at 433 mhz, but that makes no sense. Why would some jeep cpu's learn the new sensors and others wouldnt when theyre all the same type of vehicle system? Not to mention these are the same exact model sensors that were in my old tires
AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 01:17 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Ruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKAtheFonz View Post
Ive driven maybe 20 miles at best with the new tires and yes its a 2013 jeep wrangler at 433 mhz, but that makes no sense. Why would some jeep cpu's learn the new sensors and others wouldnt when theyre all the same type of vehicle system? Not to mention these are the same exact model sensors that were in my old tires
They are all auto learn, 2014s are, im sure '13s are the same. It should've reset by now, but in some cases it takes up to like 30 miles. If you still have your original sensors you could try putting them in.
Ruski is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 01:37 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Ruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 818
If your sensors don't reset very soon you might wanna contact the distributor you bought them from and have em replaced.
Ruski is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 04:31 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
spinlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: 37.9° N, 121.7° W
Posts: 5,701
The sensors might be the wrong frequency. They changed somewhere in the past few years.

A larger tire will affect your cruise control because the tire radius affects the number of rotations per sec which the PCM uses to calculate your speed. Most owners just complain about the speedo.
__________________
"Don't take life too seriously. You'll never get out alive."
B. B.
spinlock is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 07:12 AM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Maryville, TN
Posts: 2
I put 2013 stock Rubicon rims and tires on my 2012 Rubicon. And I had to move my 2012 sensors to the 2013 rims for them to work...so I think the change was from 2012 to 2013 as far as the sensors go. (I know the 2013 would not work with my 2012.)

It took a few miles to reset them...I had the same issue at first.

I agree with the post above...try your original sensors. I'll bet you got some faulty new sensors or the vendor mismatched them.

Oh yeah, I had all my tires mounted at Discount Tire and they swapped the sensors for me. I also have noticed at pressures below 35 causes my light to come on. I usually run at higher pressure...40+ and the tires are rated for that. Perhaps if you increase the pressure in the tires, you solve the problem??? (grasping here...but those lights drive me crazy!!!)

Good luck!
Volash is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 07:47 AM
Thread Starter
  #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
Thank you everyone for all the input! I had mine put in online at discount tire direct, everything was installed by them so hopefully they have a place around here i can get em tested. If the sensors were bad though, wouldnt my tpms warning light come on?
AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 08:09 AM
Thread Starter
  #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
So i contacted discount tire direct and theyre claiming i need to go to the dealer and have then reprogram it into my cpu for the right frequency, which i call bullshit seeing as how its the same 2013 frequency -_-. It also doesnt make sense because if thats the case, why are my old readings still on the dash?! Can anyone suggest a good inexpensive procal so
I can adjust the speedo and tpms sensors myself. Id rather not dish out 100$ just for a one time use, id rather have the device myself. Also, if anyone has experience with em, are these devices easy to use?
AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 08:48 AM   #15
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 21,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKAtheFonz View Post
So i contacted discount tire direct and theyre claiming i need to go to the dealer and have then reprogram it into my cpu for the right frequency, which i call bullshit seeing as how its the same 2013 frequency -_-. It also doesnt make sense because if thats the case, why are my old readings still on the dash?! Can anyone suggest a good inexpensive procal so
I can adjust the speedo and tpms sensors myself. Id rather not dish out 100$ just for a one time use, id rather have the device myself. Also, if anyone has experience with em, are these devices easy to use?
I am not at all impressed with Discount Tire Direct. This is about the 10th similar post I have read on various forums where they say the same thing. On 2013-2015 the sensors do self program. Procals are very easy to use.
jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 09:39 AM
Thread Starter
  #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
Oh wow you seem confident in your answer. If thats the case, whats wrong with my sensors that the warning light isnt going off but the readings arent correct on my dash? And the guy i dealt with at DTD gave me an awesome deal, i couldnt pass it up. Also where would you recommend i get a cheap procal? That seems to be what i need
AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 09:53 AM   #17
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 21,925
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKAtheFonz View Post
Oh wow you seem confident in your answer. If thats the case, whats wrong with my sensors that the warning light isnt going off but the readings arent correct on my dash? And the guy i dealt with at DTD gave me an awesome deal, i couldnt pass it up. Also where would you recommend i get a cheap procal? That seems to be what i need
are you sure your tire gauge is accurate? try either pumping one tire up to 50psi or dropping one down to 28psi and see what happens after driving around a while..
jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 10:35 AM
Thread Starter
  #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
Thats actually a really good idea! Thank you, ill give that a try and see if its just my dash thats inaccurate.
AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 03:04 PM
Thread Starter
  #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
so I tried it but to no avail, now I loaded them up to about 36 psi each and i guess ill keep driving and see what happens, im really starting to run out of ideas and am ready to just buy one of those aev procals
AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 06:36 PM
Thread Starter
  #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
*UPDATE*

On my day off i decided to go drive some highway miles. Well turns out it triggered something but nothing good. Now my dash panel shows the psi of just my front driver side tire, the other 3 have 2 dashes indicating no number and my TPMS warning light comes on, blinks for about 30 seconds then stays solid. Then under "SYSTEM WARNINGS PRESENT" it just says "CHECK TPM SYSTEM". is this just the process of my tpms slowly picking up each sensor or do
I have 3 faulty sensors? Who even knows if the spare would have the same problem
AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 07:01 PM   #21
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,968
I would order a Procal and be done with it. It could be a faulty TPMS or something else that will take forever to figure out. With a 2014 once you disable the system, set to 0 for example with a Procal, you have to do this or you'll still get an error message: Disconnect your battery (negative terminal) for 10 minutes. The error message will be gone.
kik is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 07:17 PM
Thread Starter
  #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
interesting, because I disconnected the Positive terminal, I didnt think to disconnect the negative, I thought the positive controlled the system. Any suggestions as to where I can find a cheap procal?
AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 07:57 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: FL
Posts: 164
I'm having wierd TPMS issues also. I bought all new ones off ebay (433mhz) for the new rims. The jeep is reading tire pressures from all four corners, but at least two of the corners are mixed up and I ended up letting air out of the wrong tire. I've driven over 30 miles. Why would the jeep be reading the wrong corners?

What happens when somebody rotates their tires? How does the TPMS system even work? Is there a localized antenna at each corner?
__________________
'14 Sahara Unlimited
happyfirst is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 09:03 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Ruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKAtheFonz View Post
*UPDATE* On my day off i decided to go drive some highway miles. Well turns out it triggered something but nothing good. Now my dash panel shows the psi of just my front driver side tire, the other 3 have 2 dashes indicating no number and my TPMS warning light comes on, blinks for about 30 seconds then stays solid. Then under "SYSTEM WARNINGS PRESENT" it just says "CHECK TPM SYSTEM". is this just the process of my tpms slowly picking up each sensor or do I have 3 faulty sensors? Who even knows if the spare would have the same problem
I had the same thing with one of my defective sensors, it would show just two dashes and the warning light was on. I went to the dealer and had it replaced under warranty. I didn't tell them that sensor wasn't the original one and they never asked lol
Ruski is offline   Quote
Old 11-08-2014, 10:48 PM
Thread Starter
  #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
thats not a bad idea! lol what should I say to them? I mean my jeep is only a year old, but surely they'll ask if theyre new sensors seeing as how I have new wheels and tires. I need to go for an oil change and inspection soon too so maybe ill tell em when I do that
AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 01:02 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
Ruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 818
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKAtheFonz View Post
thats not a bad idea! lol what should I say to them? I mean my jeep is only a year old, but surely they'll ask if theyre new sensors seeing as how I have new wheels and tires. I need to go for an oil change and inspection soon too so maybe ill tell em when I do that
Don't tell em anything. At the time i had 33s on ProComp 7069 wheels, all i told them was my TPMS is acting up and nothing else.
Ruski is offline   Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 01:07 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
Ruski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 818
...don't tell em you put new sensors in, just be like everything was fine and them sensors stopped showing the readings 2 days ago.
Ruski is offline   Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 05:44 AM   #28
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Maryville, TN
Posts: 2
Does the local Discount Tire associate with Discount Tire Direct??? I assume they do. If so, you have free rotation and balance with the local guys for the life of the tires. Take the vehicle in, have the tires rotated and balanced, and let them know of your issues ever since the installation. They can take a look and make sure there is nothing wrong with the installation.

While they are at it have them make sure you received the correct sensors. It is always possible they grabbed the wrong sensors off the shelf!

I have always found DT to be very good IN PERSON. DTD may not be as reliable.

Pump them all to 50# and take them out on the highway for 30 miles at higher speeds.
Volash is offline   Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 04:07 PM
Thread Starter
  #29
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
Thanks thats what i figured id say, less is more haha, but no i dont have any discount tire shops around me, im from the east side. Hopefully
My dealership wont probe me with questions
AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 11:58 PM
Thread Starter
  #30
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 43
hey ruski, did you ever get your speedo and odometer changed for the bigger tires? if so did you do it or did you take it to the dealer as well? does anything else have to be altered for the bigger tires?

AKAtheFonz is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.