LIMP Mode continues after tranny rebuild - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-27-2017, 05:04 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
LIMP Mode continues after tranny rebuild

So got my Jeep back last week and it is still doing the LIMP mode (hard downshift and sticking in 2nd) after a $1,908 rebuild. Took it back and it is still pulling the Transmission Controller Fault code P0700. TransMasters said I need a new PCM for $500. I found one on Autozone for $388 but it needs further programming or a flash.

That is the only code, all the internal transmission codes are cleared after the repair.

However, they have been sleezy and I don't think replacing the PCM will fix the issue. Either do my mechanic and Jeep friends. It definitely seems to be electrical but they replaced all the electrical including the solenoids but everything else on my Jeep works fine.

Has anyone had this problem and found a solution?


What if I update my current PCM with a flash? The rest of my jeep is working perfectly fine and obviously the PCM which is the computer controls everything.

Thanks guys!

kp9shred4life is offline   Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 08:05 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 105
We had roughly the same issue. Tranny rebuild on an 04. One issue was that the ECU and TCU weren't speaking due to a shorted wire. Replaced, good connectivity, but now its starting again. Several months later. We needed to replace the TCU. Have two separate pieces since its an 04.

vertrx7 is offline   Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 10:48 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
OldPueblo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Old Pueblo, and the Gulfcoast
Posts: 211
What year is your TJ?

I just put a new PCM in my 2006 LJ.

$1517.33

Worth every penny
OldPueblo is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2017, 04:35 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Wadesboro, NC
Posts: 20
New One here

I had similar problems with my tranny, pulled TCM out, sent to be rebuilt but main CPU was toast. I found 1 in the us that would work for $1,275.00 with all new updated programming and now having no more problems. Good luck.
My tj is an 05 Wrangler X with 4.0 and 42RLE tranny. 127,675 miles.
forace2015 is offline   Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 01:27 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Possum398's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Vancleave, MS
Posts: 19
I had the same issue at first. I had hooked the input and output sensors backwards. I switched the wires and did a quicklearn. It took 2,000 for the 1-2 shift to shift right. Now it works great!
Possum398 is offline   Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 06:58 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13,179
05 has no separate TCM on 05 and 06 auto TCM is integrated into PCM


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

Digger84 is online now   Quote
Reply

Tags
limp , limp mode , limp-in mode

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.