Another headlight thread - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-19-2012, 08:18 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
BlueRidgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,917
Hello again all ya'll. Nothing really new here, just another take on a great, inexpensive mod.

So I went ahead and did the headlight relay upgrade on my 94 YJ - oh what a difference it makes. I typically run 2 aux 3x5 55W lights, today I didn't, and my ride home was brighter with only my HLs on. Huge difference with the brights on, Trump "Huuuge".

I wanted to keep any possibilities of alternator fluctuation out of the lights, so I wired straight from the battery (fused) 8ga to (2) 12ga, feeding ea relay, then on to the lights. I disconnected the drivers harness which feeds the pass side, so I just crimped the wires together and taped up the harness. Then I took the pass side apart and used the pos lines to feed their respective relay. I ran a simple ground by T crimping a 14ga and running it to ground. I mounted my relays on an aluminum bar I had. I bent it out to give an inch gap from the relay mount to the fender (so I didn't put a bunch of holes in the fender, only 2), and left enough room for 6 or 7 relays. (I know, pics coming )

Now I just have to decide if my 3x5s are staying independent switch, wired to low beams, or put 100W in and connect to high beam. Problem is, in VA I am legally allowed 2 HLs, 2 fogs, and 2 driving lights uncovered onroad. So I can add fogs to the low beam, and thats winning in my idea tank right now - fogs with low and driving with high. That or keep the 3x5s independent. Not sure where I would mount fogs, I have my 3x5s on the bumper and am going to add a roof rack in the future so I am hesitant to windshield mount them. Thoughts?

While I was at it I ran new 4ga to the starter, primary fuse box, and engine ground. I updated the firewall ground with new 8ga and got my battery connections all sorted. Starts very easily now, you can hear the difference in the starter motor. Didn't do anything about the alternator primary, what does it feed? It seemed to disappear off into the harness. You guys switch that one out too?

__________________
“Coming of age in a fascist police state will not be a barrel of fun for anybody, much less for people like me, who are not inclined to suffer Nazis gladly and feel only contempt for the cowardly flag-suckers who would gladly give up their outdated freedom to live for the mess of pottage they have been conned into believing will be freedom from fear.”
BlueRidgeYJ is offline   Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 09:22 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
eboven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Black Hawk, CO
Posts: 681
I've been planning my lighting system for several months, sounds like you're doing more or less what I plan to; glad to hear it turned out well.

I upgraded all my power/ground wiring in my TJ. The alternator's output cable was like a 6 gauge wire that ran to the fusebox, then to the battery, so I upgraded it to a true 4 gauge like the rest of the circuit's wiring. The alternator is the primary source of power when the Jeep's running, so it's definitely worth it to upgrade that too.

eboven is offline   Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 06:11 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
BlueRidgeYJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4,917
It turned out great. You will be happy, I'm sure.

That is pretty much what I was thinking, 4>6, lol. Does it go to the aux fuse box or the primary fuse box? I couldn't find it on the primary (under hood), so I figured I'd ask before tearing into it.

Thanks.
__________________
“Coming of age in a fascist police state will not be a barrel of fun for anybody, much less for people like me, who are not inclined to suffer Nazis gladly and feel only contempt for the cowardly flag-suckers who would gladly give up their outdated freedom to live for the mess of pottage they have been conned into believing will be freedom from fear.”
BlueRidgeYJ is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2012, 10:17 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
eboven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Black Hawk, CO
Posts: 681
Mine went directly to the main fusebox under the hood, but it was terminated at a common terminal with the cable that runs from the battery to the fusebox. I upgraded all of this wiring to 4awg and the Jeep's been starting more smoothly ever since.
eboven is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.