Whos upgraded there headlight wiring? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Tech Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Jerry Bransford
  • 1 Post By Jerry Bransford
  • 1 Post By Jerry Bransford
  • 1 Post By 1jeeplvr
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-01-2017, 09:23 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
1jeeplvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 5,092
Whos upgraded there headlight wiring?

I put H8 bulbs/housings in but seems to still have a orangeish tint. Has anyone upgraded the wiring with a noticeable improvement?

__________________
“We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come from getting something that we don’t have, it comes from recognizing and appreciating what we do have.
1jeeplvr is offline   Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 09:56 PM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 48,650
What is the wattage rating of the new bulbs? Have you cleaned and tightened the connectors and the black ground wire's connection where it is screwed to the tub next to the headlight?
olysteve likes this.

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 08:46 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
C.J. Roberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 713
I'm running 100/90 watt H-4 bulbs in the Muddog on factory wiring with no problem. The factory wires are 14 gauge, which is rated for far higher wattage than that.
__________________
Let's be honest here. Jeeps,are utilitarian and temperamental, crude, loud, rough, cramped, bad on gas, impractical, but they are capable off road and a hell of a lot of fun to drive!
C.J. Roberts is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-02-2017, 03:01 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Federal Way Washington
Posts: 103
As Jerry said, check your grounds. If that doesn't work try running a ground wire all the way to the main ground point on the engine block.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
olysteve is offline   Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 06:03 PM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
1jeeplvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 5,092
Thanks guys. Ill check the ground. Jerry ,not sure of the wattage, ill have to research it.The headlights were a gift.
__________________
“We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come from getting something that we don’t have, it comes from recognizing and appreciating what we do have.
1jeeplvr is offline   Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 07:20 PM   #6
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 48,650
Without knowing their wattage it's impossible to know if your wiring is responsible for the dim light output. Make sure to check the connector for corrosion/dirt in addition to the ground connection at the tub.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 07:25 PM
Thread Starter
  #7
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
1jeeplvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 5,092
55W-60W is what they are showing.
__________________
“We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come from getting something that we don’t have, it comes from recognizing and appreciating what we do have.
1jeeplvr is offline   Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 07:50 PM   #8
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 48,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1jeeplvr View Post
55W-60W is what they are showing.
Ok good, that is essentially the same wattage as the OE 55 watt headlights. Based on that wattage there's no real need to upgrade the wiring harness since the OE wire gauge, when it's in good condition, is more than large enough for the current 55-60 watt bulbs draw.

So if those lights are not putting out white light, they're not getting the full 12 volts which can be caused by either a bad connector, a bad ground, or perhaps the headlight wiring has been damaged so not all of the strands are intact and able to pass all the amperage the lights require for full brightness.

Someone who knows how to use a volt meter could help isolate the problem.
olysteve likes this.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 07:56 PM
Thread Starter
  #9
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
1jeeplvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 5,092
Thanks Jerry, ill check all that. I'm a believer in load testing the circuit, not just checking for 12v.Been burned before
__________________
“We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come from getting something that we don’t have, it comes from recognizing and appreciating what we do have.
1jeeplvr is offline   Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 08:01 PM   #10
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 48,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1jeeplvr View Post
Thanks Jerry, ill check all that. I'm a believer in load testing the circuit, not just checking for 12v.Been burned before
Load testing uses a volt meter to see what the voltage is with the light's electrical load on the circuit. Just measure what the bulbs are getting when they're on. That'll tell you if you have a bad connection or bad wire. With a fully-charged battery without the engine running they should be getting at or very close to 12.6 volts. With the engine running somewhere closer to 13.6.

But before doing anything like measuring the voltage I'd clean the black ground wire's connection where it attaches to the tub and remove/reseat the headlight connector a few times to help clean up possible corrosion or dirt inside the connector.
olysteve likes this.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 12:00 AM   #11
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
SilverTJMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Boulder,CO
Posts: 453
I have upgraded my wiring, I also upgraded to Cibies and H4's. Yes, a noticeable difference. I'll defer to daniel stern on the voltages but from what I remember you did not get full voltage of the stock wiring.

Daniel Stern Lighting Consultancy and Supply and the writeup I followed, Jeep Articles / Technical and Installation (Headlight Wiring Harness) - MoabJeeper Magazine

My writeup is pretty similar, https://mikeofallthings.com/tag/jeep-wrangler-tj/
SilverTJMike is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 07:32 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 13,253
Can also have voltage drop at the switch contacts

If voltage is low, relays controlled by old circuit and fused power from battery with quality wiring can be a viable solution and as stated above first ensure good grounds

Having been down this road on several vehicles after cleaning inspecting fixing grounds four relays one for each filament in each bulb has universally solved the issue as especially with higher watt bulbs it also prevents damage/failure of multifunction switch contacts


Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
Digger84 is offline   Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 02:52 PM
Thread Starter
  #13
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
1jeeplvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 5,092
thanks for the input everyone. Hopefully Ill get out to the garage soon so I can update the thread.Hopefully with burned retnas from my bright headlights LOL
olysteve likes this.
__________________
“We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come from getting something that we don’t have, it comes from recognizing and appreciating what we do have.
1jeeplvr is offline   Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 06:14 PM
Thread Starter
  #14
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
1jeeplvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Under my Jeep in beautiful upstate N.Y.
Posts: 5,092
Well Im losing about 1 volt. Even if I put the ground lead right to the battery I still have 1v lost. If I clean the terminals and I still have the loss Ill prob have to update the wiring like SilverTJMike mentioned. And thanks for the links

__________________
“We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come from getting something that we don’t have, it comes from recognizing and appreciating what we do have.
1jeeplvr is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.