TPS Help - ProCal, FlashCal F5 or J-Cal - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-05-2017, 09:53 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Schlick-77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 26
TPS Help - ProCal, FlashCal F5 or J-Cal

Can you guys point me in the right direction?

I know that an AEV ProCal will do what I need, but I like the idea of being able to read and clear codes at the same time... That said, both the SuperChips FlashCal F5 and JKS J-Cal are capable of altering (or simply turning off) the TPS sensors, but at an additional expense. Nowhere can I find info on what the added expense of the software add-on is. Do any of you know off hand? Also, any insight as to which one would work with a Mac (software updates and such) running a Windows OS via Parallels?

Your help is always appreciated.

Schlick-77 is offline   Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 01:15 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
terpsmandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Penn Yan, NY
Posts: 2,032
I have a Flashpaq and a Flashcal and both can be updated by Superchips. They have a proprietary program, Ignition, that does the software updates. Flashpaq software can be added to a Flashcal for the difference in retail pricing. Last time I checked, the tire pressure monitor threshold can be lowered but not turned off. I am sure that there were lawyers involved.

terpsmandan is offline   Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 01:51 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
Schlick-77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 26
Terpsmandan - Thanks for the feedback. Do you need to update the Flashcal to Flashpaq in order to tinker with the TPMS? Oddly enough, I called super chips and the fellow on the phone said that FlashCal would work to shut off the TPMS but not to modify its trigger value... He said I'd need their DashPaq model for that???
Schlick-77 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-05-2017, 03:40 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
bobchase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ahwatukee, AZ
Posts: 983
Here is a thread about flascal. It started out about lockers but morphed into tire pressure about here.

https://www.wranglerforum.com/f274/a-...l#post30939801
bobchase is offline   Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 03:45 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
jcmagone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 33
I just picked up a Traildash 2 over the weekend and it will allow me to both adjust the pressure and or turn of the TPMS. I can turn down to about 20lbs. To be able to turn off the TPMS I had to digitally sign on a website for superchips and then they sent me an unlock code to access the feature. If I understand it correctly its the same thing for the flashcal and flashpaq.
jcmagone is offline   Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 05:04 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
terpsmandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Penn Yan, NY
Posts: 2,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmagone View Post
I just picked up a Traildash 2 over the weekend and it will allow me to both adjust the pressure and or turn of the TPMS. I can turn down to about 20lbs. To be able to turn off the TPMS I had to digitally sign on a website for superchips and then they sent me an unlock code to access the feature. If I understand it correctly its the same thing for the flashcal and flashpaq.
And that would be a waiver saying that you can't sue Superchips if you get into an accident and an investigator determines that you had a tire low and that was the cause.
terpsmandan is offline   Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 05:37 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: South East BC
Posts: 1,480
I like my ProCal... the switches are a bit small... but you plug it in... beep beep... done.

It disables TMPS if you want...
BeyondYourFrontDoor is offline   Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 11:37 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
jcmagone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by terpsmandan View Post
And that would be a waiver saying that you can't sue Superchips if you get into an accident and an investigator determines that you had a tire low and that was the cause.
I am sure you are right and that will be the same issue with ProCal or any other solution that disables the TPMS sensor. There are plenty of people running around with the TPMS light illuminated on their dash. The TPMS sensors have a life span and when they expire or stop working a majority of people do not replace them.
jcmagone is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 10:39 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
terpsmandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Penn Yan, NY
Posts: 2,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmagone View Post
I am sure you are right and that will be the same issue with ProCal or any other solution that disables the TPMS sensor. There are plenty of people running around with the TPMS light illuminated on their dash. The TPMS sensors have a life span and when they expire or stop working a majority of people do not replace them.
Some don't care but I can buy a set of four used ones for less than $30 from eBay. On the 09 when the sensor went off at night it lit up the odometer to it's daytime setting and was annoying.
terpsmandan is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 11:14 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
jcmagone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by terpsmandan View Post
Some don't care but I can buy a set of four used ones for less than $30 from eBay. On the 09 when the sensor went off at night it lit up the odometer to it's daytime setting and was annoying.
Thanks for the information on getting the sensor so cheap. I will check them out on Ebay. Most likely worth the $30 instead of trying to break down my stock wheels to move the sensors over. I think you and are having a similar discussion about TPMS on two threads.
jcmagone is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 06:37 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
terpsmandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Penn Yan, NY
Posts: 2,032
The only problem I have ever had with them is when I bought the wrong ones. 07-12 are 315Mhz. 13 and up are 455Mhz.
terpsmandan is offline   Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 12:29 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
jcmagone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 33
I just picked up a set of used sensor from a '12 for $25. I was going to move my sensors over from my factory wheels but now I think I will just the used senors installed. I would hope they will work okay as they are a year newer than mine.
jcmagone is offline   Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 12:53 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
terpsmandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Penn Yan, NY
Posts: 2,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmagone View Post
I just picked up a set of used sensor from a '12 for $25. I was going to move my sensors over from my factory wheels but now I think I will just the used senors installed. I would hope they will work okay as they are a year newer than mine.
As long they are 315Mhz, they should work. Run the P/N through Google. It should help you figure it out.

terpsmandan is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.