new motor new troubles, need help - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-25-2014, 09:55 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
new motor new troubles, need help

just replaced the motor on an 02 jeep wrangler,that has the 4.0, just put a jasper motor in it and i have everything plugged in correctly, and it is getting fuel and fire to the engine, it just seems like its out of time really bad and i don't know how to fix it, and i just replaced the crank sensor. it also won't crank over in park but cranks over just fine in neutral. anybody have a problem like this or know how to fix it?

collateral is offline   Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 10:08 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,958
Did you install the camshaft position sensor yourself?

tangofox007 is offline   Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 10:08 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
muddracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 83
I dont know bout the out of time but the not starting in park sounds like a neutral safety switch isn't adjusted right idk where it is located on yours
muddracer is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2014, 10:17 PM
Thread Starter
  #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
i didn't replace the camshaft position sensor i changed the crank position sensor and yea i replaced it myself
collateral is offline   Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 10:24 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Zeraybah Baba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 205
Did you make sure the harmonic balancer is set at the correct position for top dead center on the pistons?
Zeraybah Baba is offline   Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 10:32 PM
Thread Starter
  #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
yea i made sure the harmonic balancer is in the right position
collateral is offline   Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 10:40 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by collateral View Post
i didn't replace the camshaft position sensor i changed the crank position sensor and yea i replaced it myself
So...who did install the camshaft position sensor?
tangofox007 is offline   Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 10:47 PM
Thread Starter
  #8
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4
i did install the camshaft position sensor too but i just replaced the crank position sensor
collateral is offline   Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 10:50 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by collateral View Post
i did install the camshaft position sensor too but i just replaced the crank position sensor
When you installed the camshaft position sensor, are you sure that the crankshaft was at TDC on the compression stroke for piston #1?

tangofox007 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.