Traisdash 2 issue - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-31-2016, 09:19 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Kraxler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,001
Traisdash 2 issue

Backstory. Been have an issue with the jeep running hot on long grades. Tried all sorts of things, all to no avail. While doing some radiator work noticed the fan came on at 157 and off at 175. Did not come on after that. Had to take it to a dealer for related issue. They could not get the fan to come on. Not even with their equipment. Uninstalled the Traildash and the fan works normal.

I really like the extra gauges that the Traildash gives and the features of it.

So the question is, does anyone else have this problem? Is there a way to fix it? Have not yet contacted Superchip but will do that this week.

Kraxler is online now   Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 09:32 AM   #2
Let the Jeepn Times Roll

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
rubiman1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: oregon coast
Posts: 2,013
I have one of the td2 units. Never have had a fan issue. I would suggest that you return the td2 to factory defaults, hook the td2 to a computer and use the fusion software and check for unit updates. If that doesn't work call superchips. They will ask for your model serial number and will more than likely do a force reset on the unit and have you load new software on it. It is a great useful device. I like all the gauges

rubiman1969 is online now   Quote
Old 12-31-2016, 11:16 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 1,548
Kraxler, a few questions:

1) What year is your jeep?

2) What code rev are you running on the TD2?

3) What tune from the TD2 were you running?

4) Did you use the custom features of that tune to set fan start and stop temps?

I have a TD2 on my '14, which I bought specifically for its claimed ability to set fan start thresholds. After multiple calls to SC it became clear that the device can't do that on any Pentastar, and any thresholds that one sets for a Pentastar simply have no effect, which matches my experience with the device. If your experience is different from that, then we can all learn something from it.

Mark
__________________
14 JKU Rubicon X - Weekend go-to-the-mountains toy
88 4Runner on 4D's - Trailer queen for serious wheeling
01 PSD Excursion - The slave that drags the queen
ScaldedDog is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-01-2017, 01:40 AM
Thread Starter
  #4
Jeeper
 
Kraxler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,001
I have a 2012 JKUR with the automatic transmission. I'll have to check the version on the td2. I've had the problem without any engine tune. Also tried the 87 tune to try the fan adjustment but as others have said that does not work. The only way the fan works normal is with the unit factory reset. I really like having the gauges to monitor various temps and pentameter a, and adjust for tire size and pressure. I'll double check the software version and also will be contacting Superchip.
Kraxler is online now   Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 02:21 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
jac04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kraxler View Post
...and also will be contacting Superchip.
Let us know how that works out. IMO, just get it exchanged for a new unit, don't bother with all the things they want you to do to the one you have.

My experience:
My TD has never been able to actuate my lockers. I immediately contacted Superchips and I'm still getting the runaround from them almost 2 years later. When I finally told them I just want to return it, they said "oh, it's out of warranty now".
__________________
2014 JK Rubicon X, 4.10 Auto \\ Dynatrac HD 1/2" tubed ProRock 44 w/ ProSteers \\ Yeti Tie Rod & Drag Link \\ TeraFlex front LCA Sport Flexarms \\ Custom-built Dana 44 HD rear axle, fully welded w/ Artec brackets & Ten Factory shafts \\ AEV 2” Lift \\ 255/80-17 BFG KM2 tires \\ Skid plates = LCAs, engine, trans, gas tank, evap, AEV diff slider \\ Custom rear shock, exhaust loop & x-member Skids \\ Warn Zeon 10s w/FlatLink \\ AEV Rear Bumper \\ aFe 2.5 High Tuck axle-back
jac04 is online now   Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 05:00 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
twyrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brunswick, MD
Posts: 418
I only have the original TrailDash, but ....

I'd have to say, the unit never really felt "fully baked" to me. The software always felt like I was using some kind of pre-release / testing version.

Some of the digital gauges don't really seem to be accurate, for one thing. (EG. Tell it to display your percentage of fuel remaining, and no matter how hard you try fill and top off your gas tank, it won't show more than about 95% full. It *never* indicates it's 100% full.)

I don't think they ever got the functionality working right to disable your low tire pressure indicator on the dash either, at least on models like my 2014 JKU?

And I kept having issues with the rear camera support as well. I had a rear license plate camera wired up, but the TrailDash would never switch modes automatically to view it when I put the Jeep in reverse. I put in a support ticket for it the first time, and had to go back and forth with tech support, downloading several custom versions of the software into the TrailDash before they finally got me a version where the backup camera worked properly with it.

The next time they had a software upgrade available? I did it and lost the functionality again. So I had to put in yet another support ticket and have that corrected a second time.

The other hassle I've noticed is that Chrysler keeps releasing calibration updates to the firmware in the ECU for my Jeep. Every time I let a dealership do one of these, I run the risk of the TrailDash no longer allowing me to apply custom tunes to it. This happened to me a while ago and I eventually got SuperChips tech support to fix the issue for me with an updated download. But I found a note in their documentation warning that if I accept new calibrations from Chrysler, it may cause the TrailDash to stop functioning with it. (So that tells me it's something you do at your own risk, having to cross your fingers and hope SuperChips feels like staying on top of things and producing new software to keep up with those changes.) I'm not comfortable just ignoring all the ECU changes that Chrysler comes up with -- because I assume they have good reasons for putting them out.

twyrick is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.