Transmission light - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-15-2015, 06:28 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
CoyRoberson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Imperial Beach
Posts: 675
Transmission light

Changed my t-stat today. Housing and all. Even the heater hose. Started it up, now the tranny light is on. Thoughts?

__________________
"Doxy"

2000 TJ Sport I6 NV3550, 33x12.5 Mickey Thomson Baja MTZs, Zone 3", Metalcloak trackbar and full control arms, Warn VR10000.
CoyRoberson is offline   Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 08:03 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
2004jeeptj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoyRoberson View Post
Changed my t-stat today. Housing and all. Even the heater hose. Started it up, now the tranny light is on. Thoughts?
Do you mean check engine light?

2004jeeptj is offline   Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 08:21 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
CoyRoberson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Imperial Beach
Posts: 675
Holy cow. I had a massive brain fart. 20000 things going at once. Yea. Check engine light. Sorry. Lol
__________________
"Doxy"

2000 TJ Sport I6 NV3550, 33x12.5 Mickey Thomson Baja MTZs, Zone 3", Metalcloak trackbar and full control arms, Warn VR10000.
CoyRoberson is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-15-2015, 10:29 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
2004jeeptj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoyRoberson View Post
Holy cow. I had a massive brain fart. 20000 things going at once. Yea. Check engine light. Sorry. Lol
I think the odometer trick does not work with that year. You will have to get the code scanned to see what it is.
2004jeeptj is offline   Quote
Old 03-16-2015, 04:20 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
DaJeepNotCheap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hilo, HI
Posts: 646
double check that you didn't bend the prongs on the temp sensor when it was reconnected to the pigtail. it could also mean that the sensor is bad. good luck and keep us in the loop if you could.
DaJeepNotCheap is offline   Quote
Old 03-16-2015, 04:36 AM
Thread Starter
  #6
Jeeper
 
CoyRoberson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Imperial Beach
Posts: 675
I did notice that the clip that hold the connector to the sensor is broken. Is there a place to buy just the black plastic connector?
__________________
"Doxy"

2000 TJ Sport I6 NV3550, 33x12.5 Mickey Thomson Baja MTZs, Zone 3", Metalcloak trackbar and full control arms, Warn VR10000.
CoyRoberson is offline   Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 08:03 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
DaJeepNotCheap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hilo, HI
Posts: 646
well as long as it'll hold 2lbs if you were to pull on it, you should be fine. the main thing is the prongs on the sensor are going into the pigtail.

did the CEL come on the minute you started the engine or did it take a period of a day or more before it appeared?

maybe you can give us some background/insight? mileage, reason for changing t-stat and housing, hoses, etc.

could always get a basic scanner. i picked one up from oreilly's for $70 (Bosch OBD1000). basic, but pulls codes when CEL is on. i bought an INNOVA 3130c w/ Fix Assist for $180. best thing i ever bought
DaJeepNotCheap is offline   Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 05:40 PM
Thread Starter
  #8
Jeeper
 
CoyRoberson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Imperial Beach
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaJeepNotCheap View Post
well as long as it'll hold 2lbs if you were to pull on it, you should be fine. the main thing is the prongs on the sensor are going into the pigtail. did the CEL come on the minute you started the engine or did it take a period of a day or more before it appeared? maybe you can give us some background/insight? mileage, reason for changing t-stat and housing, hoses, etc. could always get a basic scanner. i picked one up from oreilly's for $70 (Bosch OBD1000). basic, but pulls codes when CEL is on. i bought an INNOVA 3130c w/ Fix Assist for $180. best thing i ever bought
The CEL light came on right after I changed my T-Stat and the reason I changed it was because the dash was reading 225ish degrees.

I did figure out what it was. The reason the dash was reading high was because the coolant temp sensor was bad. Fixed it. And the CEL was because I had a misfire on cylinders 1, 2, 3, AND 4. New plugs, and I was good to go! I'm guessing coolant ran down and seeped into the threads of the plug?
__________________
"Doxy"

2000 TJ Sport I6 NV3550, 33x12.5 Mickey Thomson Baja MTZs, Zone 3", Metalcloak trackbar and full control arms, Warn VR10000.
CoyRoberson is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 07:17 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
DaJeepNotCheap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hilo, HI
Posts: 646
well, that sucks. that antifreeze'll mess you up if you get it on anything. i did a CPS on a G35 Infinity because of that...water hose popped and sprayed coolant all over and smoked the sensor. glad everything worked out ok though.

DaJeepNotCheap is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.