Winch Control Box Relocation - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-20-2015, 08:50 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Warrenton, va
Posts: 413
Winch Control Box Relocation

I want to relocate my winch control box. I'd like to order all of the parts beforehand.

What gauge wire do I use to extend the control box cables? Another user in the forum posted that I should use marine grade copper.

I'm guessing 6 gauge but I want to make sure before I order it as copper is kind of pricey

LowFatBaconWrap is offline   Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 08:53 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,449
6 gauge = too small. I will try to use the 2 cables coming from the battery to the winch now and just buy one additional the same size.

Jedi9 is offline   Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 09:01 AM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Warrenton, va
Posts: 413
I think the battery cable's 2 gauge, maybe. ok, I'll order it. going too big is better than a fire.
LowFatBaconWrap is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2015, 12:03 PM   #4
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 21,919
I have been kicking around relocating the control box on my VR10000. Just looking for a good spot to relocate it to on the 12-15 jk's is not easy being so crowded under the hood.
jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 12:12 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Reno , NV.
Posts: 1,191
I just got done rebuilding my Warn 15K winch. It looks so damn good, I want to relocate my control box also. I'm putting it under the hood and thinking of extending the winch controller wires to inside the cab. What says you guys ?
willysdave is offline   Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 01:22 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,449
that's what I want to do. controls inside and a wireless remote for outside.
Jedi9 is offline   Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 07:07 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,527
I put my solenoid where my stock air box was... See the pic for total setup.

Source for cable is here, best price anywhere that I could find.

Amazon.com: Camco 47475 Black 5/16" Stud 36" Long 2-Gauge Marine Battery Cable and Lug Assembly Tinned: Automotive

I went 2 gauge.

Then you need a bunch of wire to run to the cab. I am just going to be wireless from under the hood. Warn range is about 80 ft.

Also did a Best Marine 6006 for emergency cut off.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0178.jpg
Views:	306
Size:	149.5 KB
ID:	2014609  
stumblinhorse is offline   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 04:38 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
jickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Alexander City, AL
Posts: 224
I mounted the control box for my VR10000s under the hood. It's tight but looks like it's supposed to go there. Lets me hide my winch and use my in-cab controls.
__________________
2014 JKU Granite Sport, Rubicon axles (sleeved, gusseted, chromoly shafts, 5.13 gearing,) Synergy ball joints, Metalcloak Game Changer 3.5 Fox Edition lift, LED lighting front, side, and rear, 37x12.5x17 Mastercraft Courser MT's, custom fab stubby front and rear bumpers w/Warn PowerPlant HD synthetic winch
jickey is offline   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 04:46 PM   #9
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 21,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by jickey View Post
I mounted the control box for my VR10000s under the hood. It's tight but looks like it's supposed to go there. Lets me hide my winch and use my in-cab controls.
photos please.
jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 04:49 PM   #10
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 21,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumblinhorse View Post
I put my solenoid where my stock air box was... See the pic for total setup.

Source for cable is here, best price anywhere that I could find.

Amazon.com: Camco 47475 Black 5/16" Stud 36" Long 2-Gauge Marine Battery Cable and Lug Assembly Tinned: Automotive

I went 2 gauge.

Then you need a bunch of wire to run to the cab. I am just going to be wireless from under the hood. Warn range is about 80 ft.

Also did a Best Marine 6006 for emergency cut off.
amazon said 1 to 3 months for shipping? yikes.
jadmt is offline   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 06:44 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 1,482
mikeJKUR is offline   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 08:00 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
s.champ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lisbon, NH
Posts: 41
Put mine under hood and have wireless remote !!FYI RHD
works great
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0532.jpg
Views:	460
Size:	225.0 KB
ID:	2030241  
s.champ is offline   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 08:12 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2,449
Someone here mounted an Engo on the battery on a LHD JK lol
Jedi9 is offline   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 08:24 PM   #14
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Bbannongmu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,285
I made a bracket for mine on the drivers side in front of the ABS. Here's a pic of it under construction. Just a flat piece of steel bent in a vice and welded with a cheap stick welder and rattle can black paint. I ran 2ga welding wire to the battery and winch. I also wired in a $19.99 Tractor Supply wireless winch controller. Works great. I'll try to take pic of the install.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1953411565.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	124.8 KB
ID:	2030393  
__________________
"Trust me, I'm with the government..."

My old JK Build Thread Here


2020 Gladiator Thread HERE
Bbannongmu is offline   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 11:32 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadmt View Post
amazon said 1 to 3 months for shipping? yikes.
I must have bought all of them! The longer and shorter ones are in stock.

Also have the red 36" 2 gauge in stock.
stumblinhorse is offline   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 11:46 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
thedawgshow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Pittsboro, Indiana
Posts: 1,929
I so need to do this!!!

__________________
Jeff "DAWG" Stafford
------------------------
George Washington did not use his right of free speech to defeat the British. He shot them!!!!
thedawgshow is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.