1997 Wrangler - Gauge Needles not Working - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-23-2012, 09:34 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
1997 Wrangler - Gauge Needles not Working

Hey guys - first time poster,

Not a whole lot of experience working under the hood...but enough mechanical aptitude to turn a wrench or two.

My jeep seemingly has no other electrical problems outside of the fact that when I start the car the needles don't move at all. They sit on the rests and do not even flicker when I power up the vehicle.

I have checked all the other electronics and nothing else seems to be affected. Lamps, radio, dash lights, blinkers, and emergency lights are all working as they should.

I have pulled the fuses under the hood and also behind the glove box and didn't seem to find any fuses that were shot...and I think the fact that everything else is working electronically it should should rule out a fuse issue? If there is a specific fuse that powers just the needles in the dash I would be willing to replace it, I'm just not sure which one it is?

Any other thoughts/recommendations on the issue?

Thanks so much,
Whit

hesserjw is offline   Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 10:09 AM   #2
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
I am having the same issue, or my sister is having that issue on her 97 wrangler. A week after I installed a radio.

zibercat is offline   Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 06:27 AM   #3
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zibercat View Post
I am having the same issue, or my sister is having that issue on her 97 wrangler. A week after I installed a radio.
The gauges didn't work, the warning lights (brake, seat bealt, etc) did work; The radio stopped working, the interior light on the sound bar didn't work, and the F17 fuse (10amps) under the hood by the battery kept blowing. I took the radio apart, disconnected everything. I also took the dash cluster and cleaned the contacts/pins with a cotton swab and rubbing alcohol. And the fuse kept blowing. Find out that my brother-in-law rewired the soundbar light and he had it hidden but got pinched by a screw when he place the cover back. He was blaming me, since I installed the radio. Luckly he saw when I found the faulty wire.
zibercat is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-26-2012, 05:25 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
eboven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Black Hawk, CO
Posts: 681
Do the warning lights still work? When you turn the Jeep on, the check engine, airbag, brake, ABS, ect lights will turn on for a second or two; does it still do this? The gauges receive their signal from the PCM's CCD BUS system, so it's all data from the PCM to the gauges. Behind the gauge cluster, there are two connectors - the right side connector has the CCD Bus wires in it - they should be white/black and violet/brown in pins 1 & 2. Pull the gauge cluster out and ensure this connector is fully seated and clipped in; I've heard of various gauge problems from the harness simply working itself loose.

If everything seems kosher there, I would bring it to a dealership who can scan for DTC's (diagnostic trouble codes) which should shine some light on the issue. Honestly though, it looks like if your gauges aren't working but everything is plugged in, the only option may be to replace the cluster or PCM. The databus can only be metered with an expensive oscilloscope, and even then you would have to know what signals mean what...
eboven is offline   Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 02:23 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
konqrrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 79
[QUOTE="zibercat"]I am having the same issue, or my sister is having that issue on her 97 wrangler. A week after I installed a radio.[/QUOTCVE]

Funny iam as well.... Same problem after stero i.stall
konqrrr is offline   Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 06:23 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
konqrrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 79
I tried replacing the cluster already... Didnt work for me but it might work for you.
konqrrr is offline   Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 11:31 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
MrBobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 190
Did anybody find the answer to this? My 17 fuse is good and it not blowing, my cluster is connecting and the pins are all clean and i took the radio completely out just to make sure it wasnt that and still no gauges...

I just tested the number 17 fuse with a multimeter and it read over limit...but the fuse has never blown? Im terrible with wiring and electrical stuff
MrBobo is offline   Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 11:44 AM   #8
Commercial Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Big Sarge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Fort Drum NY
Posts: 5,792
Have any of you checked the grounds? If you pull the front speaker grills off, right below the front speakers are some ground wires and these ground the cluster. There are a pair of wires on both the left and right side. I would make sure those are good and tight.
__________________

CLICK THE LINK BELOW FOR MY CUSTOM POOL BALL SHIFT KNOBS

https://www.wranglerforum.com/f37/custom-camo-pool-ball-shifters-224388.html
_______
/l ,[____],
l---L -OlllllllO-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
Big Sarge is offline   Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 12:43 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
MrBobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Sarge View Post
Have any of you checked the grounds? If you pull the front speaker grills off, right below the front speakers are some ground wires and these ground the cluster. There are a pair of wires on both the left and right side. I would make sure those are good and tight.
i removed both of them, pb blasted the metal and wire brushed it then put them back on.
MrBobo is offline   Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 02:25 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
jeffs92yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Morristown, NJ
Posts: 157
Do the gauges light up when you turn the lights on?
__________________
92 YJ, 2.5, 5 speed, stock
radio active for 50+ years
jeffs92yj is offline   Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 03:53 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Phil T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 271
I had this happen on a 2006 Liberty when brand new and driving it off the lot. It seems the battery was bad and after the dealer replaced it no problems. The needle were pinned to the maximum stop points.
Phil T is offline   Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 04:07 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
MrBobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 190
All of the lights light up and the gauges light up, but the actual dial itself doesn't work. None kf them work
MrBobo is offline   Quote
Old 05-29-2014, 04:58 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
jeffs92yj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Morristown, NJ
Posts: 157
That pretty much eliminates the grounds.

I only have a FSM for the 92.

It shows a Black connector pair with 10 positions to the left side of the steering column. It feeds the signals to the connector on the gauge cluster.

Check to see if that connector is there and is clean and tight.
__________________
92 YJ, 2.5, 5 speed, stock
radio active for 50+ years
jeffs92yj is offline   Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 10:28 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
eboven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Black Hawk, CO
Posts: 681
A 92 YJ will be totally different than a late model TJ. Chrysler started using a data bus system in the TJ's, so the gauges are controlled in a different manner than those of a YJ.

To get to the point, if all your grounds are good, and the connectors are seated behind the cluster, you can check the connection at the Powertrain Control Module under the hood above the battery. If all checks out here as well, you are likely looking at either a bad PCM or a bad guage cluster. It is also possible that the wiring between the two has a break somewhere, but that's not likely unless you recently did wiring work in the same harness. At that point, it is probably a job for a qualified service shop with the proper diagnostic scan tools... as I stated above, there is no way to read and interpret the data signals without their expensive scan tools.
__________________
My Build Thread
eboven is offline   Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 10:53 AM   #15
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 1
Hi there I know this thread is a few years old, but I'm new to the forums. I also have a 1997 Jeep TJ with a similar issue. No movement of the cluster needles with the key on. No blown fuses, the grounds have proper contact, and there is power at the cluster connector. The connector on the right, behind the cluster has been swapped out. No radio, no interior lights and no brake light on the spare tire. any ideas?????

dannyboy11231 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.