Tpms?? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-13-2017, 10:14 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Newb
 
SteveH85355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Tpms??

I recently swapped tires and wheels on my 2013 JK. Brand new TPMS sensors in the new package. The TPMS acted normally for the first 24 hours then last night started flashing. When I checked the information display there is no info for the rear tires, only fronts.

Any ideas?

Steve
Waddell, AZ
2013 JKU

SteveH85355 is offline   Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 10:28 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
JLJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 220
This happened to me when I put new wheels and tires on my Jeep. The guy at Discount Tire forgot to program two of the sensors. Had to take them back and have them program the sensors.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JLJK is offline   Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 10:47 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Newb
 
SteveH85355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLJK View Post
This happened to me when I put new wheels and tires on my Jeep. The guy at Discount Tire forgot to program two of the sensors. Had to take them back and have them program the sensors.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Program? I'm missing something.

I took 5 new tires, 5 wheels, and 5 new TPMS sensors to a tire shop who put it all together. Then I drove back and they swapped my old tires for the new set. Far as I could tell no "reprogramming" was performed.
__________________
Steve
Waddell, AZ
2013 JKU
SteveH85355 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2017, 05:27 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
JLJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 220
Yes. You said 5 new sensors. The sensors have to be activated or paired to the car. You thought they were working for the first 24 hours when in reality, that was just the readings from the old sensors/tires. I had the same thing happen. Had stock wheels and tires on, put lift kit on, picked up new wheels and tires from tire shop, brought them home, put them on the Jeep and drove it. For the first 15 miles or so, everything looked great. Was reading tire pressure on four tires then all of a sudden after about 15 miles, the TPMS light came on and display was only reading 3 of the tires. I had to take it to the tire shop and they had to pull the one sensor and do whatever they needed to do to activate it, pair it or whatever it is they do. Once I left the tire shop and drove about one mile, the TPMS picked up the fourth wheel and all was honky dory.
JLJK is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.