Speedo Not Working After Flashcal - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-06-2015, 10:40 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
mpenneys10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 91
Speedo Not Working After Flashcal

Just got the flashcal yesterday to correct the speedo for my bigger tires. I put in the size my tires were and it was working fine, but it was a little bit off when i compared it to my gps. So today I went to adjust the tire size and make it smaller and now the speedo just reads 0mph and does not move at all. Anyone have any problems like this or know how to solve them?

__________________
'Cause life's too short to drive a boring vehicle
2008 JKU Sahara, 295/70 Cooper Discoverer ST MAXX, 3' Rancho lift w/Rancho RS5000x Shocks, AEM Cold Air Intake
mpenneys10 is offline   Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 10:51 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
George Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 1,707
I would set it back to stock and start over

__________________
2010 JK, Red Rock Crystal, 6 speed manual, Ripp supercharger, 4.56 gears, OX lockers with electric actuators, Rugged Ridge XHD front and rear bumpers, Warn M5000 winch, Rugged Ridge Side Armor Guards, Rugged Ridge Front Skid Plate, Rugged Ridge Evaporator Skid Plate, M.O.R.E. Oil Pan & Transmission Skid Plate, TeraFlex 2 1/2 inch lift, TeraFlex Sport 8 flexarms, Dynatrac Progrip brake system.
1980 CJ7, 258 6 cyl, 4 speed manual
George Ross is offline   Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 10:55 AM   #3
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 6,891
You might have a decimal point in the wrong place on the new value. Run the Jeep up to 150 mph with the gps and see if the speedo still reads zero.
RoadiJeff is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2015, 11:15 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Greg22585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpenneys10 View Post
Just got the flashcal yesterday to correct the speedo for my bigger tires. I put in the size my tires were and it was working fine, but it was a little bit off when i compared it to my gps. So today I went to adjust the tire size and make it smaller and now the speedo just reads 0mph and does not move at all. Anyone have any problems like this or know how to solve them?
Return to stock and drive to see if the speedo works
Probably unrelated to your speedometer not working but did u hook the Flashcal to your pc to download the newest update and the extra option for tpms settings?
Greg22585 is offline   Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 11:26 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
CamRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 524
Just make sure you use the Spark software to ensure your Flashcal is as up to date as possible, then set it back to stock and try it again. I had a similar issue on my first use of my Flashpaq where the speedo read 0 MPH and the shift points weren't correct (after I did the changes for tires and new gears). I set it back to stock and did the steps over again and it worked like a charm.

If that doesn't work, another idea is to set it back to stock, disconnect the battery, wait for about 10 minutes, reconnect the battery and then try again. If that still doesn't help, then call up Superchips and see what they have to say!

Hope that helps!
__________________
Just
Empty
Every
Pocket
CamRock is offline   Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 11:57 AM
Thread Starter
  #6
Jeeper
 
mpenneys10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 91
Thanks for all the info! I just fixed it, I had to return it to stock settings, then disconnected the battery, then put the bigger tire size in and now it's working like it should
__________________
'Cause life's too short to drive a boring vehicle
2008 JKU Sahara, 295/70 Cooper Discoverer ST MAXX, 3' Rancho lift w/Rancho RS5000x Shocks, AEM Cold Air Intake
mpenneys10 is offline   Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 05:32 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
riptideMBP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: San Diego
Posts: 612
I had the same issue and tried what you guys listed (but it didn't work). So I called, and Superchips told me to do the tire size tune, then disconnect the battery with headlights switched on for 30 min. They also said to hold down the brake pedal for the first 5 min.

Just wanted to list another method just in case more people had trouble.

__________________
2008 Wrangler Unlimited X | 2.5" DualSport XT | 35" KO2s | Tow Hooks & Transfer Case (seriously it came without them)
riptideMBP is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.