Question.. Oil change indicator monitor - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-06-2014, 08:06 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
kdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal, Florida,
Posts: 248
Question.. Oil change indicator monitor

Does anyone know the ans to the following question.

It pertains to a 2010 Wrangler sport.

How does the oil change indicator work?

Is it by mileage, time or is there a sophisticated analysis of a bunch of different parameters that are analyzed to set off the indicator ?


2nd question: If i change my oil before the indicator comes on , do i have to reset it anyways or will the indicator know the oil is new and just come on after a normal cycle ?

Thanks in advance ...
Howard

kdude is offline   Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 08:11 AM
Thread Starter
  #2
Jeeper
 
kdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal, Florida,
Posts: 248
sorry guys... i just saw that kik answered my questions in a previous thread yesterday... thx

kdude is offline   Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 08:16 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 22
I don't know the answer to your first question. My understanding is there is a simple algorithm that first looks at mileage, then oil temperatures and driving times.

Yes, any time you change the oil you will need to manually reset the oil change indicator by turning your key to the on position and depressing the gas pedal three times within 10 seconds.
Dukes Defense is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2014, 08:34 AM   #4
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 23,119
The oil change indicator measures duty cycle not oil condition. It clearly states this in the owners manual which can be downloaded from www.jeep.com if you don't have one.

If you don't reset it after an oil change it has know way to know one was performed.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 08:54 AM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper
 
kdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal, Florida,
Posts: 248
Thanks you guys confirmed the info i got from kik.. Have a great w/e ! H.
kdude is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.