P0432 code - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-19-2011, 10:14 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
jkics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hattiesburg
Posts: 79
Send a message via Yahoo to jkics
P0432 code

I recently had one of the o2 sensors replaced cause it was blowing the fuse. Im thinking it was the last one in line. Now from time to time I get P0432 code. Any connection? any ideas? I read somewhere that the first sensor is older than the last one, maybe the cause. Hope im making sense !!

jkics is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 10:30 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
TnDz TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,925
Code P0432 indicates that the Bank 2 Main Catalytic Converter emissions efficiency has fallen below the minimum allowable limit. This threshold is tracked by the Oxygen Sensor located on or near the outlet of the Catalytic Converter.

This code refers to the BANK 2 DOWNSTREAM O2 sensor...

BANK 1 is cylinders #1, 2 and 3.... BANK 2 is #4,5 and 6...

There are 4 O2 sensors total...

BANK 1 UPSTREAM
BANK 1 DOWNSTREAM
BANK 2 UPSTREAM
BANK 2 DOWNSTREAM


Hope this helps you out... I'm going thru the SAME THING right now... if not the O2(s) ... then the CAT is shot, which means a new downpipe for abut $350 at Rock Auto (Cheapest I have found). It replaces both BANK 1 and BANK 2 cats at the same time.

__________________
~Todd~ 2004 X 4.0 5 speed---SOLD
4" Lift, 4.56's, 33" Duratracs on M/T Classics
RR SYE, Tatton CV, MML, BL, TT, Dynomax Exhaust
Hella Lighting: Driving, Fogs and H4 E-Codes
NOPE! ... and NEVER will be...
TnDz TJ is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 10:32 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
wwch99tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Felton Delaware
Posts: 5,291
Better answer ^^
wwch99tj is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-19-2011, 10:55 AM
Thread Starter
  #4
Jeeper
 
jkics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hattiesburg
Posts: 79
Send a message via Yahoo to jkics
the o2 sensor that we replaced is on the bottom side of the cats and i remember something about bank 2, so im thinking we replaced the downstream bank 2.
jkics is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 04:11 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
TnDz TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,925
After you changed the O2 on BANK 2 DOWNSTREAM, did you go back and clear your codes? If so... and you are still getting the CEL, rescan your Jeep, it may be something else triggering the CEL.
__________________
~Todd~ 2004 X 4.0 5 speed---SOLD
4" Lift, 4.56's, 33" Duratracs on M/T Classics
RR SYE, Tatton CV, MML, BL, TT, Dynomax Exhaust
Hella Lighting: Driving, Fogs and H4 E-Codes
NOPE! ... and NEVER will be...
TnDz TJ is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 04:39 PM
Thread Starter
  #6
Jeeper
 
jkics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hattiesburg
Posts: 79
Send a message via Yahoo to jkics
It has been cleared, I have a little pocket sized tester. It will throw this code about every 3-4 days after I clear it out. I also been getting p0122 and p0123. I have that sensor (TPS) but have not installed it yet. Anyway, everything it throw a code i clear it after i see what it is.
jkics is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 04:43 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
TnDz TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,925
Change out your TPS (P0122 and P0123)... It's going out slowly with intermitten internal connection. I can't remember the exact size, but its a torx bit. 2 screws and a plug. Clear your codes again and drive it like you stole it.
__________________
~Todd~ 2004 X 4.0 5 speed---SOLD
4" Lift, 4.56's, 33" Duratracs on M/T Classics
RR SYE, Tatton CV, MML, BL, TT, Dynomax Exhaust
Hella Lighting: Driving, Fogs and H4 E-Codes
NOPE! ... and NEVER will be...
TnDz TJ is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 04:52 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 2,310
If you are getting a catalyst efficiency code it's because you need a new catalytic converter. This code can't set unless the O2 sensors are working properly because it is set when the downstream sensor is reading the same as the upstream. There are separate O2 sensor codes to indicate when they aren't working correctly.

The good news is that you might get your catalyst replaced under warranty. They are warranted for 8 years or 80,000 miles.
__________________
2012 Silver Sport S, Silver, 6 speed, soft top, 3.73s, LSD, PCG, Infiniti, deep tint windows, Pro Comp 1028 wheels, 33" Duratracs, Smittybilt bumpers and steps, KC fog lights, Mopar slush mats and fuel door.

Happiness is a belt fed weapon.
oilwell1415 is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 04:53 PM
Thread Starter
  #9
Jeeper
 
jkics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hattiesburg
Posts: 79
Send a message via Yahoo to jkics
Thanks for the info !!
jkics is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 05:52 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
TnDz TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,925
If the O2 is bad, or not reading correctly you can still get this error IIRC...
__________________
~Todd~ 2004 X 4.0 5 speed---SOLD
4" Lift, 4.56's, 33" Duratracs on M/T Classics
RR SYE, Tatton CV, MML, BL, TT, Dynomax Exhaust
Hella Lighting: Driving, Fogs and H4 E-Codes
NOPE! ... and NEVER will be...
TnDz TJ is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 06:14 PM
Thread Starter
  #11
Jeeper
 
jkics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hattiesburg
Posts: 79
Send a message via Yahoo to jkics
It has 102 k miles so that's out
jkics is offline   Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 08:02 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 2,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by TnDz TJ View Post
If the O2 is bad, or not reading correctly you can still get this error IIRC...
Only if both sensors on one bank are failed in the same way and it isn't a way that causes an O2 code. What are the chances of that?
__________________
2012 Silver Sport S, Silver, 6 speed, soft top, 3.73s, LSD, PCG, Infiniti, deep tint windows, Pro Comp 1028 wheels, 33" Duratracs, Smittybilt bumpers and steps, KC fog lights, Mopar slush mats and fuel door.

Happiness is a belt fed weapon.
oilwell1415 is offline   Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 07:23 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
TnDz TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,925
wishful thinking, I guess... I don't want to shell out for a new downpipe.... I have WANTS that are more important than needs... lol
__________________
~Todd~ 2004 X 4.0 5 speed---SOLD
4" Lift, 4.56's, 33" Duratracs on M/T Classics
RR SYE, Tatton CV, MML, BL, TT, Dynomax Exhaust
Hella Lighting: Driving, Fogs and H4 E-Codes
NOPE! ... and NEVER will be...
TnDz TJ is offline   Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 12:09 PM
Thread Starter
  #14
Jeeper
 
jkics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hattiesburg
Posts: 79
Send a message via Yahoo to jkics
would a loose downpipe cause the sensor to throw a code?
jkics is offline   Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 02:07 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 166
I wondered the same as I get the Bank 1 error every few months. Both O2 sensors were replaced. When I changed the oil this last time, I noticed the fitting at the header was loose. Tightened it up, waiting to see what happens.

T

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkics View Post
would a loose downpipe cause the sensor to throw a code?
__________________
97 TJ 2.5l, 5spd. 2" BB, TeraFlex VS9550 Shocks, Hella 550s. Hard top, Safari top.
swkenobi is offline   Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 05:00 PM
Thread Starter
  #16
Jeeper
 
jkics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hattiesburg
Posts: 79
Send a message via Yahoo to jkics
Found that all the bolts on the manifold were loose. Got them tightened down cleared the codes went mud riding and played around. Still no new codes. Maybe that fixed it.
jkics is offline   Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 03:51 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
TnDz TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,925
As soon as I get time... I will check my manifold bolts. Then, if nothing has changed.... I'm gonna swap the O2 sensors so bank 1 read on bank 2 and bank 2 on bank one... clear the codes and see when happens then.

If the code doesn't change... I know theO2's are bad... if I get different code for bank 1 ( actually reading bank 2) I know the cat is bad....
__________________
~Todd~ 2004 X 4.0 5 speed---SOLD
4" Lift, 4.56's, 33" Duratracs on M/T Classics
RR SYE, Tatton CV, MML, BL, TT, Dynomax Exhaust
Hella Lighting: Driving, Fogs and H4 E-Codes
NOPE! ... and NEVER will be...
TnDz TJ is offline   Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:47 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
arizonawrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 20
I just threw the PO 432 code today--first time the check engine light has came on. Thanks to this forum I tighten all the bolts, cleared the code and will wait to see what comes about!

It is great learning from others experiences.
__________________
More things almost happen than really do.
arizonawrangler is offline   Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 03:36 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
arizonawrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 20
PO432--no issues after code reset

After waiting for about 45 days for the check engine light to return it has not. And no performance issues.

I am officially putting my PO432 code concerns to bed (for now).
__________________
More things almost happen than really do.
arizonawrangler is offline   Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 07:00 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
K.wag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Roseburg, Oregon
Posts: 1,022
I had this code thrown, and based on this post, i first checked the bolts on the exhaust manifold and sure enough the two on bank two were loose.

Forum solution successful!

Although, one of them might be stripped, if the other doesn't hold, i might have to yank them (and/or the manifold too) and replace them.
K.wag is offline   Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 09:10 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
vertical horizons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 2,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkics View Post
... It will throw this code about every 3-4 days after I clear it out...
How do you clear the codes?
__________________
2003 Wrangler Sahara, 4.0L, Automatic, Stock, Full Metal Doors, Half Doors, Running 31x10.50x15s
vertical horizons is offline   Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 09:19 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13,017
I use the ultra guage it even alerts for pending codes before your CEL comes on

Digger84 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBDII Code 2096 Marnix TJ General Discussion Forum 8 08-02-2014 09:11 PM
code po432 robs04wrangler TJ Tech Forum 15 11-16-2013 10:29 AM
check engine light code p0432 sport01 TJ Tech Forum 2 08-28-2010 01:35 PM
2.5L with code P0132, poor idle, lacks power nittanylns TJ Tech Forum 13 08-06-2010 09:45 PM
P0700 code, what to do and why only this code? Dixit TJ General Discussion Forum 18 07-10-2010 12:31 PM





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.