OEM Mopar running board install torque - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-18-2015, 07:37 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
JKLivin86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 285
OEM Mopar running board install torque

Hey guys and gals, this is my first post. I just picked up my '15 Wrangler Sport, and I'm loving it. I ordered the OEM running boards and installed them myself. I was given different torque settings, but I don't own a torque wrench. I went tight and then a little past. Not a crazy amount, but I put a little forearm into it. I heard one bolt make a click noise, but it doesnt seem anything broke at all. It's holding everything good and tight. I know I went past the 9lb and 16lb ratings, but nothing broke. Should I be worried I went too far or what I know already if I had? Thanks.

JKLivin86 is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 07:50 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Txrdstr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,384
No. Tight is fine. Torque settings are way over analyzed I so many unnecessary parts.

Txrdstr is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 07:51 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
JKLivin86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by Txrdstr View Post
No. Tight is fine. Torque settings are way over analyzed I so many unnecessary parts.

There's no damage that can be caused from this?
JKLivin86 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-18-2015, 08:43 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
HuskyOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 59
I just installed a set on my wife's 2015 Wrangler last Saturday. Just tightened everything good and very snug. I would not worry about it.
HuskyOwner is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 09:46 PM   #5
GO STEELERS !

WF Supporting Member
 
Socaljk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,164
Wink

I usually tighten to one grunts worth. Never two. Thats very important to remember, ONE GRUNT ONLY, never two.

PS welcome to the forum, I hope you have a sense of humor.
__________________
2014 Anvil JKUR - I am an expert at nothing Jeep related but I've made enough mistakes to tell you what not to do!
Socaljk is offline   Quote
Old 05-18-2015, 10:19 PM
Thread Starter
  #6
Jeeper
 
JKLivin86's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 285
There are many different degrees of grunt-Dom. We should do research so that we can set a nationwide, maybe even worldwide, measurement of accurate grunt power.

JKLivin86 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.