Battery Terminal organized help - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Leadnut
  • 1 Post By roots_remain
  • 1 Post By cranbiz
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-23-2020, 07:43 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
safetyman1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 33
Battery Terminal organized help

I have a 2013 JK and need some help organizing my positive battery terminal. What have you guys done? Can you show some pics of yours? I appreciate your help in advance!

safetyman1987 is offline   Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 08:09 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
pkdailey4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Alameda, California
Posts: 751
Following

__________________
Chrysler POS
pkdailey4 is offline   Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 08:13 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 491
How many leads are you talking about needing? I haven’t added this to mine but a simple distribution block setup may be helpful:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07C6483RC..._RqKkEbPQEK7Z5
__________________
2013 Commando Green JKU Sahara, TF 2.5” ST2 lift, Falcon 3.1 shocks, Barricade sliders, LOD Armor-Lite front bumper, BFG A/T KO2’s, Warn VR10-S
BirchyBoy is online now   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-23-2020, 10:45 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Leadnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,453
orlandoTJ likes this.
__________________
2014 JKU Willys 6-spd, RK X-Factor 3.5", Fox Resis, KM3 37s, PR60s, Eaton e-lockers, 5.13, Atlas II 3.8, and another $10K in miscellaneous parts.
Leadnut is online now   Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 08:39 AM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper
 
safetyman1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 33
B.B that was one of my thoughts to add.

Leadnut, I keep seeing that one and is it me or does it look flimsy? How is it holding up for you?

Here is what I am working with right now. I have tried to organize it the best that I could for now. Just would like a clean look overall instead of all these connections on the positive term.

All suggestions are welcome
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200121_153558.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	232.6 KB
ID:	4197747  
safetyman1987 is offline   Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 08:45 AM   #6
Moderator

5-Year WF Supporting Member
WF Lifetime Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Clear Spring, Md
Posts: 4,356
I have the same Quadratec terminals that Leadnut has. They are working great for me. I believe they are solid brass. Nothing flimsy about them.
GuzziMoto is offline   Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 09:19 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Leadnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by safetyman1987 View Post
Leadnut, I keep seeing that one and is it me or does it look flimsy? How is it holding up for you?

Had the Qtec terminals for years with zero issues. Flimsy is not a word I would use to describe them. The Blue Sea stuff is also great. I use that on the front end with two 75 amp fuses.
__________________
2014 JKU Willys 6-spd, RK X-Factor 3.5", Fox Resis, KM3 37s, PR60s, Eaton e-lockers, 5.13, Atlas II 3.8, and another $10K in miscellaneous parts.
Leadnut is online now   Quote
Old 01-24-2020, 09:23 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
roots_remain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Unincorporated Mims, FL
Posts: 89
+3 on the Qtec terminals. Makes it easy to install lights and a winch to the battery.
ATX14 likes this.
__________________
2012 JKU Sahara
roots_remain is offline   Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 03:14 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
badAZbiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leadnut View Post
yea, what he said. I installed the Qtec terminals when i did the ARB dual compressor. Little pricey, but works and looks great.
badAZbiker is offline   Quote
Old 01-28-2020, 09:44 AM   #10
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
MAG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NE Texas
Posts: 809
Perfect timing on finding this post. I just re-worked my accessories switching by replacing my older model 6 switch sPod with a new 8 switch sPod Bantam. While doing it I thought I needed to dress up my power terminals.

Quick question. My understanding of the addition of the blue sea fuse holder terminals is so that whatever accessory you have connected to it now has a fuse. Is that correct? If so, would you use this to say hook up a winch connection? If so, what size fuse would you need.

Sorry if kind of hijacking the OP's thread, but thought it a good place to bring it up and add to the discussion.
__________________
'13 JKU Billet Silver, Rebel Offroad King Coilover Conversion, Currie VXR60s, Currie Antirocks, Spyderlock Wheels, 37" Nitto Trail Grapplers, ARB Twin with Lockers, PSC Hydro Assist, Superchips Flashpaq, Rubi Rails, Ace Rock Sliders, sPod, JCR Front & Rear bumpers, Engo 10KS Winch, KrawlOff-road LEDs
MAG00 is offline   Quote
Old 01-28-2020, 10:03 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Leadnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,453
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAG00 View Post
Perfect timing on finding this post. I just re-worked my accessories switching by replacing my older model 6 switch sPod with a new 8 switch sPod Bantam. While doing it I thought I needed to dress up my power terminals.

Quick question. My understanding of the addition of the blue sea fuse holder terminals is so that whatever accessory you have connected to it now has a fuse. Is that correct? If so, would you use this to say hook up a winch connection? If so, what size fuse would you need.

Sorry if kind of hijacking the OP's thread, but thought it a good place to bring it up and add to the discussion.
I have some added wiring that is both inside and outside the Jeep. It is to protect the battery in case the wiring wears and shorts out to ground. This setup is not appropriate for a winch because the current is way to high.
__________________
2014 JKU Willys 6-spd, RK X-Factor 3.5", Fox Resis, KM3 37s, PR60s, Eaton e-lockers, 5.13, Atlas II 3.8, and another $10K in miscellaneous parts.
Leadnut is online now   Quote
Old 01-28-2020, 10:08 AM   #12
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
MAG00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NE Texas
Posts: 809
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leadnut View Post
I have some added wiring that is both inside and outside the Jeep. It is to protect the battery in case the wiring wears and shorts out to ground. This setup is not appropriate for a winch because the current is way to high.
Ok. Kind of what I was thinking. But I am liking the Quadratec additional terminal points you linked. Most likely will be adding them to help clean up/organize my wiring a bit. With sPod, air compressor, winch, radio upgrades, etc. .... it's needed.

Thanks for the response.
__________________
'13 JKU Billet Silver, Rebel Offroad King Coilover Conversion, Currie VXR60s, Currie Antirocks, Spyderlock Wheels, 37" Nitto Trail Grapplers, ARB Twin with Lockers, PSC Hydro Assist, Superchips Flashpaq, Rubi Rails, Ace Rock Sliders, sPod, JCR Front & Rear bumpers, Engo 10KS Winch, KrawlOff-road LEDs
MAG00 is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 12:37 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 99
Picture is for the OP....I have the Apollointech it has worked well to clean up the battery terminal mess. I purchased it on eBay for about $150 direct from original maker of Voswitch Apollointech (I believe).

As for hijacking the thread (me too). I just received the ARB single air compressor, does anyone know if you need to connect positive wires to the battery or can you forego and wire direct to the pod switch?


There are some confusing youtube videos out there.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200207_121107.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	229.0 KB
ID:	4201585  
TankJeepWrangler is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 12:49 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
cranbiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Wentworth, NC
Posts: 2,853
I wouldn't wire the compressor to a switch.The compressor power needs to do directly to the battery. ARB usually includes a relay that would go to the switch. The relay coil wire can go to the switch pod. Assuming that you have the CKMA12, that can draw up to 32A under full load. If you want to route the compressor power thru the pod, make sure that the relay on the port you use is good for 40A. If it isn't, use the ARB relay and use the pod relay to operate the ARB relay.
TankJeepWrangler likes this.
__________________
KN4BBA

06 KJ
12 JK,2.5" Teraflex lift, 3/4 spacers ,Bilstein 5100's,BFG KM3's 37x12.5/R17 with beadlocks.
17 WK2 Trailhawk
cranbiz is offline   Quote
Old 02-07-2020, 03:13 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Orlando
Posts: 209
+ on the quadratec terminals. using them for the Warn Winch, CB and PIAA external lights


I like the fuse addition posted above.. good idea!

__________________
2019 KL Trailhawk

2015 JKUR
2001 TJ Sport (no longer have)
orlandoTJ is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.