Subwoofer Using Stock Amplifier - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-24-2015, 11:55 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
TheCheapTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ithaca
Posts: 48
Subwoofer Using Stock Amplifier

I was wondering if there is a forum link or someone who knows how to do this i am getting a sub from a friend at school that is already in an enclosure and I would like to know if anyone has information about this it would be great.
Yes i did use the search future.

__________________
99 Chili Pepper Red TJ
My build thread:https://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/ch...g-1081162.html
J.E.E.P
"Just Empty Every Pocket"
TheCheapTJ is offline   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 12:01 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Westchester, IL
Posts: 6,209
no, you can not power an external sub off of the factory deck.

Ironhead Jed is online now   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 12:03 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
TheCheapTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ithaca
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironhead Jed View Post
no, you can not power an external sub off of the factory deck.
Would I be able to get a cheap amp somewhere?
__________________
99 Chili Pepper Red TJ
My build thread:https://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/ch...g-1081162.html
J.E.E.P
"Just Empty Every Pocket"
TheCheapTJ is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-24-2015, 12:14 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Westchester, IL
Posts: 6,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCheapTJ View Post
Would I be able to get a cheap amp somewhere?
sure, but what are you going to hook it up to?

the oem radio doesnt have RCA outputs for a sub. you'll need a new deck and an amp. if you go cheap on the amp and like bass, it will overheat rapidly and cut out until it cools off
Ironhead Jed is online now   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 01:00 PM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper
 
TheCheapTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ithaca
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironhead Jed View Post
sure, but what are you going to hook it up to? the oem radio doesnt have RCA outputs for a sub. you'll need a new deck and an amp. if you go cheap on the amp and like bass, it will overheat rapidly and cut out until it cools off
Okay so I guess I'll get decent amp and head unit to run my sub thanks man
__________________
99 Chili Pepper Red TJ
My build thread:https://www.wranglerforum.com/f322/ch...g-1081162.html
J.E.E.P
"Just Empty Every Pocket"
TheCheapTJ is offline   Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 02:53 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Neil F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 6,886
You can get a amp that uses speaker level input from the stock radio.

__________________
2003 TJ, 33" BFG AT, 2" BL, 2" BDS spring lift, Truck Lite headlights, Homemade sunrider top.
Neil F. is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.