Upgrade to 430 radio - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-21-2015, 10:31 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
scarlett08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 28
Upgrade to 430 radio

I got my 2015 Jeep Wrangler 2 door sport about 3 months ago. Had everything I wanted except the touch screen stereo. Interested in upgrading to the 430 radio (currently have the 130 radio). Has anyone else attempted this? Success? Good place to buy it? I'd prefer a new one but they seem harder to come by. Found refurbished ones from oeautopartsco.com. Has anyone purchased from them? Reviews seem good. Looking for some insight here. Is it even worth it? Not looking for the navigation system or anything. Just the regular one. Thanks guys!

scarlett08 is offline   Quote
Old 11-21-2015, 11:04 PM   #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Famtruckster14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 527
Great upgrade and easy to do, as long as you can find one for a fair price. If you do a search there is a huge thread on it. I believe it's under JK general discussion.

Famtruckster14 is offline   Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 12:30 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
wadewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Rose Hill, KS
Posts: 483
I sent an email to OEM Auto Parts Co. asking about a 430 upgrade from my 130 in my 15 Willys Wheeler. Price isn't that far off from an after market with the same options and they said they would give me some cash for my 130. Haven't done it yet due to Holidays coming and being in the middle of a building a new house, but its probably the route im going to go.
wadewolf is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2015, 09:57 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 2,468
oemautopartsco.com, in my opinion, is the number one source for OEM radios if you can't find one anywhere else. I always suggest checking Ebay and Craigslist first.

You can get new:

RBZ MyGIG 430 Touchscreen Radio - High

or refurb:

Refurbished Jeep RBZ MyGIG 430 Touchscreen Radio - High
jkudave is offline   Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 11:00 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
jamesbernatchez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 316
I picked up a 430N from a '14 Chrysler for under $600 shipped to swap to from my 130. If you don't want Nav you should be able to find one even cheaper.

Install is very easy. Remove bolts from dash, remove dash remove 4 bolts from radio and remove, install new one, and ta-da! If you already have uconnect it's all plug and play.
__________________
'97 TJ - SOLD
'15 JKU Tank
jamesbernatchez is offline   Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 12:15 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 102
Just what ever you buy you will probably have to pay the 20 dollars to get the security code as the radios are vin matched. I bought a 430 from Ebay out of a 2015 for my 15 and had to pay the $20 to get the code but it was easy and worked perfect. It is just a plug and play swap.
232cap is offline   Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 12:25 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
jamesbernatchez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by 232cap View Post
Just what ever you buy you will probably have to pay the 20 dollars to get the security code as the radios are vin matched. I bought a 430 from Ebay out of a 2015 for my 15 and had to pay the $20 to get the code but it was easy and worked perfect. It is just a plug and play swap.
Mine from eBay included the code. Just confirm with the seller if it doesn't specifically state so in the auction.
__________________
'97 TJ - SOLD
'15 JKU Tank
jamesbernatchez is offline   Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 07:18 PM
Thread Starter
  #8
Jeeper
 
scarlett08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 28
Thanks guys! I also checked out the tread. Seems like a lot of jeepers went the oeauto route. I tried going through the dealer and they won't sell me one which I think is totally crazy. Thanks again guys
scarlett08 is offline   Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 08:12 PM   #9
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Famtruckster14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 527
I went to the dealer also and was told it wouldn't work, even with the theft code. Found one on eBay with a code with it for $325. Love it and it works great.
Famtruckster14 is offline   Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 10:12 PM
Thread Starter
  #10
Jeeper
 
scarlett08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 28
Nice!! Yea that's about what they r selling it for. Did u get the refurbished one or a new one? Did it have the jeep logo and everything when you turn it on? How about the volume button? Is it green when lights are on? I read that some people got blue it seems. Would prefer it matches my car lights.
scarlett08 is offline   Quote
Old 11-22-2015, 10:36 PM   #11
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Famtruckster14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 527
I lucked out and happened to get one out of a 2014 the same year as mine. Jeep logo and green....... It even had music on the HDD from the previous owner. He had good taste thankfully.
Famtruckster14 is offline   Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 09:12 AM
Thread Starter
  #12
Jeeper
 
scarlett08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 28
Thanks guys! Ended up ordering the 430 rbz - high. No nav. From oem. Can't wait til it comes in!!!
scarlett08 is offline   Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 02:09 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Roshko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 194
The radio is a piece of shit. Good luck with it. I would've sold you mine, with nav, for $50 Canadian. You do the math.
__________________
1995 Jeep YJ 2.5l (Red)
1995 Jeep YJ 4.0l (Green)
2005 Jeep TJ 4.0l Rubicon (Black)
2008 Jeep Liberty 3.8l North Edition (Silver)
2012 Jeep JK 3.6l Rubicon (Black)
2016 Jeep JK 3.6l Rubicon (Black)
Roshko is offline   Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 02:52 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 2,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roshko View Post
The radio is a piece of shit. Good luck with it. I would've sold you mine, with nav, for $50 Canadian. You do the math.
To you it's a piece of shit. To others, its an easy way to get a simple touch screen radio update.

If you hate yours that much and wish to sell it, post it up in the Buy, Sell, Trade section.

No need for you to come on here and crap all over this thread.
jkudave is offline   Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 02:57 PM   #15
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Famtruckster14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roshko View Post
The radio is a piece of shit. Good luck with it. I would've sold you mine, with nav, for $50 Canadian. You do the math.
Details please!!!! Pictures, anti theft code? That's about $650 cheaper than anywhere I've seen. I could be real interested...... Any difference between U.S. And Canadian units?
Famtruckster14 is offline   Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 07:44 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Greg22585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarlett08 View Post
Thanks guys! Ended up ordering the 430 rbz - high. No nav. From oem. Can't wait til it comes in!!!
Will u post back here after u get it put in and let us know how u like it? That's the exactly what I'm interested in getting, without nav and from the same place too, I'm just waiting til after Christmas is over.
Greg22585 is offline   Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 09:24 PM
Thread Starter
  #17
Jeeper
 
scarlett08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 28
Greg 22585, absolutely. They gave me free 2 day shipping so I will have it Wednesday and of course I am going to put in it right away!!! I ended up getting the year warranty also so in total I paid about $575. A lot but the plug and play option is really what sold me. And also not having to go through eBay or Craigslist. Spending this amount worries me when you are buying it as a private sell vs. from a company. I talked to customer service today for about 20 minutes with a million questions and they were extremely knowledgable and patient. Just as an FYI...they do not sell BRAND NEW ones. They sell refurbished and the high which are considered in mint condition. The high come out of a new vehicle (so a 2015 or 2016) vs the refurbished which come out of a 2010-2014 vehicles. Not sure this really matters since it comes with the updated software. I am just super weird about my Jeep and wanted a brand new one or one as new as possible without scratches or anything. Hope this helps. I'll post some pics here once I get it installed!
scarlett08 is offline   Quote
Old 11-23-2015, 09:51 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Greg22585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarlett08 View Post
Greg 22585, absolutely. They gave me free 2 day shipping so I will have it Wednesday and of course I am going to put in it right away!!! I ended up getting the year warranty also so in total I paid about $575. A lot but the plug and play option is really what sold me. And also not having to go through eBay or Craigslist. Spending this amount worries me when you are buying it as a private sell vs. from a company. I talked to customer service today for about 20 minutes with a million questions and they were extremely knowledgable and patient. Just as an FYI...they do not sell BRAND NEW ones. They sell refurbished and the high which are considered in mint condition. The high come out of a new vehicle (so a 2015 or 2016) vs the refurbished which come out of a 2010-2014 vehicles. Not sure this really matters since it comes with the updated software. I am just super weird about my Jeep and wanted a brand new one or one as new as possible without scratches or anything. Hope this helps. I'll post some pics here once I get it installed!
Ok thanks! I started a thread ab this in the JK general discussion thread right around the same time u started this 1 Saturday. Both threads have got positive feedback ab doing the upgrade and dealing with OEMAutoPartsco. Hope it works out great for u!!
Greg22585 is offline   Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 06:28 PM
Thread Starter
  #19
Jeeper
 
scarlett08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 28
Greg22585,
430 rbz is in!! See pics attached. Took me about an hour. Probably because I was really afriad of breaking something or scratching something. Putting it back together once I got it out was about 5 minutes. Lol. You are gonna need a 7mm socket wrench. I ended up putting the 7mm piece on the end of a Phillips screw driver cuz the area is pretty tight and the wrench was a little tough. They have an installation guide posted on their site. I wouldn't use that. It said to take the piece off below the air and heat dials or so I thought and now I can't get it back in completely. They have a video posted on you tube. Use that. Getting out the auto window piece was tough. Once I turned it on, it said Chrysler. I was a little pissed. Shut my car off and turned it on again and it switched over to jeep. My blue tooth and everything works perfectly. Really happy with it. I ordered the high and it was flawless the unit itself. Not one scratch. They also 2 day shipped it to me for free. The Sirus comes over also. Let me know if you have questions. The video makes it appear a little easier than it is in terms of wires and such. Have a nice holiday!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2480533730.jpg
Views:	577
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	2648281   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2526585783.jpg
Views:	468
Size:	81.4 KB
ID:	2648305  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1151408582.jpg
Views:	443
Size:	87.9 KB
ID:	2648313   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4110223222.jpg
Views:	570
Size:	131.5 KB
ID:	2648321  

scarlett08 is offline   Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 08:21 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Greg22585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarlett08 View Post
Greg22585,
430 rbz is in!! See pics attached. Took me about an hour. Probably because I was really afriad of breaking something or scratching something. Putting it back together once I got it out was about 5 minutes. Lol. You are gonna need a 7mm socket wrench. I ended up putting the 7mm piece on the end of a Phillips screw driver cuz the area is pretty tight and the wrench was a little tough. They have an installation guide posted on their site. I wouldn't use that. It said to take the piece off below the air and heat dials or so I thought and now I can't get it back in completely. They have a video posted on you tube. Use that. Getting out the auto window piece was tough. Once I turned it on, it said Chrysler. I was a little pissed. Shut my car off and turned it on again and it switched over to jeep. My blue tooth and everything works perfectly. Really happy with it. I ordered the high and it was flawless the unit itself. Not one scratch. They also 2 day shipped it to me for free. The Sirus comes over also. Let me know if you have questions. The video makes it appear a little easier than it is in terms of wires and such. Have a nice holiday!
That's awesome they 2 day shipped it for u and everything works as advertised!! Happy Holidays to u too!
Greg22585 is offline   Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 08:41 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 41
I had the 130 w/sirius and alpine speakers but no bluetooth. I purchased a 430n rhr from a member for 500 and than purchased bluetooth harness and module. Also purchased backup camera. I installed it all in a few hours with the help of all the online videos here and youtube. All works great, I did have to go to dealer for the flash-115.00. Great upgrade.
stevigee is offline   Quote
Old 11-28-2015, 07:13 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
dustoffdax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NOVA
Posts: 40
Is there a difference in the Wattage output between the 130 and the 430? I've upgraded all my speakers to the Kicker replacements, and although they do sound better, I think a little more power would push them a little better.
__________________
Cheers, Dax
Past Jeeps, 83 CJ5, 00 Cherokee, 03 TJ, 2015 JKUR
Current Jeep, 2005 LJ, Impact Orange
dustoffdax is offline   Quote
Old 11-28-2015, 09:03 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 2,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustoffdax View Post
Is there a difference in the Wattage output between the 130 and the 430? I've upgraded all my speakers to the Kicker replacements, and although they do sound better, I think a little more power would push them a little better.
No difference.
__________________
Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards. --Shane Patton, Ballad of the Frogman
jkudave is offline   Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 08:48 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Rusty204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 223
Is there a way to find the security code on the 430 rbz unit?
__________________
2014 JK Sport - Anvil
Ordered 1/6/14 - D1 1/9/14 - Shipped 1/30/14 - Taken Home - 2/10/14
Rusty204 is offline   Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 09:24 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 4,136
Google navrepair. 20 bucks.

nwbronco is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.