91 yj radio wiring questions? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-26-2016, 01:58 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
rusty_wangler91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Joplin, Mo
Posts: 314
91 yj radio wiring questions?

well i seem to be having some issues figuring out which wire and where to get my ignition +12v for my radio install.

a bit of back story here. my 91 yj is a super base model. im even doubting that it even came stock with any radio installed at all. there is no radio wiring harness at all. ive checked it al the way back to the dash wiring loom. the previous owner hacked together a make shift circuit for the previous radio that was in the jeep when i got it. but... he connected it all with wire nuts, finger twisted together wires and loosely wrapped electrical tape... in the dark going over bumps i could see arching under the dash. so in an attempt to save my jeep from a fiery demise i pulled that mess out from under the dash... it truly was scary seeing how close to an electrical fire my jeep was...

but alas its now a year down the road and ive got the inkling to try my hand at putting together my own harness for a proper radio installation...

my question is this. after putting in a dedicated +12v w/ inline fuse block. where is a good place to splice into the ign +12v? i dont really want to go straight off of the ign module. but is there like an add a fuse provision in the fuse block that i could take advantage of?

i know this may sound like a total newb question but this poor jeep has been hacked on by many a previous owner and ive been doing my best to get it back to a reasonable balance of super questionable choices and prudent/thoughtful repairs...

wiring has never been my thing. ever... give me a motor or tranny that needs work or something to build and im our man. but wiring. oh how i despise it... oh so much.

any and all help is appreciated. thanks for the help in advance.

rusty_wangler91 is offline   Quote
Old 08-16-2016, 07:55 PM   #2
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Mill Creek Washington
Posts: 3
You could tap in to Fuse box at Fuse 4 (15amp) using an add a circuit, link for example: https://www.amazon.com/AutoEC-21AMP-...+circuit&psc=1. This fuse is hot with the Key in Acc or Run position. If you go this route I would run a relay so you aren't loading up an existing circuit. This is a little easier than hunting down a wire under the (that may no longer exist) dash by color code.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Switch power location.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	57.6 KB
ID:	3203777  

Leafs is offline   Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 01:01 AM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
rusty_wangler91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Joplin, Mo
Posts: 314
thanks much man thats actually the way i went. i got an add a circuit from autozone and it all worked out great!
rusty_wangler91 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.