Dash brake light issue... - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-15-2015, 08:16 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Dash brake light issue...

Newbie here and hope somebody can send me down the right path....Bought a 2001 Sahara with the 6 cyl. I bought it knowing the frame was toast and the skid plate was being held up by ratchet straps. So went and replaced the frame section with the auto rust channels. Done. Next was the brake light on the dash was sometimes on, sometimes blinking. Sometimes off! So looked on the forums here and read a post that if the brake light was blinking, it was the e-brake switch. Also, the e-brake had lots of travel. I thought a lot if this was due to the skid plate dropping. So again, following the posts in the forums, checked the rear brakes. Bottom line did the rears today! All good, and the ebrake LOCKS up the wheels on 3 clicks!😀😀😀
Next, was the e-brake switch. Changed that out, and I thought all was good. Now after driving around for 20 minutes, the damn brake light is once again blinking.

So, ANY suggestions (other than a gallon of gas and a match &#128514 would really be appreciated.

So to recap, new rear drum brakes, properly adjusted, new e-brake switch, and yes the brake fluid resivoir is full.

Thanks in advance!

Earll is offline   Quote
Old 11-15-2015, 08:30 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
andy05jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Central,Pa
Posts: 743
Have you bled the brake lines?

andy05jeep is offline   Quote
Old 11-15-2015, 08:57 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
No, that I have not done. Can I ask why you feel this may help? Granted I am assuming that the system has never been opened, and judging from the "looks" of the rear wheel cylinders I don't they have been replaced. I. THOUGHT the only reason to bleed the brakes was if you opened the system. Please don't take this as challenging, as I am trying to lean and maybe educate some others!
Earll is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-15-2015, 09:07 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12,979
That brake warning light comes on both for ebrake and pressure difference front vs back

To tell which unplug wiring plug on brake line junction under hood and see if it goes off
Digger84 is offline   Quote
Old 11-15-2015, 09:11 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
andy05jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Central,Pa
Posts: 743
After reading everything you did to try and get rid of the light. You may have air in a line somewere. Bleeding the lines doesnt take to long and could be a simple fix for your problem.
andy05jeep is offline   Quote
Old 11-15-2015, 09:29 PM
Thread Starter
  #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Digger...are you referring to the nylon switch with two wires? Like a pro portioning valve?
Earll is offline   Quote
Old 11-15-2015, 09:30 PM
Thread Starter
  #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Andy
Will give that a try as well. And your right it really should not take that long!
Earll is offline   Quote
Old 11-15-2015, 09:37 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12,979
Yep if that is the source unplugging will turn off light

Which is also why a bleed may help but unplugging narrows it down real quick
Digger84 is offline   Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 04:24 PM
Thread Starter
  #9
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Ok...Found the switch Digger, and its clipped on like a plastic battery terminal puller. Squeezed and pulled. Nothing let loose. So puled a tad harder, and the boot pulls back, and I see the 2 wires going to the switch, but nothing is releasing. Try harder?!
Earll is offline   Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 05:55 PM   #10
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Down East Maine
Posts: 6
Some switches are actually in contact with brake fluid. Some times moisture gets on the contacts and corrodes them. If that is the case the only way to solve it is to replace it and put fresh fluid through out the system. I agree with disconnecting one wire From each switch to see if it goes out. Also check for some chaffing on the harness as well.
MainelyJeep is offline   Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 10:45 AM
Thread Starter
  #11
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 7
Still cant get the damn think loose, so if all else fails, can I just replace the switch? If so, anybody have a part number?!
Earll is offline   Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 11:09 AM   #12
Mostly old school..!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Water Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Now searching for rocks in Sumner, TX
Posts: 12,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Earll View Post
Still cant get the damn think loose, so if all else fails, can I just replace the switch? If so, anybody have a part number?!
Don't have the part#, but it's called the pressure differential switch.
__________________
Dennis
Water Dog is offline   Quote
Old 01-09-2016, 11:22 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 12,979
You would still have to get the harness plug off the old one to plug it into the new one

Digger84 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.