05 X Stock Sub? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-16-2009, 10:06 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Jsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brentwood,TN
Posts: 130
05 X Stock Sub?

I got my 05 X this Summer. One day I noticed there is s fuse labeled "subwoofer" I plugged a fuse into.....nothin, same crapy sound. Am I missing something?

Jsquared is offline   Quote
Old 12-16-2009, 10:10 PM   #2
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,642
If it has the subwoofer, it's in the center console facing the drivers seat. If there are no slots cut into the console, there is no sub. They just use the same fuse block for all Wrangler models, and just don't put fuses in if that particular Wrangler didn't get a certain factory option installed.

AzTJ is offline   Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 09:37 AM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
Jsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brentwood,TN
Posts: 130
It does have the slots in it, but the sound (especially the bass) is super weak....
Jsquared is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2009, 10:23 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Jaydogg25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to Jaydogg25
just because there was a fuse listed as subwoofer doesn't mean your vehicle had one equiped. alot of vehicles are "pre wired" so if customer wanted that option it's just a plug and play, from dealership. They would remove old center console and install sub one.

now if your looking for more bass i wouldn't bother w/ a factory sub anyway. you can get better quality and sound from a aftermarket one.

in my 95 wrangler, i have a full amped system w/ sub, so no matter if top is on/off i can stilll enjoy great sound. i didn't go with a crazy system, since being a soft top bass will "escape" but i made sure i had things amped so i didn't blow anyhting. i have a nice 4 channel amp, 2 channels on my front speakers, 2 bridged on my sub, and my rear speakers in music bar are off my radio since they are right above my head.

had same system for 7y in my jeep and still going strong.
__________________
95 YJ, 4" suspension lift, 32's, 2.5l 4 cyl (350 built and waiting to be installed in spring, along with ford 8.8 rear end)
Jaydogg25 is offline   Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 12:43 PM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper
 
Jsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brentwood,TN
Posts: 130
Yeah, from what the guy said above, it appears to have the sub in the console. I'm not very wiring savy. I can probably handle replacing speakers, or the plug n' play kits from Quadratech, but I don't wanna get $500 deep into either....
Jsquared is offline   Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 01:30 PM   #6
Drives by Braille

WF Supporting Member
 
AzTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: For-8-Oh!
Posts: 13,642
Do you have an aftermarket stereo in it? I'd mess with the channels and settings to see if you can up the base a bit. If it's the stock headunit, the amp for the sub might be blown.
AzTJ is offline   Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 02:44 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Jaydogg25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to Jaydogg25
one other things i forgot that post above reminded me.... if you have a aftermarket radio installed.. make sure the power antenna and/or amp turn on wire is connected. if not the factory amp will not turn on... power antenna = blue wire, Amp turn on Blue/white, these are aftermarket wire colors not factory. the wires will depend on the aftermarket radio some aftermarket radios only have blue/white others have both...and same goes for factory harness.
__________________
95 YJ, 4" suspension lift, 32's, 2.5l 4 cyl (350 built and waiting to be installed in spring, along with ford 8.8 rear end)
Jaydogg25 is offline   Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 04:49 PM
Thread Starter
  #8
Jeeper
 
Jsquared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brentwood,TN
Posts: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzTJ View Post
Do you have an aftermarket stereo in it? I'd mess with the channels and settings to see if you can up the base a bit. If it's the stock headunit, the amp for the sub might be blown.
How do I know if it's blown or not?

Jsquared is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking aftermarket horn up to stock YJ horn switch. . .wiring diagrams??? atomicjoe23 YJ Tech Forum 5 11-07-2012 08:06 AM
Tire rubbing? '95 YJ Sahara Stock Wheels DaveC YJ General Discussion Forum 7 06-29-2009 12:09 AM
stock tj parts - in. MoA Classifieds Archive 5 11-21-2007 12:15 PM
TFI Upgrade (good write-up) Justin YJ Tech Forum 1 11-19-2007 02:04 PM
stock 06 tj rear bumper, k&n filter w/ stock box (MD) RedWrangX Classifieds Archive 9 10-02-2007 10:56 AM





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.