Necessary to recalibrate speedometer? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Tires & Wheels

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree7Likes
  • 2 Post By WillyD
  • 1 Post By Silentfoe
  • 1 Post By jadmt
  • 1 Post By jaysong
  • 2 Post By jadmt
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-27-2018, 11:05 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
teach95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 156
Necessary to recalibrate speedometer?

So I upgraded from the stock 245/75/17 tires to 265/70/17 DuraTrac on my JL.

Not much of a difference, but was wondering if it is necessary to recalibrate the speedometer?

teach95 is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 06:17 PM   #2
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Posts: 3,456
Use your phone with a GPS app that has MPH, or there are plenty of MPH only apps out there. 3/4 miles off isn't a big deal. I personally wouldn't sweat it unless 5 + off.
terpsmandan and teach95 like this.

__________________
'14 Willys JK Traded-In \
☻☻☻☻☻☻☻☻☻☻☻☻--- '18 Ram 2500HD CTD
'14 JKU SarahaTraded-In /
WillyD is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 07:08 PM   #3
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 581
You can spend the money on a pro cal and adjust it or you can find someone nearby who has one and buy them a beer to update it for you.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
teach95 likes this.
Silentfoe is online now   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2018, 08:30 PM   #4
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 20,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silentfoe View Post
You can spend the money on a pro cal and adjust it or you can find someone nearby who has one and buy them a beer to update it for you.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
i really doubt that someone will do that as if they do that they have wasted $170 as procal marries to the VIN so if you use your procal on my jeep it will only work on my jeep and not yours. They can be unmarried but will only work on one vehicle at a time and to unmarrie them you have to set the vehicle it was married to back to stock.
teach95 likes this.
__________________
2018 Gobi Recon unlimited W/Mopar 2" lift coils combined with RK rear coils wedges, TF lower control arms, rear TF monster track bar and rear track bar bracket and Falcon 3.1 shocks, Cooper ST Maxx 315/75-17 on AEV Salta rims, Grabars, RE gas skid tank, mopar head liner, Warn VR10 and Maximus3 winch plate.
https://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/y...i-2192385.html
jadmt is online now   Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 08:30 PM   #5
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
jaysong's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Prior Lake
Posts: 1,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silentfoe View Post
You can spend the money on a pro cal and adjust it or you can find someone nearby who has one and buy them a beer to update it for you.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
You can use your Procal to adjust other Vins speedos? Are you sure about that?
Silentfoe likes this.
jaysong is offline   Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 08:32 PM   #6
Moderator

WF Lifetime Member
WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 20,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by teach95 View Post
So I upgraded from the stock 245/75/17 tires to 265/70/17 DuraTrac on my JL.

Not much of a difference, but was wondering if it is necessary to recalibrate the speedometer?
they are almost exactly the same height so you are fine.
https://www.tacomaworld.com/tirecalc...0r17-245-75r17
Jersey Joe and teach95 like this.
__________________
2018 Gobi Recon unlimited W/Mopar 2" lift coils combined with RK rear coils wedges, TF lower control arms, rear TF monster track bar and rear track bar bracket and Falcon 3.1 shocks, Cooper ST Maxx 315/75-17 on AEV Salta rims, Grabars, RE gas skid tank, mopar head liner, Warn VR10 and Maximus3 winch plate.
https://www.wranglerforum.com/f314/y...i-2192385.html
jadmt is online now   Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 09:21 PM   #7
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadmt View Post
i really doubt that someone will do that as if they do that they have wasted $170 as procal marries to the VIN so if you use your procal on my jeep it will only work on my jeep and not yours. They can be unmarried but will only work on one vehicle at a time and to unmarrie them you have to set the vehicle it was married to back to stock.
This is new to me but it makes sense. Thanks.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Silentfoe is online now   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC