TPMS on after swapping wheels/tires - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-03-2015, 08:21 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
RobbyJG93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 20
TPMS on after swapping wheels/tires

So I recently swapped out my old wheels for the new Sahara wheels off a 2015 model. Reason I did so is because I got a steal and it was time for new tires anyways. I paid $450 for a set of 5 with 2500 miles on them. So I put them on and got a wheel alignment and drove for about 20-25 miles before the light came on. I checked the PSI and all tires were at about 40/41. So I aired down to 35 on each one and drove about 20 miles and the light is still on. Any suggestions ?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-226654190.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	181.9 KB
ID:	2662201  
RobbyJG93 is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 08:25 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
TakHardRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: VA
Posts: 2,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbyJG93 View Post
So I recently swapped out my old wheels for the new Sahara wheels off a 2015 model. Reason I did so is because I got a steal and it was time for new tires anyways. I paid $450 for a set of 5 with 2500 miles on them. So I put them on and got a wheel alignment and drove for about 20-25 miles before the light came on. I checked the PSI and all tires were at about 40/41. So I aired down to 35 on each one and drove about 20 miles and the light is still on. Any suggestions ?
Just to let you know that 2012 TPMS is different from 2014 and 2015.

__________________
My Hard Rock Build
TakHardRock is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 08:35 AM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
RobbyJG93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by TakHardRock View Post
Just to let you know that 2012 TPMS is different from 2014 and 2015.
So they won't be compatible at all with my wrangler ? Should I just disable them ? I have a 2010 Sahara
RobbyJG93 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2015, 08:38 AM   #4
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
RoadiJeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 6,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbyJG93 View Post
So they won't be compatible at all with my wrangler ? Should I just disable them ? I have a 2010 Sahara
Either that or buy and install a set that have the same frequency as your 2010 JK. What happened to the old sensors? Can you use them?

I'd opt for new compatible sensors. The batteries on those last 7-10 years and you wouldn't have much battery life left on the originals, considering what it will cost to install them.

I remember reading somewhere that the dealer can flash the computer to make the new sensors with a different frequency be recognized by your vehicle. You might call them and ask if they can and the cost to do so.
RoadiJeff is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 08:39 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
WebDevDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 2,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbyJG93 View Post
So they won't be compatible at all with my wrangler ? Should I just disable them ? I have a 2010 Sahara

They run on different frequencies - they are 100% incompatible. You could A) disable TPMS with a procal/other programming tool, or B) purchase the correct TPMS sensors for your year and have them installed.
__________________
°.lllllll.°
WebDevDan is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 08:42 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
TakHardRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: VA
Posts: 2,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbyJG93 View Post
So they won't be compatible at all with my wrangler ? Should I just disable them ? I have a 2010 Sahara
You can with the AEV procal or swap your 2010 over the new wheel. Local shop can do it and shouldn't be over $100.
__________________
My Hard Rock Build
TakHardRock is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 08:46 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
tomba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Posts: 625
x3...They are correct! Your TPMS are a different frequency than the 2015. I did something similar..I bought a set of '15 wheels for my '14 RubiX that had the TPMS removed. I got a full set of the correct TPMS from Amazon ( think I paid about $40 for a full set) and had a tire shop swap them. I'd suggest going that route, then selling the old TPMS on Ebay! You'll probably get your money back.
__________________
Current Jeeps:
1998 Jeep XJ- SOLD!
2014 Granite JKU Rubicon X 730n/ Dual Top/ 6SP Manual
2004 Ford E350 12 Passenger Van, 6.0 Diesel with Quigley 4x4- Cold Weather Package
tomba is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 06:36 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 75
I bought 5 new sensors off of amazon for $60.00 for my new take off's instead of opping to break down my factory tires. Now I have winter and summer tire's. I don't do off roading.
bob-0 is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 09:34 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Triple R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New Rochelle, NY
Posts: 30
How much was it to get the TPMS installed?
Triple R is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 12:48 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 169
Ive heard around $10a tire
crableg85 is offline   Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 11:27 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 17
The tire shop I used broke one of mine then tried denying it. I had a light on from that. We found the problem when the plastic part was cracked when the dismounted the tire for the 2nd time
crazykev4x4 is offline   Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 01:23 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
paz44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 29
I'm gonna get new Nittos next summer ...
I never swapped out TPMs from factory wheels ..

Do I need to buy 4 or 5 TPMs when I put new tires on my XD Addicts .
I never used spare tire ...and probably won't rotate into daily driving ...
paz44 is offline   Quote
Old 12-10-2015, 04:17 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
tom666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 17
I bought here in Belgium the Pro-cal module.
Verry easy to set the tpms like you want.
You can also disable it for off the road use.

tom666 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.