Speedo Reset with 33's - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-23-2014, 03:04 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 6
Speedo Reset with 33's

Looked around for a bit, couldn't find a thread on resetting the speedo with bigger tires. What's the best way to do it?

ltr450rider is offline   Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 03:21 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Cronoswing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sebring FL
Posts: 257
AEV procal

Cronoswing is offline   Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 03:35 PM   #3
Jeeper

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
danrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: VA
Posts: 1,293
__________________
2013 JKUR-Fiat. Rock Krawler 3.5 X-Factor, RK Draglink flip, Nitto Trail Grappler 35x12.5x17, ACE Rock Sliders, Poison Spyder Brawler MID Front Bumper with Brawler Bar, ENGO E10000S Electric Winch, ACE Engineering JK Pro Series Rear Bumper with Tire Carrier, JW Speaker 8700, Dually Fog lights and sPOD
danrb is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2014, 03:47 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Meatball_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Long Island ny
Posts: 1,046
How off is the spedo with 33 I still haven't re programmed my ECM
__________________
2014 jku anvil, hardtop/soft top, 2.5 inch rock krawler flex system, rancho 9000 shocks, 33" duratracs on 15" level 8 tracker, ace rock rails, Spod, Kc Apollo lights, mopar light bar. Trucklite headlights, trek armor seat covers!
95yj(sold)

https://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/me...or-658913.html
^Build thread
Meatball_man is offline   Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 04:41 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,520
stumblinhorse is offline   Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 05:30 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Cronoswing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sebring FL
Posts: 257
When I went from the stock 16" steelie to the 33" my speedo was 7 mph off with my shift points messed up
Cronoswing is offline   Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 05:36 PM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 13
Can the dealer reprogram it? Taking order on my new jku in the next couple weeks and will be asking the dealer to swap the stock steel 16s and rubber for set of ruby wheels and tires I just picked up ...
Jesterfix is offline   Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 06:29 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
spinlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: 37.9° N, 121.7° W
Posts: 5,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meatball_man View Post
How off is the spedo with 33 I still haven't re programmed my ECM
The speedo is the least of your problems. The PCM that manages just about every system on your Jeep relies on accurate information from its sensors including the tire RPM. If that value is wrong many other systems are impacted.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesterfix View Post
Can the dealer reprogram it? Taking order on my new jku in the next couple weeks and will be asking the dealer to swap the stock steel 16s and rubber for set of ruby wheels and tires I just picked up ...
Can the dealer can certainly do it ... for a price which is usually about 60-70% the value of a Procal, unless you can convince the dealer otherwise.
__________________
"Don't take life too seriously. You'll never get out alive."
B. B.
spinlock is offline   Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 06:45 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Cronoswing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sebring FL
Posts: 257
The procal does more than just fixes the speedo. It gives you the ability to use high idle. Running lights. And many other features. I keep it in my jeep at all times. It's worth it you will pay more in the lost fuel economy eventually.
Cronoswing is offline   Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 06:47 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Meatball_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Long Island ny
Posts: 1,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinlock View Post
The speedo is the least of your problems. The PCM that manages just about every system on your Jeep relies on accurate information from its sensors including the tire RPM. If that value is wrong many other systems are impacted.



Can the dealer can certainly do it ... for a price which is usually about 60-70% the value of a Procal, unless you can convince the dealer otherwise.
Even with a manual it that big a deal?
__________________
2014 jku anvil, hardtop/soft top, 2.5 inch rock krawler flex system, rancho 9000 shocks, 33" duratracs on 15" level 8 tracker, ace rock rails, Spod, Kc Apollo lights, mopar light bar. Trucklite headlights, trek armor seat covers!
95yj(sold)

https://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/me...or-658913.html
^Build thread
Meatball_man is offline   Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 11:58 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Cronoswing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sebring FL
Posts: 257
Not as crucial as with autos but like he said before everything works together.
Cronoswing is offline   Quote
Old 08-24-2014, 12:31 PM
Thread Starter
  #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Goleta, CA
Posts: 6
Cool, thanks for the replies.

ltr450rider is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.