Newbie Odometer question - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-20-2015, 11:38 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Newbie Odometer question

Just got my first Jeep a month ago and the odometer showing 1,872 miles. From miles driven I've calculated that it should be closer to 1,400 mi. Has anyone experienced this or am I just having too much fun driving it? It has 16in stock tires.

20Wrangler15 is offline   Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 01:30 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
HuskyOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 59
Any previous owner? If so, maybe that had other tires on and the computer is set for those tires and not what is on it now. Just a thought.

HuskyOwner is offline   Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 01:59 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Potatohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,093
Do you have a GPS? You can check to see if your GPS speed matches the speedometer.

However note that if you have factory nav, apparently the speed in the nav is tied to the speedometer, so you can't check that way. However there is a screen on the nav where you can check GPS mileage, and that should be close to your odometer reading.
Potatohead is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-20-2015, 03:52 PM
Thread Starter
  #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
I am the first owner. Bought it with 7mi on it.
20Wrangler15 is offline   Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 03:57 PM
Thread Starter
  #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
@Potatohead . No nav in the jeep. I did clock it on a road that I know is exactly 1 mile from start to finish and it would read almost 1tenth more. Is it possible that they set it up for larger tires? When I bought it they were just about to lift it and put new tires on. They pulled it out of the service line when I found it and bought it the way it was (stock Sport)
20Wrangler15 is offline   Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 03:59 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Potatohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by 20Wrangler15 View Post
@Potatohead . No nav in the jeep. I did clock it on a road that I know is exactly 1 mile from start to finish and it would read almost 1tenth more. Is it possible that they set it up for larger tires? When I bought it they were just about to lift it and put new tires on. They pulled it out of the service line when I found it and bought it the way it was (stock Sport)
It definitely sounds like it is set up for the larger tires. Not sure whether dealer did it or the factory messed it up, but it sounds like you will need it re-flashed.
Potatohead is offline   Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 12:38 PM
Thread Starter
  #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks Potatohead. I clocked it with GPS on phone and it came out right. Guess I have been having too much fun driving it. New issue now though. Put my buddies old rubicon rims and tires (255/75/17) on my jeep to replace the stock 16's and now the TPS light is on and the display that shows each tires pressure reads blank.
20Wrangler15 is offline   Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 12:42 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Potatohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by 20Wrangler15 View Post
Thanks Potatohead. I clocked it with GPS on phone and it came out right. Guess I have been having too much fun driving it. New issue now though. Put my buddies old rubicon rims and tires (255/75/17) on my jeep to replace the stock 16's and now the TPS light is on and the display that shows each tires pressure reads blank.
If yours is a 2015 you need TPMS sensors from a 2014+. I'm assuming his is 2013 or older? You can either have a tire shop swap yours over out of your old wheels, or you can buy a second set on Ebay for not that much, maybe $150 or something?
Potatohead is offline   Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 12:57 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 33
Tps

There is a way to reset the TPS, just a shot? Google it and follow the instructions. It may be a mismatch with the tire sensors but worth a shot.
chjeep is offline   Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 01:05 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Potatohead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by chjeep View Post
There is a way to reset the TPS, just a shot? Google it and follow the instructions. It may be a mismatch with the tire sensors but worth a shot.
On the 2014+ the sensors are a different frequency, they actually show on the dash what each tires pressure is, whereas previously it was basically a fine/not fine type of system.
Potatohead is offline   Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 01:10 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 33
Whoops.

Thats right, my bad I forgot they changed the system.
chjeep is offline   Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 02:32 PM   #12
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 6,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by Potatohead View Post
On the 2014+ the sensors are a different frequency, they actually show on the dash what each tires pressure is, whereas previously it was basically a fine/not fine type of system.
Our 2013 Sahara has the individual PSI readouts. I think it is model specific, not year specific.
RoadiJeff is offline   Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 02:41 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 558
do you have a speedo calibrator like a pro-cal? you mileage will be way off without that.
__________________
2015 Wrangler Rubicon 3.6L w/Auto, 3.5" Mopar Teraflex, 17" Fuel Revolver with 35X12.50 and Ace Rock Rails.
bigjohnstud4200 is offline   Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 04:21 PM   #14
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,968
The individual TPMS tire pressure (PSI) read out is only if the JK has the "Connectivity Group". If not, it's the old school ding and dash light.
kik is offline   Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 04:41 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
rgreen65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: S. Georgia
Posts: 6,235
20Wrangler15 - your original tires should have been P225/75R16 which is a 29 inch tire (actual 29.3) while the Rubicon wheels should have LT255/75R17 which is a 32 inch tire (actual 32.1). Translation is that to cover a mile, the original tires had to rotate 713 times while the Rubicon tires only have to rotate 649 time or an almost 10% reduction. This means that when your speedometer is reading 70, you are actually going 77 and when your odometer says you have traveled 100 miles you have actually gone 110 miles.

The reflash by the dealership will take care of that. If the TPMS does not read correctly shortly, you should probably change the tire monitors over (all 5). Or you can go total old school and check the tire pressure yourself, but I would probably pay to have them swapped.
__________________
2003 Light Khaki TJ Rubicon, Manual, Soft Top
2015 Anvil JKU Sahara, Auto, Hard Top - Traded
2017 Chief JKU Chief, Auto, Hard Top
rgreen65 is offline   Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 12:34 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fernley, NV
Posts: 1,256
You can get a Sport with the larger wheels/tires. So this one might have been set up for the larger ones.

I wonder if they swapped yours with another Sport on the lot because that person wanted the bigger ones, but they forgot to reprogram your computer.

Godholio is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.