LoPro mount users - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-14-2015, 07:30 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
SLS TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Va.
Posts: 37
LoPro mount users

Saw a related thread but didn't want to hijack. Background, I have an 04 TJ 4.0, manual trans. Gathering parts for a small lift and TT as budget allows. Will be installing a 2" BDS lift. Have M.O.R.E. MML and a Savvy shifter. Have the UCF extra clearance 2" deep skid. Decided on this skid because I planned on using a stock trans mount. Planning a standard SYE rather than a SS SYE, partly for cost and because of issues I have read about with the tone rings and speed converters. Just figured I would stick with whats tried and proven. Now wondering if I should go with a LoPro because of that SYE selection. So my question after all that is just how much vibration and noise does the LoPro transfer. Barely noticeable, or will I feel like I'm sitting on a washing machine?

SLS TJ is offline   Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 07:49 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 182
As far as felt vibration, its not too bad. I have the UCF 2 inch skid as well and a SYE installed. I decided to keep the lo pro mount when I installed the SYE because without it the shifter was really close to the dash in 1st,3d and 5th gear and my 4wd linkage would need adjustment.. The lopro brought it back to where it should be.

05redTJ is offline   Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 08:04 PM   #3
Mostly old school..!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Water Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Now searching for rocks in Sumner, TX
Posts: 12,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLS TJ View Post
Saw a related thread but didn't want to hijack. Background, I have an 04 TJ 4.0, manual trans. Gathering parts for a small lift and TT as budget allows. Will be installing a 2" BDS lift. Have M.O.R.E. MML and a Savvy shifter. Have the UCF extra clearance 2" deep skid. Decided on this skid because I planned on using a stock trans mount. Planning a standard SYE rather than a SS SYE, partly for cost and because of issues I have read about with the tone rings and speed converters. Just figured I would stick with whats tried and proven. Now wondering if I should go with a LoPro because of that SYE selection. So my question after all that is just how much vibration and noise does the LoPro transfer. Barely noticeable, or will I feel like I'm sitting on a washing machine?
If you are only lifting 2" you shouldn't need a lopro at all. I have a 4" suspension lift and run a JB super short sye with a 1" mml and a UCF Ultra high clearance skid on my stock mount with no issues at all. I have had no issues with the tone ring and installed a Speedohealer to take care of the speedometer calibration for the gearing and tires which is really nice because when I went from 33's to 35's, all I had to do was to press a couple of buttons to recalibrate the speedo again.
__________________
Dennis
Water Dog is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2015, 08:09 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
FireMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Forest Grove, OR
Posts: 669
We have a very reputable jeep fabricator in my area that will not touch a LoPro mount with a ten foot pole!

He claims they tear through the bushings and transmit vibrations. They are advertised to transmit vibrations from UCF themselves.

At the same time I have many friends that are “new” to jeeps and run this with no complaints. But, they all have less than 5 years in the jeep world, the jeep fabricator I am referring to has 25+ years building jeeps.

I won’t buy one. I will just use the stock mounts.
__________________
98 Jeep TJ, 30/44, ARB's F/R, 4.88's, 4.0L/AX-15, 35" MTR's, Currie CurrectLync, 3" SL, 1" BL.
FireMike is offline   Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 05:26 PM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper
 
SLS TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Va.
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Water Dog View Post
If you are only lifting 2" you shouldn't need a lopro at all. I have a 4" suspension lift and run a JB super short sye with a 1" mml and a UCF Ultra high clearance skid on my stock mount with no issues at all. I have had no issues with the tone ring and installed a Speedohealer to take care of the speedometer calibration for the gearing and tires which is really nice because when I went from 33's to 35's, all I had to do was to press a couple of buttons to recalibrate the speedo again.
Well if you can run 4"s of lift and a stock mount, then I see no reason I should need a lopro. Think I can get by with sticking the skid on with a stock mount and the stock driveshaft before lifting it? I hope to get all the parts gathered pretty soon, but until then, I sure would like to clean up that belly area. Seems it would be pretty much the same as the 2" lift and a stock skid? I already have the MML on.
SLS TJ is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.