Off-Road Lights to Factory Switch HELP - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-22-2016, 08:16 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Toycollector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bluffton SC
Posts: 77
Off-Road Lights to Factory Switch HELP

I am wanting to replace my factory fog lights on my 04 TJ with KC Pro-Sport LED lights while retaining the factory switch on the blinker stalk. I already have the lights wired to the battery (as KC recommends) but how do I properly connect to the factory switch? I know that the factory wiring also powers the lights at a low wattage and goes through the Jeep's electronic system. I have already done the hack for the fog lights to remain on with the high beams. Thanks

Toycollector is offline   Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 08:30 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
jjvw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,658
How many watts are your KCs? My Chinese LEDs each pull 7 watts compared to the factory's 55 watts each. I Just wired them directly to the factory wiring.


__________________
2003 Rubicon
jjvw is offline   Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 08:49 PM   #3
Mostly old school..!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Water Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Now searching for rocks in Sumner, TX
Posts: 12,149
If your new lights total no more than 55 watts each, you can wire them directly to the existing fog light wires.

If they total more than that, use the KC relay and wiring info and wire the existing wire to your existing fog lights to terminal 86 on the relay instead of bringing it from the kc switch.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	relay-diagram_zps51827dc5.gif
Views:	351
Size:	17.8 KB
ID:	2909625   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fog Light Sw Tie In.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	2909633  

__________________
Dennis
Water Dog is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2016, 09:24 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 174
The LEDs should run fine with your factory wiring. There is already a relay in that system.
DCLXVI is offline   Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 09:48 PM   #5
Mostly old school..!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Water Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Now searching for rocks in Sumner, TX
Posts: 12,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCLXVI View Post
The LEDs should run fine with your factory wiring. There is already a relay in that system.
Having a relay in the existing circuit is not the issue. The circuit still has to be sized for the load...fuse and wire size. Some led light bars pull more amps than the stock fogs. The existing wire size in the stock system is only 18 gauge. As mentioned above, if you're running more than a pair of 55 watt lights, use the kc relay, if not, you can wire direct safely.
__________________
Dennis
Water Dog is offline   Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 10:09 PM
Thread Starter
  #6
Jeeper
 
Toycollector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bluffton SC
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Water Dog View Post
Having a relay in the existing circuit is not the issue. The circuit still has to be sized for the load...fuse and wire size. Some led light bars pull more amps than the stock fogs. The existing wire size in the stock system is only 18 gauge. As mentioned above, if you're running more than a pair of 55 watt lights, use the kc relay, if not, you can wire direct safely.
Thanks for the help. I believe the wattage is 55 watts on the new lights. KC tech support said to definitely wire to the battery, however they couldn't advise on using the factory switch. To be safe I am going to wire to the battery.

I'm confused, do I have to add a relay or simply connect the KC wires that were intended for the KC switch to the factory wires located in the front fender? The power wire going to the battery has a 20A fuse.

Thanks again
Toycollector is offline   Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 10:13 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
jjvw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toycollector View Post
Thanks for the help. I believe the wattage is 55 watts on the new lights.
...
Are these them?
KC HILITES | Pro-Sport with Gravity LED G6 Pair Pack System
__________________
2003 Rubicon
jjvw is offline   Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 11:42 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 174
If you're going to use the KC relay then use the power wire that was going to the factory lights to trigger the relay.
DCLXVI is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 07:00 AM
Thread Starter
  #9
Jeeper
 
Toycollector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bluffton SC
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjvw View Post
Yes, those are the lights. I know a lot of people suggest simply connecting to the factory wiring, however, in the past I have not gotten the proper performance. Previously I had tried Hella 500's and it appeared that they did not get enough power
Toycollector is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 08:02 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
jjvw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,658
FWIW, those are 20 watts each.
__________________
2003 Rubicon
jjvw is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 08:11 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
CzerOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Bedford, NS
Posts: 446
I would use the factory wiring to the fog lights to trigger the KC Relay instead of the switch it came with.
__________________
2003 TJ Sport
BDS|WARN|JKS|MOTIVE|COOPER|PROCOMP|BESTOP|TERAFLEX |SMITTYBILT|TOMWOODS|G2|RUGGEDRIDGE
CzerOne is offline   Quote
Old 03-23-2016, 09:20 AM   #12
Mostly old school..!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Water Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Now searching for rocks in Sumner, TX
Posts: 12,149
Those are low enough wattage, that you can wire them directly to the existing fog wires if you want. If you want to power them from the battery, you will have to buy a relay to allow your existing circuit to trigger it. The set in the link above does not come with a relay.

If you do buy a relay, wire it like the drawing in my first post.

__________________
Dennis
Water Dog is offline   Quote
Reply

Tags
fog lamps , off road lights , wiring

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.