New to me Wrangler. Hard top loom missing?? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-16-2015, 02:49 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Eastern Poland
Posts: 90
New to me Wrangler. Hard top loom missing??

Newish 2012 Wrangler 2.8CRD..... Great vehicle very pleased with it, but to get a nice cheap price I had to accept a few small faults. The most major of which is that there seems to be no loom connector from the vehicle to the Hardtop? A why would this be? Now I went over this vehicle very carefully, it is not an accident rear end rebuild (where the loom might have been left out) though the cleanliness of the Hard top vs soft top, leads me to think, that the Hard top has just been put on for the sale and the Wrangler's original owner bought it as a softee and then bought the Hard top separately. Is it possible to buy a Wrangler as a softee only with no loom for a hardtop? I would like to get the rear wash wipe working, but I need to know if I can buy this sub loom separately and most of all where it plugs in and exits from the plastic interior of the body proper (loads of vids showing how to un clip it, but nothing shows where this sub-loom hangs out when it is not doing anything) Thanks guys.

HMS Dreadnought is offline   Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 03:27 AM
Thread Starter
  #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Eastern Poland
Posts: 90
Ooops thanks guys I just found a thread on this very subject....but being in Eastern Poland, I may just make up a simple loom myself and run it up to the front of the vehicle. Nice to know I could order the loom with the proper plug if I want to. But I still need to know where in the car I should run it to feed it though the plastic and out under the vehicle....to the front?

HMS Dreadnought is offline   Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 08:59 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,136
The original loom runs down underneath the carpet.

Bob K.
nwbronco is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-16-2015, 09:07 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,277
Yes, your Jeep may have started out as a soft top only Wrangler and someone added the hard top later on.
__________________
2010 JK Islander Edition; Teraflex leveling kit; JKU Springs; Barricade HD Front and Rear Bumpers; 4.88's; Smittybuilt 9500 winch; 295/75/16's on Ultra Mongoose wheels
AirForceAngler is offline   Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 09:24 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Steve2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 1,615
Not sure if it is as easy as just adding some DIY wires. Everything run thru the canbus, the dealer has to flash the computer when you install the actual harness.
Steve2012 is offline   Quote
Old 05-16-2015, 01:04 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
terpsmandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Penn Yan, NY
Posts: 2,053
There used to be a kit for 07-10 Wranglers that had a new stalk for the wiper and a defrost switch near the fan control. Not sure if that is available for the newer ones.
terpsmandan is offline   Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 10:47 AM
Thread Starter
  #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Eastern Poland
Posts: 90
Aha Thanks Steve....Canbus...this is my first vehicle with canbus but I do know the ins and outs of canbus.....dealers here seem OK....and being eastern Poland fitting is cheap....I may get the dealer to fit then they can flash the ECU at the same time they fit it.
HMS Dreadnought is offline   Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 08:08 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
OrthoDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 128
__________________
2015 JKUR Anvil -- Auto, 4.10, Hardtop, Connectivity, Alpine
Ordered 4/3/15
Built 4/27/15
Picked up 5/16/15
2012 JK Sport 6-speed SOLD
OrthoDoc is offline   Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 03:21 PM
Thread Starter
  #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Eastern Poland
Posts: 90
Thanks orthodoc..I,ll give it a try.

HMS Dreadnought is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.