TPMS sensors question - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-04-2015, 08:25 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 66
TPMS sensors question

What you guys are using when getting a new set of wheels/tires? I was planing to use my old (2015) sensors, but most of the vendors are offering to mount and balance tires/wheels with new sensors. I'm ready to pull the trigger on a new set of wheels/tires.

Speedracer1974 is offline   Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 08:43 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
jay14sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Burkburnett, Tx
Posts: 908
I bought 5 new ones off ebay for $54.99 free shipping so I didn't have to break down the original tire/wheel. They worked great. started working within a couple of blocks from the tire store. Not sure if this link is still good but tried to copy it to here.

5 New TPMS Tire Pressure Sensor Valve Stem Dodge Chrysler Jeep 56029398AB | eBay

jay14sport is offline   Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 09:25 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 66
Link works.....thanks
Speedracer1974 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-05-2015, 05:42 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Ed Pursell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Allentown,Pa
Posts: 971
Just a question, I remember this question before, is this $54.99 a set of 5, or per each? Quantity 1 or 5 for that part number?
__________________
~Ed~
Ed Pursell is offline   Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 07:40 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
jay14sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Burkburnett, Tx
Posts: 908
quantity of 5. you get all 5 for that price. The one's I ordered were for the 2014.
jay14sport is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 07:49 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,425
I put my old tires on my new wheels so I had them broke down and if I wanted to keep them I would have swapped the originals as they were working fine. I didn't want them so I told the shop not to swap them. Now if your are ordering a combo wheel/tire set already mounted and balanced I would think you would want to have them install new ones.
Jedi9 is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 07:57 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Wingit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Joliet
Posts: 1,106
I put my stock sensors in the new rims. I have no real plan on using the old stuff so why bother keeping them in there.
__________________
2014 amp'd sport, 2 in OME lift, 1.25 body lift, Rancho adjustable shocks, 4.56 Yukon gears, 35 in KM2
Smittybilt front bumper & step/sliders
Ace engineering rear bumper/tire carrier
12K Smittybilt X2O winch, AEV snorkel
Rock Hard Skids
Wingit is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 08:03 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
jay14sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Burkburnett, Tx
Posts: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wingit View Post
I put my stock sensors in the new rims. I have no real plan on using the old stuff so why bother keeping them in there.
Since I got new tires and wheels, the tire shop was going to charge extra just to break down the old tire/wheel combo to get the sensors out and install them in the new wheel. Made sense to me to spend about 10 dollars extra and get new. The original tires/wheels only have 3000 miles on them so either sell them as is or make good backups.
jay14sport is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 08:07 AM   #9
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 21,507
I ordered from the same place as jaysport and I kept the originals so when I go on long road trips where I know I won't be off roading much I put them on saving wear and tear on my 35's and it really is amazing how well your rig responds on the road when you put your smaller tires back on, feels like you super charged it
jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 08:08 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
jay14sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Burkburnett, Tx
Posts: 908
On the bright side, the shop only charged $10 per tire to mount and balance and install the sensor..thought that was a descent price.
jay14sport is offline   Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 09:50 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
TurkTTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 1,229
If you get the sensors already installed in your new wheels, then you can sell your OE wheels and tires to another 2013+ JK without having to dismount everything...

__________________
2014 JK Rubicon
ANVIL
2 Doors, 2 seats, 3 pedals, 37s

Build thread: https://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/tu...-459729-4.html
All views expressed are solely my own unless specifically stated otherwise.
TurkTTR is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.