4200NEX with Maestro RR - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-17-2018, 11:56 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
4200NEX with Maestro RR

I'm trying to wire up the harness for install. The Maestro came with a harness that has a TON of wires on it, I can't figure out which of these need to be wired to the CH1. I am assuming red is power and goes to red on the CH1 and the black/grey stripe is ground and goes to black, is that right? Anything else need to be wired?


Joe

joeyprice is offline   Quote
Old 06-17-2018, 03:48 PM   #2
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyprice View Post
I'm trying to wire up the harness for install. The Maestro came with a harness that has a TON of wires on it, I can't figure out which of these need to be wired to the CH1. I am assuming red is power and goes to red on the CH1 and the black/grey stripe is ground and goes to black, is that right? Anything else need to be wired?


Joe
I'm not sure about your radio, but I just installed a Kenwood bells and whistles and a Maestro in my Jeep. The maestro came prewired with some other T-harness and the Maestro wires that were not needed were still in the box. So, as long as you wire from the radio to the Maestro using the same color connections you should be good. At first I wired the "spare" power wire that came with the Maestro into the Maestro. Duh. I needed to connect the power wire from the radio to the Maestro. You will have wires left over.

allikanbe is offline   Quote
Old 06-17-2018, 04:35 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by allikanbe View Post
I'm not sure about your radio, but I just installed a Kenwood bells and whistles and a Maestro in my Jeep. The maestro came prewired with some other T-harness and the Maestro wires that were not needed were still in the box. So, as long as you wire from the radio to the Maestro using the same color connections you should be good. At first I wired the "spare" power wire that came with the Maestro into the Maestro. Duh. I needed to connect the power wire from the radio to the Maestro. You will have wires left over.

The harness the Maestro came with has a harness in it with a ton of wires plus 2 that were extra long. One black one with a white/gray stripe and a red one, and a TON of other wires. I figured what ton would left over and wired the black and red the red on the harness that will hook up to the radio. Sounds about right, right?
joeyprice is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2018, 06:23 PM   #4
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 668
My power wire was red, yellow, black if I recall. Plug it between the radio and the maestro.
Did you program the maestro with your computer?
allikanbe is offline   Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 07:13 AM
Thread Starter
  #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by allikanbe View Post
My power wire was red, yellow, black if I recall. Plug it between the radio and the maestro.
Did you program the maestro with your computer?
I have that one too. Are you saying I don't need the harness with the billion wires at all? This one here.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180618_074219_1529323970090.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	162.9 KB
ID:	4068945  
joeyprice is offline   Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 11:44 AM
Thread Starter
  #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyprice View Post
I have that one too. Are you saying I don't need the harness with the billion wires at all? This one here.

Well, I broke down and called the support line. I was expecting to get somebody reading a script in Bengaluru or Manila, but i guess Canada hasn't caught on to that whole off-shoring thing. The girl was quite helpful, and turns out I don't know any of the harnesses that came with the unit.



Thanks,
Joe
joeyprice is offline   Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 11:46 AM
Thread Starter
  #7
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
*need and of the harnesses
joeyprice is offline   Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 05:21 PM   #8
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyprice View Post
*need and of the harnesses
yes, that's what I was saying that you will have a bunch of wires left over once you connect the maestro to the radio. Some of the other wires match up colorwise, but if they don't connect the maestro with the radio, then they are useless.

allikanbe is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC