"No fuse"? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-27-2014, 06:32 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
"No fuse"?

HIt a huge pot hole on my way home from work last night. Radio stopped working immediately. Dash lights still work but when the doors are open the interior lights don't work now. Odometer flashes no fuse? 10amp access fuse blown and blows instantly when you try yo put a new one in. Anybody ever had this? Any direction to start looking for the short? Thanks

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3711159208.jpg
Views:	209
Size:	145.7 KB
ID:	1431593  
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 06:37 PM   #2
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Sinister6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 9,574
Check battery connections for loose or corroded terminals. The check relays to make sure they're seated properly, same with fuses. Good luck.

__________________
John
The Wolf is not concerned with the opinion of sheep.
MY BUILD: :
https://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/s...ad-235526.html
Sinister6 is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 07:37 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
Yea those are all fine. It's in that accessory circuit. Open short somewhere. Has to be somewhere behind the dash in thinking? Hoping someone else had a similar problem.
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2014, 07:47 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Neil F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 6,886
It's one of the fuses in the PDB under the hood. I forget which one. Type no fuse in the search. That's how I found the fuse when I shorted a courtesy light doing some work
__________________
2003 TJ, 33" BFG AT, 2" BL, 2" BDS spring lift, Truck Lite headlights, Homemade sunrider top.
Neil F. is offline   Quote
Old 08-27-2014, 08:09 PM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
Yea I found the fuse. It's the 10amp access fuse under the hood. Just not sure where it's shorted.
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 06:52 PM
Thread Starter
  #6
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
Anybody know where I can get wiring diagrams?
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 08:13 PM   #7
Jeeper

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SE Minnesota
Posts: 1,681
That must be fuse #17, the Ignition Off Draw (IOD) fuse. It feeds the underhood light, dome light, courtesy lights, radio and instrument cluster.

Eliminate all of the load on#17 and add them back one-by-one. Unplug the underhood light, turn off the radio, and close the doors. With the ignition OFF, replace fuse #17. See if it blows immediately. If not, open the door. Still OK? Start the engine. Still OK? Turn on the radio.

If you have anything connected to the OnBoard Diagnostics (OBD) port, remove it first.

The reason for the NO FUSE message is because the factory ships the Jeep with that fuse pulled to prevent battery drain. It's a reminder to put the fuse in.

http://www.jeep4x4center.com/knowled...ex.htm#service
OldJeepDude is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 08:19 PM   #8
Mostly old school..!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Water Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Now searching for rocks in Sumner, TX
Posts: 12,149
Put a meter on that fuse or replace it. Don't trust just looking at it.
__________________
Dennis
Water Dog is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 08:26 PM   #9
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,920
FWIW did similar thing a few years ago when adding sound bar or heated seats (IDK which one)...and yes one of the wires was bare and shorting to the tub. Hate to say it but probably same thing. If radio is not stock I would check there first....GOOD LUCK!!
jp2611 is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2014, 09:28 PM
Thread Starter
  #10
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
Checked all radio connections. All good back there. Fuse blows immediately with no key in ignition. Looks like I have a long weekend of wire tracing ahead. Ugh.
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 08:07 AM   #11
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,920
Might be a little obvious....and no guarantee this logic is correct...and in light of nothing wrong with radio and it as my first suggestion...really makes me dumb........but anyway.
Since fuse blows as soon as it is inserted, with or without Key, that leads me to believe that it is a circuit that is always "live" given the list earlier in this thread it doesn't leave too many to check. Dome lights, under hood light.

I thought I had received a FSM from another Forum member but I am unable to find it on the computer at this time......you might be able to search for it under thread searches. It has the wiring diagram in it.
jp2611 is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 09:59 AM   #12
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Amherst
Posts: 160
Free online fsm here

http://www.jeep4x4center.com/knowled...ex.htm#service

Cheers and good luck
571129 is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 10:17 AM   #13
Mostly old school..!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Water Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Now searching for rocks in Sumner, TX
Posts: 12,149
The dome, courtesy, and instrument/radio lights are fed by a pink/white wire from the pdc. It goes from the pdc in the harness around the back side of the battery, then there is a splice off for the under hood light. There is a black connector at the left kick panel that the pink/white passes through. I would disconnect there and see if it still blows the fuse. If not, the issue is inside. If so, the issue is most likely under the hood. We fixed one recently where a new battery had been sat on top of the wiring harness and broke the pink/white.
__________________
Dennis
Water Dog is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 11:57 AM
Thread Starter
  #14
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
Is it weird my instrument cluster lights and hvac back lights still work?
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 01:03 PM   #15
Jeeper

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SE Minnesota
Posts: 1,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by PantherWingsfan View Post
Is it weird my instrument cluster lights and hvac back lights still work?
Nope. Different circuit.
__________________
-O|||||||O-
OldJeepDude is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 04:29 PM
Thread Starter
  #16
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
Under hood light is gone. Just the connector remains. Previous owner must have removed it. Wiring looks fine to that point. Headed home to dig a little deeper.
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 04:46 PM   #17
Mostly old school..!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Water Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Now searching for rocks in Sumner, TX
Posts: 12,149
The instrument cluster lights are on a different circuit, but the gauges themselves get B+ voltage from the same circuit as the dome lights. Do the gauges work?
__________________
Dennis
Water Dog is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 05:11 PM
Thread Starter
  #18
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
Yea they work.
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 05:14 PM
Thread Starter
  #19
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
Now I'm just confused. Unplugged both radio harness. Installed fuse, didn't blow. Plugged both harnesses back in, didn't blow. Everything works again. Wth?
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 05:18 PM   #20
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,920
am back to thinkin somethin rotten in radio/ radio harness......
jp2611 is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 05:35 PM   #21
Jeeper

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SE Minnesota
Posts: 1,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by jp2611 View Post
am back to thinkin somethin rotten in radio/ radio harness......
Sounds like it. Did it sound like anything was loose and rattling in the radio?

if it's still apart, see if anything could be rubbing against the radio ground strap.
__________________
-O|||||||O-
OldJeepDude is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 05:40 PM   #22
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,920
Even though the radio isn't LIVE all the time...it does have power for the clock and memory of stations etc......might check that wire/ wiring first
jp2611 is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 05:47 PM
Thread Starter
  #23
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
All the wiring is in good shape. I soldered and heat shrink wrapped all the wires when I installed the stereo a month ago. Ran a new ground, still secure. No clue! It was blowing the fuse instantly now it's fine? Not putting back together yet. Something has to be loose somewhere. That pot hole I hit was huge. Something somewhere has to be bare or something.
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 05:49 PM   #24
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,920
saw/ reading now heat shrinked wires....any chance you cut original harness? or did you get the plug adapter for your head unit to your Jeep?
jp2611 is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 05:53 PM
Thread Starter
  #25
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
Plug in unit from crutchfield.
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 05:58 PM   #26
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,920
well scratch that obvious idea...still stumped like everyone else............
jp2611 is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 06:01 PM
Thread Starter
  #27
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
Yea I don't get what changed. There has to be a bare wire that was making them blow instantly that moved off of metal, for now. Right???
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 06:07 PM   #28
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by PantherWingsfan View Post
Yea I don't get what changed. There has to be a bare wire that was making them blow instantly that moved off of metal, for now. Right???
Only reasonable explanation IMO...any chance a wire could have pulled loose in either end of radio harness? Or old factory wire harness? Wouldn't have to come clear out if it is "grounding" to another wire in the Harness.......not trying to send you on wild goose chase trying to help you think it through....
jp2611 is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 06:22 PM
Thread Starter
  #29
Jeeper
 
PantherWingsfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Lake Orion
Posts: 292
Will check that for sure. Thanks for trying to help out. Appreciate it!
PantherWingsfan is offline   Quote
Old 01-19-2016, 08:36 PM   #30
Jeeper
 
raif281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Norco, LA
Posts: 2,310
bump to hopefully fix mine tomorrow

raif281 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.