Free spining lug nuts - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-26-2014, 04:56 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
DeepSouthJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 1,879
Free spining lug nuts

So the idiots at the shop overtightened my lug nuts to the point where it cracked one of my sockets and ended up requiring an impact wrench. Come to find out one of the lug nuts is now free spinning. I guess it's due to being over torqued? Is there any way I could remove it before noon tomorrow? I'm supposed to meet some buddies on the trail tomorrow and would hate for a flat to ruin my time out there.

DeepSouthJeeper is offline   Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 05:12 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
DoubleOught's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nashville GA
Posts: 1,209
Had to get some wheel locks off of an SS Monte Carlo for my oldest son one time. Ended up cutting it with a Dremel tool as deep as I could and then breaking it with a cold chisel and about a 3lb sledge. Was a real PITA and took about an hour a piece but was able to get all 4 off. Think I had to replace 2 of the wheel studs. Might could also drill them out. Definitely will have to replace the stud then.

DoubleOught is offline   Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 07:39 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
DeepSouthJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 1,879
The lug but is on my spare, so I'm considering drilling it out and storing in the back until I can get it replaced.
DeepSouthJeeper is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-26-2014, 11:23 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
jeepwayoflife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: California/Montana
Posts: 3,196
Make sure you have a word with the shop manager when you finally get it off...
__________________
--------------------------------------------------------
jeepwayoflife is offline   Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 04:40 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
NC Bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,187
I'd take it in and make them fix it.
__________________
My daily driver is a 2015 JKU on 35's 4.56 and Trutracs, My trail rig is my 1997 TJ on 35's 4.88 and Trutracs plus a pile of cash....
NC Bear is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.