REVIEW: Quadratec J5 lightbar - Page 6 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree103Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-24-2017, 04:59 PM   #151
Jeeper
 
Graven Deadeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 133
Looks great! I wish I wasn't FURIOUS with Quadratec right now and I would probably pick this up immediately.

Graven Deadeye is offline   Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 05:08 PM   #152
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Quadratec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 2,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graven Deadeye View Post
Looks great! I wish I wasn't FURIOUS with Quadratec right now and I would probably pick this up immediately.
What's going on? Send me a PM with your order # and info and I can try to resolve it!

Thanks,

-Rick

__________________

We Price Match, PM us for a quote
Forum Member Discounts

Active Hours: 9am-5pm EST Monday - Friday
Wrangler Parts • Wrangler Wheels • Wrangler Tires • Wrangler Lift Kits • Wrangler Bumpers • Wrangler Soft Tops
Quadratec is offline   Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 05:30 PM   #153
Jeeper
 
Graven Deadeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quadratec View Post
What's going on? Send me a PM with your order # and info and I can try to resolve it!

Thanks,

-Rick
I appreciate the concern. I sent you a PM, but don't want to derail the thread with any more negativity. This would definitely be my light-bar of choice!
Graven Deadeye is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-25-2017, 10:55 AM   #154
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Quadratec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 2,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graven Deadeye View Post
I appreciate the concern. I sent you a PM, but don't want to derail the thread with any more negativity. This would definitely be my light-bar of choice!
Absolutely! I sent you a response.

Thanks!

-Rick
__________________

We Price Match, PM us for a quote
Forum Member Discounts

Active Hours: 9am-5pm EST Monday - Friday
Wrangler Parts • Wrangler Wheels • Wrangler Tires • Wrangler Lift Kits • Wrangler Bumpers • Wrangler Soft Tops
Quadratec is offline   Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 07:14 PM   #155
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cummins_Powered View Post
It really looks badass. And sets it apart. And I feel like the pictures on Quadratec's site don't do it enough justice.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
So, I'm curious - have you been stopped for an uncovered light bar yet?
DRBReno is offline   Quote
Old 07-25-2017, 09:06 PM
Thread Starter
  #156
Jeeper
 
Cummins_Powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRBReno View Post
So, I'm curious - have you been stopped for an uncovered light bar yet?


Nope I have not. I typically have my lights on a fair amount too, so the amber lights are constantly on. I'm not sure if that helps or hurts. I like to think it ads legitimate functionality and helps not getting pulled over. Also I NEVER turn the white LEDs on when on the road and I generally drive pretty slow and cautious. I am in California for whatever that is worth.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cummins_Powered is online now   Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 12:27 PM   #157
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cummins_Powered View Post
Nope I have not. I typically have my lights on a fair amount too, so the amber lights are constantly on. I'm not sure if that helps or hurts. I like to think it ads legitimate functionality and helps not getting pulled over. Also I NEVER turn the white LEDs on when on the road and I generally drive pretty slow and cautious. I am in California for whatever that is worth.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yeah, I get the California thing. I lived in the Sac metro area for 36 years until i moved to Reno 4 years ago.
Cummins_Powered likes this.
DRBReno is offline   Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 07:18 PM   #158
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 225
Has anyone figured out how and whether this light bar will integrate with a GOBI Stealth rack. I have one on order, and assuming it ever gets delivered (Ordered on May 4, 12 weeks tomorrow - but that is a rant for a different day) I'd like to install the rack and the light bar in one process.

Any thoughts by anyone?
DRBReno is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 06:33 PM   #159
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 14
QTec J5 Lightbar

Hey CP,

I'm interested in a J5 to connect to my S-Pod. I understand in your post that you did similar wiring. My question: In order for the amber clearance lights to work in sync with factory lighting did you wire this direct then connect your overhead offroad lighting on the light bar to an S-Pod switch. If you wouldn't mind describing the wiring I would appreciate it! Thanks
Riker3
Riker3 is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 06:52 PM   #160
Jeeper
 
unsocbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riker3 View Post
Hey CP,

I'm interested in a J5 to connect to my S-Pod. I understand in your post that you did similar wiring. My question: In order for the amber clearance lights to work in sync with factory lighting did you wire this direct then connect your overhead offroad lighting on the light bar to an S-Pod switch. If you wouldn't mind describing the wiring I would appreciate it! Thanks
Riker3
There's a single wire on the passenger side with an extend a fuse on the end. It simply plugs into your fuse box (remove the existing fuse in the box and place it in the extend a fuse).
There are 2 wires on the driver side that have to be wired to a switch (or spod box).
That's it...the amber lights will come on with the parking lights.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Cummins_Powered likes this.
__________________
2017 Rhino Winter edition JKU
Bone Stock (for now)
unsocbl is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 11:28 PM
Thread Starter
  #161
Jeeper
 
Cummins_Powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riker3 View Post
Hey CP,

I'm interested in a J5 to connect to my S-Pod. I understand in your post that you did similar wiring. My question: In order for the amber clearance lights to work in sync with factory lighting did you wire this direct then connect your overhead offroad lighting on the light bar to an S-Pod switch. If you wouldn't mind describing the wiring I would appreciate it! Thanks
Riker3


Unsocbl above nailed it. The amber lights are independently controlled from the white light. One powered wire controls the amber lights and another powered wire will go into your spod to switch the white light. I believe they must share the common ground that goes into the spod. When you get the bar it will be obvious how to wire it! I can take any photos of the wiring if that would help. Just let me know.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
unsocbl likes this.
Cummins_Powered is online now   Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 10:13 AM   #162
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 14
Thanks

Thanks to you both very much. I suspected it was that straight forward. Since I had the spod switch already installed I was stuck as to why I might need to again fish through the dash but you confirmed now that I only need to connect the Off Road LEDS directly to the Spod and amber lights to the separate onboard fuse box. All clear for now. If I have any additional questions when I begin the project I'll ask. Thanks again to you both.

Riker3
Riker3 is offline   Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 01:35 PM   #163
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRBReno View Post
Has anyone figured out how and whether this light bar will integrate with a GOBI Stealth rack. I have one on order, and assuming it ever gets delivered (Ordered on May 4, 12 weeks tomorrow - but that is a rant for a different day) I'd like to install the rack and the light bar in one process.

Any thoughts by anyone?
The answer is no, doesn't work. The rack is too narrow and to mount the light would require custom brackets and the bar would be pushed out in front of the top of the windshield. Not a good outcome. I shipped mine back to Quadratec. If they come out with a 40 inch I'll get that one.
DRBReno is offline   Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 07:16 PM   #164
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 14
j5 question

Hello CP and Unsocbl.

Sorry to keep asking these questions but want to make sure I'm doing things properly. I received the J5 today and plan to install tomorrow. I see the wire harness with the dual fuse harness for the amber lights. That seems straight forward. With regards to the the power wire and connector harness for the LEDs: In order to connect to the SPod I am assuming you guys are suggesting that I cut the current connector harness supplied by QTec from the wire and discard altogether; then strip and crimp the two bare wires to a connector to run directly to the SPOD box to one of the open switches correct? Again just want to make sure I'm thinking of this correctly.

Thanks again guys.
Riker3
Texassailor likes this.
Riker3 is offline   Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 07:50 PM   #165
Jeeper
 
unsocbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,308
If I remember correctly, there was a pigtail with bare wires that plugs into the led circuit in the box with the j5. I just ran that to my box under the hood (I have the Apollointech knock off of the spod). Your way will work also if there's not already a pigtail to use.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
2017 Rhino Winter edition JKU
Bone Stock (for now)
unsocbl is offline   Quote
Old 09-09-2017, 09:14 PM   #166
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 14
That was actually why I wrote; there are no pigtails. The LED power is connected to a connector harness. To hook it p to the SPOD I am just assuming that I would need to cut off that connector to expose the two connector wires, strip them, connect to a U connector in order to wire directly to my SPOD port. Am I thinking of this correctly?
Riker3 is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 08:10 AM   #167
Jeeper
 
unsocbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,308
Yes...just leave a little extra length, cut and run to the spod. If you're like me, I always manage to cut wires about 2" short

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
2017 Rhino Winter edition JKU
Bone Stock (for now)
unsocbl is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 11:08 AM   #168
Jeeper
 
whitee27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Chenango Bridge NY
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRBReno View Post
Has anyone figured out how and whether this light bar will integrate with a GOBI Stealth rack. I have one on order, and assuming it ever gets delivered (Ordered on May 4, 12 weeks tomorrow - but that is a rant for a different day) I'd like to install the rack and the light bar in one process.

Any thoughts by anyone?
I'm interested in this as well, how did it work out? Any pics?
whitee27 is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 11:54 AM   #169
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 225
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitee27 View Post
I'm interested in this as well, how did it work out? Any pics?
See post #163 - doesn't work
DRBReno is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 11:57 AM   #170
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRBReno View Post
The answer is no, doesn't work. The rack is too narrow and to mount the light would require custom brackets and the bar would be pushed out in front of the top of the windshield. Not a good outcome. I shipped mine back to Quadratec. If they come out with a 40 inch I'll get that one.
in for a 40".....
Forgettable1 is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 12:40 PM   #171
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 225
^^^^ yeah, I'm waiting on the same. The QT fellow mentioned there may be one in the works.
Cummins_Powered likes this.
DRBReno is offline   Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 11:55 PM
Thread Starter
  #172
Jeeper
 
Cummins_Powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riker3 View Post
That was actually why I wrote; there are no pigtails. The LED power is connected to a connector harness. To hook it p to the SPOD I am just assuming that I would need to cut off that connector to expose the two connector wires, strip them, connect to a U connector in order to wire directly to my SPOD port. Am I thinking of this correctly?


Yea you have it right. Mine came with a real short bare set of wires with the pigtail connector. But if you don't have that, just chop that off and make sure you have enough extra wire.

Post pics when you get it installed!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Cummins_Powered is online now   Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 08:20 AM   #173
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 239
does this light mount like a rigid light with a screw stud on each end? It appears there are some brackets that bolt to the light instead.
Forgettable1 is offline   Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 09:10 AM   #174
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 14
CP and Unsocbl.

I installed the J5 yesterday. Pretty straight forward and very simple throughout'; especially given all of your input which was very much appreciated. For others considering the J5, the install with an SPod or equivalent is a breeze just as these guys pointed out. For future reference, I had a couple of minor glitches: in routing the wire to the passenger's side fuse box I cut a small divot on the top side of the box as an exit for the wire so the box closed more smoothly. Also, the driver's side power wiring provided by Qtec was oddly very short and would not reach my spod (not sure how it would've reached its originally-purposed stock terminal to be honest) so I simply purchased additional 12g wiring to create an extension that I put together with shrink tubing and new terminal connectors to the spod. But again both minor issues. Everything else progressed as you both described. I've posted pics. Love the J5 addition.

Thanks again very much to you both to your help and input and, most particularly your quick replies which again were very much appreciated!!
Riker3
unsocbl likes this.
Riker3 is offline   Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 09:12 AM   #175
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 14
Here are two pics from day and dusk. If anyone needs pics of the wiring extension I created to the spod please let me know.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RS-Cooper J5 Day.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	229.5 KB
ID:	3746625   Click image for larger version

Name:	RS-Cooper J5-Dusk.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	220.4 KB
ID:	3746633  

Quadratec and unsocbl like this.
Riker3 is offline   Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 10:52 AM
Thread Starter
  #176
Jeeper
 
Cummins_Powered's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riker3 View Post
CP and Unsocbl.

I installed the J5 yesterday. Pretty straight forward and very simple throughout'; especially given all of your input which was very much appreciated. For others considering the J5, the install with an SPod or equivalent is a breeze just as these guys pointed out. For future reference, I had a couple of minor glitches: in routing the wire to the passenger's side fuse box I cut a small divot on the top side of the box as an exit for the wire so the box closed more smoothly. Also, the driver's side power wiring provided by Qtec was oddly very short and would not reach my spod (not sure how it would've reached its originally-purposed stock terminal to be honest) so I simply purchased additional 12g wiring to create an extension that I put together with shrink tubing and new terminal connectors to the spod. But again both minor issues. Everything else progressed as you both described. I've posted pics. Love the J5 addition.

Thanks again very much to you both to your help and input and, most particularly your quick replies which again were very much appreciated!!
Riker3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riker3 View Post
Here are two pics from day and dusk. If anyone needs pics of the wiring extension I created to the spod please let me know.


Looks great! Nice looking Jeep there. I think i know why you had the wiring issue. When i bought mine, i got the brackets and the wiring kit (with switches and relay). That wiring kit is what came with the pigtail connector that plugs into the connector on the bar. I then cut the supplied switch harness and used wire from that in order to reach my switch mounting box. I am guessing you did not order the switch kit (as you had no need for it with the SPOD).

In any case, looks great.
Cummins_Powered is online now   Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 02:05 PM   #177
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 14
You're exactly right. I didn't order the harness kit so that must've been the reason. Anyway, I worked through it.

Thanks again CP and thanks for the comments...likewise on your vehicle!
Cummins_Powered likes this.
Riker3 is offline   Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 05:37 PM   #178
Jeeper
 
whitee27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Chenango Bridge NY
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRBReno View Post
See post #163 - doesn't work
thanks
whitee27 is offline   Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 07:10 AM   #179
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by unsocbl View Post
Pictures of the JCR mounts.


Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
unsocbl, Another question for you. It looks like I'm experiencing the same annoying flap of the soft top that you and others experienced with the Qtech original mount and need to consider alternate options (not sure I can live with the flap particularly on the HWY). My concern with the JCR's is if it creates such a noticeable obstruction with visibility. You've had them a while now so wondered if it took some getting used to and if you are still satisfied with the JCR option and also if it cured the flap issue altogether with your soft top. WillyD posted an option with Ace Engineering brackets that appear on their web page to be pretty flush with the windshield but not as much as the JCR's I'm just concerned there that they're not flushenough to cure the soft top flap and I think WillyD has a hard top only.

Additionally, I may want to paint the mounts down the road. Wondering if I can accomplish with ease in getting the powder coat version (if you're able to comment) or should simply get the bare metal option they offer.

Again your insight would be appreciated. Thanks in advance
Riker3 is offline   Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 08:12 AM   #180
Jeeper
 
unsocbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riker3 View Post
unsocbl, Another question for you. It looks like I'm experiencing the same annoying flap of the soft top that you and others experienced with the Qtech original mount and need to consider alternate options (not sure I can live with the flap particularly on the HWY). My concern with the JCR's is if it creates such a noticeable obstruction with visibility. You've had them a while now so wondered if it took some getting used to and if you are still satisfied with the JCR option and also if it cured the flap issue altogether with your soft top. WillyD posted an option with Ace Engineering brackets that appear on their web page to be pretty flush with the windshield but not as much as the JCR's I'm just concerned there that they're not flushenough to cure the soft top flap and I think WillyD has a hard top only.

Additionally, I may want to paint the mounts down the road. Wondering if I can accomplish with ease in getting the powder coat version (if you're able to comment) or should simply get the bare metal option they offer.

Again your insight would be appreciated. Thanks in advance
The JCR brackets helped a little with the buffeting, but it's still there. I'm pretty noise sensitive, so my fix was to remove the J5 while running the softtop (I know, not the preferred option). My daily drive is about 140 miles round trip of 70+ mph.
I think, if you're like me, there isn't much you can do except live with the noise if you want the 50" lightbar. I read every article on making them quieter and tried everything from door edge to sacrificing a chicken.

As for painting, if I were going to color match, I'd get the unpainted version...the powder coat has a texture to it.

__________________
2017 Rhino Winter edition JKU
Bone Stock (for now)
unsocbl is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.