Audio Installer VT/NH/MA/CT Area - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-27-2018, 09:36 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Vermont
Posts: 37
Audio Installer VT/NH/MA/CT Area

I live in Vermont and don't know any reputable installers for a new audio system.

I want to replace the stock 430 unit with something that has Apple Car Play and better interface in general.

I can easily get to NH/MA and will be in CT later in July. Can anyone in the VT/NH/MA or even CT area recommend solid shop to do the work for me? My wife won't let me do it myself and she probably has a point.

THanks

VT4x4 is offline   Quote
Old 06-27-2018, 11:11 AM   #2
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Iowa
Posts: 529
Sorry no recommendations regarding installers, but...


Tell your wife that with the money you'll save doing it yourself, she can buy a nice pair of shoes, or whatever she's into.


Seriously though, if you decide to do it yourself there are a lot of people here that can help you through it. It isn't that hard.

crazychile is offline   Quote
Old 06-27-2018, 03:44 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Vermont
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazychile View Post
Sorry no recommendations regarding installers, but...


Tell your wife that with the money you'll save doing it yourself, she can buy a nice pair of shoes, or whatever she's into.


Seriously though, if you decide to do it yourself there are a lot of people here that can help you through it. It isn't that hard.
Thanks. Issue I have is I am a Mac guy and seems to need a windows machine to reconnect all steering wheel function. Unless I am missing something. I guess I could borrow one of I can find one.
VT4x4 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2018, 08:22 AM   #4
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Iowa
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by VT4x4 View Post
Thanks. Issue I have is I am a Mac guy and seems to need a windows machine to reconnect all steering wheel function. Unless I am missing something. I guess I could borrow one of I can find one.

I'm a Mac (and Linux) guy too. I programmed the Maestro box on my wifes laptop. Honestly the Maestro install and setup was probably the most difficult part of it, but really not that bad. You can do the Maestro wiring harness prep work on the test bench ahead of time which is 90% of the work. I soldered and used heatshrink, etc, but you dont have to go that far as long as you have secure connections. For me it's quicker to just solder.


Originally I was going to have a local guy do my head unit install because my free time is worth a lot of money to me. But the estimates came in between $300-400 including the Maestro and mounting kit. They wouldn't just do labor only which still would have been high. I spent a couple of hours on a Saturday morning to install mine and saved about $150-200. That was worth it to me. And I tend to work very slowly and carefully.


Crutchfield is your friend and they can get you all the kits/Maestro options you need at a discount when you buy a head unit from them.
crazychile is offline   Quote
Old 06-30-2018, 07:03 AM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Vermont
Posts: 37
Thanks. What head unit did you go with?
VT4x4 is offline   Quote
Old 06-30-2018, 05:35 PM   #6
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
wayne d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Blairsville, Georgia
Posts: 999
Go to crutchfield. I just replaced my head unit with a sony. Every bit of it was plug and play except one wire I had to soldier for the backup up camera. I would even bet if you asked they would put a plug on it for you.
__________________
Best regards from Georgia.
Now Pass the Rum!
Wayne,
2014 Anvil JKU
Thanks to all those that have served and are still serving protecting the freedoms we love.
wayne d is offline   Quote
Old 06-30-2018, 05:37 PM   #7
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
wayne d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Blairsville, Georgia
Posts: 999
And the dash is super easy to pull apart. 4 screws, 3 AC vents and that's it.
__________________
Best regards from Georgia.
Now Pass the Rum!
Wayne,
2014 Anvil JKU
Thanks to all those that have served and are still serving protecting the freedoms we love.
wayne d is offline   Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 05:37 AM   #8
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 668
I put in a Kenwood from Crutchfield about a month ago. This was relatively painless. For the most part, all the wire connectors can only go in one place. The 3 prong male wire can only fit in the 3 prong female connector and so on.

I suggest that you disconnect the battery before starting the install. I had one question along the way and called Crutchfield for the answer. They were very helpful and knowledgeable.
allikanbe is offline   Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 08:23 AM   #9
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Iowa
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by VT4x4 View Post
Thanks. What head unit did you go with?

I bought a Pioneer NEX 4200 when it was on clearance about a year and a half ago. Go to Crutchfield and look at whats available. I prefer to stick with the better known stuff like Pioneer, Alpine, Kenwood. Sony is probably Ok too but I don't like their ergonomics personally.
crazychile is offline   Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 01:06 PM
Thread Starter
  #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Vermont
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayne d View Post
Go to crutchfield. I just replaced my head unit with a sony. Every bit of it was plug and play except one wire I had to soldier for the backup up camera. I would even bet if you asked they would put a plug on it for you.
I like the look of the Sony head units. What model did you go with? When you say plug and play were you able to keep all your steerer remote controls? USB in the center console? NO need for hooking up a laptop to match everything?

I was thinking about this https://www.crutchfield.com/p_158XAV...000.html?avf=Y
VT4x4 is offline   Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 01:16 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
screwlose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 617
Any Mac user should know about... BootCamp
If not click it and open a whole new world of options.



And although Maestro is the best option there are other options available also.
Dig around on Crutchfield and they will show you plenty of other products.

screwlose is online now   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC