5.3 TJ budget build - Page 30 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Jeep Wrangler Forum > TJ Build Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Like Tree17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-11-2018, 06:55 PM
Thread Starter
  #871
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
SHE RUNS! WOW. NO HUCKUPING, NO MISFIRES!

Well. I accidentally (lol) found some currie upper control arms on ebay for $200. They're regularly like 275 so I couldn't pass that up. Slowly I'm in the peicing the jeep together to add the currie 4 inch springs and some bilsteins 5100s.

All that's really left to accomplish that is sway bar quick disconnects in the front, adjustable trackbars to center the axle, and front lower control arms. I also want to do the zj tie rod upgrade so that when I throw on bigger tires, I'll have beefy suspension and steering components.

There's a fair amount of loose ends I've got to tie up like cutting off the rest of the jeep harness, gauges, exhaust, and the like, but it's really coming along.

jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 07:11 AM   #872
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
MannyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sun City CA
Posts: 312
So, what did you find? Used that Magic Wand? Long time coming, I am happy for ya.

MannyN is offline   Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 07:36 AM
Thread Starter
  #873
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by MannyN View Post
So, what did you find? Used that Magic Wand? Long time coming, I am happy for ya.[IMG class=inlineimg]https://www.wranglerforum.com/images/smilies/drinks.gif[/IMG]
The MAF sensor was not sealed against the intake because the intake from Novak is 4 inches, the intake side of the mass airflow sensor is 3 5/8" the spectre part number I mentioned above is a sleeve that goes over the end of MAF sensor. To make the diameter 4". Wish I would have tried that sooner. Lol!
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-12-2018, 07:36 AM
Thread Starter
  #874
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Now all I need is LSU to beat Georgia this weeked😂
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 02:51 PM   #875
Jeeper
 
JeepTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 409
Man, that is Awesome Jon!! Glad you got it running.
I bet that was relief, huh?
__________________
____________________________________________
1997 Jeep Wrangler TJ Sahara
Link to 5.3 swap and build
JeepTed is offline   Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 02:53 PM   #876
Jeeper
 
JeepTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by jherrington View Post
Now all I need is LSU to beat Georgia this weeked😂

...But when LSU came to the Swamp...LOL
__________________
____________________________________________
1997 Jeep Wrangler TJ Sahara
Link to 5.3 swap and build
JeepTed is offline   Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 10:51 AM
Thread Starter
  #877
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Well. LSU won. I can't complain!

I got the currie upper control arms in the mail. I'm going to put those on this week!
JeepTed likes this.
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 06:20 AM   #878
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Northshore Mass
Posts: 6
Looks like i need to start from the beginning of your post. I bought a 2000 2500 and pulled the LQ4 6.0 out for my 2002. Still trying to figure out the cam to go with as a torque monster or higher HP. Although i am willing to bet torque is pretty obvious, but will it have the uumph to get it to 80 mph and hold it without shifting.
pbuttiglieri77 is offline   Quote
Old 11-22-2018, 09:12 PM   #879
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 8
I don't know how I missed your last few updates, but I'm freaking pumped that you got that thing running. I came across this build back in March or April of last year and I was hoping you would get it all figured out. Good for you, you'll be driving it before you know it.
JeepTed and JeepTed like this.
sr1209 is offline   Quote
Old 03-13-2019, 02:55 PM
Thread Starter
  #880
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Hey guys, I ended up wiring up the harness, fan, OBDII port, some things like that. A rodent of some sort chewed through some headlight wires while I had the body apart. Soldered them up and the headlights work now. I purchased a coolant overflow bottle and will be installing that soon. I still havent installed the currie upper control arms. Ill get to that sooner or later.

I've got a quote to do my exhaust for about $550. Once i get everything buttoned up, ill get it tailored over to the shop and get that done as well.
JeepTed likes this.
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 03-14-2019, 11:39 AM
Thread Starter
  #881
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

This is the canister I ordered from amazon. I installed it on the drivers side of the radiator. Ill have to loop the hose over to the other side. But that's okay.
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 11:23 AM   #882
Jeeper
 
JeepTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by jherrington View Post
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

This is the canister I ordered from amazon. I installed it on the drivers side of the radiator. Ill have to loop the hose over to the other side. But that's okay.
I have the same one, but haven't installed it yet.
Did you just use the brackets that came with it to install it? I was thinking about using some angle iron.
__________________
____________________________________________
1997 Jeep Wrangler TJ Sahara
Link to 5.3 swap and build
JeepTed is offline   Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 02:54 PM
Thread Starter
  #883
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepTed View Post
I have the same one, but haven't installed it yet.
Did you just use the brackets that came with it to install it? I was thinking about using some angle iron.
I did use the brackets it came with. I got a small piece of steel to extend from the radiator mount so i could mount it. I tried to take pictures while i was making it, but my phone wasn't cooperating at the time. Ill try to take some!
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 09:44 AM
Thread Starter
  #884
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Installed the Currie front upper control arms. This was actually really easy.

I reused the stock nut and bolt from the jeep and used it on the axle side of the control arm. That way I didn't have to drill out the axle side mount to fit the new hardware. I've heard of people breaking their 7/16ths drill bit, so I didn't chance it.
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 03-18-2019, 10:56 AM   #885
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 235
We NEED PICS OF THIS BAD BOY!!!!!!!
Park duck is offline   Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 10:58 AM
Thread Starter
  #886
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Okay, so I've run into a small issue. The harness came out of an 05 GMC with a 4.8.

This is the O2 sensor for that vehicle with that engine: https://www.autozone.com/engine-mana...102074_0_98000

This is the O2 sensor for the 2006 silverado: https://www.autozone.com/engine-mana...102074_0_97999

You'll notice the different color and the plugs are not comparable. So should I connect new connections to put the correct O2 sensors or put the O2 sensors that fit the harness and see if that works? There is a reasonable price difference between the two if you shop somewhere other than autozone.

I'm not sure if the 05 GMC O2 Sensors put out what the 06 Chevy computer is looking for.
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 10:29 PM
Thread Starter
  #887
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Okay guys, here's an update. I did some cleaning up of some wiring. I wired the GREEN wire from the dash panel air conditioning to the blue wire with a orange tracer that runs to the air conditioning relay.

As it was, the jeep PCM needed two grounds, one from the air conditioning switch on the dash and one wired though the air conditioning pressure switches. Once these two grounds were produced, the PCM would send a ground signal to the blue wire with an orange tracer.

By splicing the two wires, this bypasses the jeep PCM. The Novak harness sends power through the pressure sensors then to the compressor. So everything is still working as the factory wanted it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190707_152344_1562642788113.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	182.4 KB
ID:	4162497   Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-07-30_230928_tj709183_1562642929402.gif
Views:	10
Size:	23.3 KB
ID:	4162501  

__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 10:34 PM
Thread Starter
  #888
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Also, I was again having problems with it running. It happened shortly after I fixed the MAF sensor.

Again, it would crank, fire, then die once the key returned to the "run" position. Which led me to believe that there was a problem with the ignition. Upon reading about that, I thought I'd go over all the grounds and make sure they're tight. The one that hangs out of the jeep fuse box loom right in the center of the engine bay was not connected AT ALL. so I moved the Novak harness ground and grounded it with the one in the fuse box against the fire wall and it cranked up and ran.

I'm going to try it again tomorrow to make sure it wasn't a fluke. But now that I'm posting about it, it will probably be a fluke. Lol
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 10:41 AM
Thread Starter
  #889
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Just got off of the phone with Tim from Dakota Digital with regards to the VSS signal manipulator they sell. The SGI-5E. He said it IS possible to convert the chevy VSS signal to the Jeep signal... So I might just keep the jeep gauges. I want this thing to look as clean as possible! I already have the SGI-5E so its worth trying before scrapping the old gauges and going new.
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 11:34 AM   #890
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 235
Glad to see you getting back to work on it

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
Park duck is offline   Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 12:32 PM
Thread Starter
  #891
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Park duck View Post
Glad to see you getting back to work on it

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
Every once in a while I will get burnt out and look at it in disgust. Then eventually ill get back to it with a new mindset. LOL
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 07:15 PM
Thread Starter
  #892
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Ive got the old jeep harness out and have gone through and found the oil pressure sensor, fuel gauge sensor, speed sensor, and the coolant temperature pigtails.

As far as I know, you can hook these up to their respective sensors and youll get working jeep gauges.

Ill call Novak tomorrow to see if they can confirm this as ive heard you have to "excite" the jeep computer with a cam sensor signal and other stuff. So we will see.
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 12:52 PM
Thread Starter
  #893
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
So! just spoke with Novak about the gauges.

The jeep needs some sort of signal from the crank position sensor and the cam position sensor for the gauges to "Excite" The Emulator that they sell and use to make the tachometer function produces this signal. So if I buy the emulator, the stock gauges will work. Without the "signal" from the crank and cam sensors to the jeep computer, none of the gauges will work.

He mentioned combing through ls1tech.com to see how other people get the gauges to work without the emulator if I wanted to buy the emulator to make the tach work, later.

So, looks like ill buy the emulator?
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 07-14-2019, 01:24 PM
Thread Starter
  #894
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Tried to drive the jeep, wouldn't move. I'll be taking off the transfer case. I think it's not engaging correctly.
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 03:44 PM   #895
Jeeper
 
JeepTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by jherrington View Post
Okay guys, here's an update. I did some cleaning up of some wiring. I wired the GREEN wire from the dash panel air conditioning to the blue wire with a orange tracer that runs to the air conditioning relay.

As it was, the jeep PCM needed two grounds, one from the air conditioning switch on the dash and one wired though the air conditioning pressure switches. Once these two grounds were produced, the PCM would send a ground signal to the blue wire with an orange tracer.

By splicing the two wires, this bypasses the jeep PCM. The Novak harness sends power through the pressure sensors then to the compressor. So everything is still working as the factory wanted it.
Glad to see you're back at it Jon. Believe me, I know exactly how you feel about getting frustrated. I get there too...more than I should, I suspect.

That's good info about the AC wiring. I wired up mine similarly, but I haven't been able to try it yet. The body is off awaiting the painter to give me the green light to take it to him.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jherrington View Post
So! just spoke with Novak about the gauges.

The jeep needs some sort of signal from the crank position sensor and the cam position sensor for the gauges to "Excite" The Emulator that they sell and use to make the tachometer function produces this signal. So if I buy the emulator, the stock gauges will work. Without the "signal" from the crank and cam sensors to the jeep computer, none of the gauges will work.

He mentioned combing through ls1tech.com to see how other people get the gauges to work without the emulator if I wanted to buy the emulator to make the tach work, later.

So, looks like ill buy the emulator?
I am very interested to see if you get all your gauges to work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jherrington View Post
Tried to drive the jeep, wouldn't move. I'll be taking off the transfer case. I think it's not engaging correctly.
The Jeep started, but wouldn't go in gear? I can't remember which TC you have.
__________________
____________________________________________
1997 Jeep Wrangler TJ Sahara
Link to 5.3 swap and build
JeepTed is offline   Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 09:42 PM
Thread Starter
  #896
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
To elaborate a little, my transfer case, the np241c might be bad?

My house was in danger of flooding (eek) and since I don't have insurance on the jeep, that was high priority to get it moving. Since it ran, I put it in drive and tried to go, but it wouldnt! Nada. Reverse backed the jeep up about 2 inches, but that's about it. I was pretty stumped and put the trans back in park. When I put it back in park, it grinded. After some research, the grinding noise was the parking pawl. If you've ever still been rolling and you put your car in park, you know the sound.

After a little more research, this meant that the transmission was working and that there output shaft was spinning, hence the grinding. So my problem lies between the transfer case and the rear axle.

If I switch the transfer case back and fourth between the four gears, the front and rear yoke spin when they should and don't spin when they shouldnt.. so I'm going to do some testing in the next few days to see if I can figure it out. I'm going to try to run just the front drive shaft in four wheel drive, video the rear drive shaft to see if it's spinning and the axle isnt turning, so on, so fourth. I'll let you guys know what I find..

Last, but not least, I tried to crank it today and it gave me fits like it has in the past. I Googled a little bit and ran across this thread...
https://ls1tech.com/forums/conversio...y-running.html
Where the guy has the EXACT and I mean EXACT same problem as me. A bad ground to the PCM was his problem. This confirms why it ran after connecting that ground. So I'm going to go through and really freshen up those ground spots and see if we can get some drive train diagnostics done!
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 11:53 AM   #897
Jeeper
 
JeepTed's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by jherrington View Post
To elaborate a little, my transfer case, the np241c might be bad?

My house was in danger of flooding (eek) and since I don't have insurance on the jeep, that was high priority to get it moving. Since it ran, I put it in drive and tried to go, but it wouldn't! Nada. Reverse backed the jeep up about 2 inches, but that's about it. I was pretty stumped and put the trans back in park. When I put it back in park, it grinded. After some research, the grinding noise was the parking pawl. If you've ever still been rolling and you put your car in park, you know the sound.

After a little more research, this meant that the transmission was working and that there output shaft was spinning, hence the grinding. So my problem lies between the transfer case and the rear axle.

If I switch the transfer case back and fourth between the four gears, the front and rear yoke spin when they should and don't spin when they shouldn't.. so I'm going to do some testing in the next few days to see if I can figure it out. I'm going to try to run just the front drive shaft in four wheel drive, video the rear drive shaft to see if it's spinning and the axle isn't turning, so on, so fourth. I'll let you guys know what I find..

Last, but not least, I tried to crank it today and it gave me fits like it has in the past. I Googled a little bit and ran across this thread...
https://ls1tech.com/forums/conversio...y-running.html
Where the guy has the EXACT and I mean EXACT same problem as me. A bad ground to the PCM was his problem. This confirms why it ran after connecting that ground. So I'm going to go through and really freshen up those ground spots and see if we can get some drive train diagnostics done!
I believe the NP241c has a different shift pattern than the NP231. Could that have anything to do with it?
__________________
____________________________________________
1997 Jeep Wrangler TJ Sahara
Link to 5.3 swap and build
JeepTed is offline   Quote
Old 07-16-2019, 12:08 PM
Thread Starter
  #898
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepTed View Post
I believe the NP241c has a different shift pattern than the NP231. Could that have anything to do with it?
You're right. I knew that it did, if you're looking at the lever, from front postion to back would be 4L, N, 2H, 4H. so it would be backwards if you're looking at the actual lever on the transfer case. I'm definitely going to look and make sure I wasn't in Neutral when i thought i was in 2H.
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 06:33 PM
Thread Starter
  #899
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
Started twice after some persuasion, then died when the RPMS started to go down to idle. I connected 's ground strap from the engine to the grounding bolt on the body if the jeep. And that's what I got...guess I've got to do more tracing. I'm at a loss.
__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Old 07-17-2019, 06:45 PM
Thread Starter
  #900
Jeeper
 
jherrington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 2,368
I'm going to jumper the ground wires directly to the battery and see what happens then.

__________________
5.3 swap and jeep build page here!
jherrington is offline   Quote
Reply

Tags
4.8 , 5.3 , chevy , swap , vortec

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC