cb splice in? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-12-2010, 03:34 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
mudslinger150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VT
Posts: 1,128
cb splice in?

I have a Midland 1001z 40 channel at the moment. It seems that at best i'll get maybe 2 miles of distance out of it. My buddy just gave me a Cobra model CB it's twice the size and looks a little more legit.

Instead of re wiring the new Cobra would i be able cut the ground and positive wires before the fuse on the Midland setup and solder in the Cobra....

Currently the Midland setup gets it's power from the cigarette lighter and is grounded behind the dash, so the Cobra would run off that same setup too if i just swapped out cb's.

Maybe i should make quick connectors so i could apply any CB to that setup...

I just want to know if it would be a good idea and if there would be any problems with doing this. Also i should get greater range out of the more legit cb right?

__________________
Mitch

Vermont
The Green Mountain State

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3821222

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20dGUB6uJcQ
mudslinger150 is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 03:45 PM   #2
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 48,393
Limited range is usually the fault of the antenna and not the CB. Antennas need to be installed correctly and equally importantly, tuned by adjusting its length to match the CB frequencies. The antenna's length MUST be adjusted to the correct height so the CB can transmit with all of its potential power. Have you connected an SWR meter to your antenna to see how well it is tuned? A CB shop can easily check it out & tune it for you but an SWR meter is less than $20 at your local Fry's or Radio Shack & it's not hard or technical to tune your own antenna by using the SWR meter.

__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 04:08 PM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
mudslinger150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VT
Posts: 1,128
I have used my SWR meter, i get a 1.5-2.0 reading on channels 1-40, on channel 19 Im at 1.7 ish. This is why i feel my cb is damaged or something, it really doesn't transmit well...I was hoping that it is ok to splice in a new cb and i would be able to get greater distance. The new/old Cobra cb has a built in SWR. Below is a picture of my swr meter.
__________________
Mitch

Vermont
The Green Mountain State

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3821222

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20dGUB6uJcQ
mudslinger150 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2010, 04:09 PM
Thread Starter
  #4
Jeeper
 
mudslinger150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VT
Posts: 1,128
Jerry do you happen to have a picture of your antenna setup for your cb? not to see setup instructions but to see what you personally are running and how.

Thanks
__________________
Mitch

Vermont
The Green Mountain State

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3821222

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20dGUB6uJcQ
mudslinger150 is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 04:13 PM   #5
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 48,393
I don't have any pics with me here at work but I can take a pic or two this weekend for you. PM me tomorrow to remind me.

And a 1.5 to 2.0 SWR is not bad but I like to get mine below 1.5. What does the SWR meter say the transmitter is transmitting with? In the "Forward" direction, the SWR meter will indicate how many watts the CB is putting out. Close to 4 watts should be expected.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 04:40 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,772
Jerry is as usual, correct. 4 watts of power is all you are going to get and I don't know of a CB sold that puts out less (or at least is advertised to).

What length antenna do you have and where is it mounted? Also, I see you are in VT. Is it hilly? CB is line of sight only. Anyone ducking around a hill on the freeway goes out of range too.
stevens243 is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 07:23 PM
Thread Starter
  #7
Jeeper
 
mudslinger150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VT
Posts: 1,128
Hilly is and understatement...I have a 4' Firestik (tuneable tip) antenna mounted on the stock tire carrier on a bracket that i made. I get atleast 2' of clearance over the roof top. I'll take a few pictures of my setup as well, that way i can get some awesome feedback, i'm open to suggestions.

Thanks guys, i'll PM you this weekend Jerry and i'll post up some pictures.
__________________
Mitch

Vermont
The Green Mountain State

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3821222

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20dGUB6uJcQ
mudslinger150 is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 07:36 PM   #8
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 48,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevens243 View Post
CB is line of sight only.
Actually, CB is not line-of-sight due to the fairly low 27 MHz frequency CB operates at. I've worked the world on ham radio on 10 meter which is even slightly higher than CB's 11 meter frequency. It's the higher frequencies like 75-80 MHz and higher where the signals become line of sight. In the right atmospheric conditions, you can talk across the US with CB.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 07:47 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Beachcomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 356
Is the antenna grounded? It must have a good ground for it to radiate properly. If you are mounted on the tire rack I'm not sure it would be grounded well.
Beachcomber is offline   Quote
Old 02-12-2010, 08:20 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
dbbd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 360
And do not believe the SWR meter on the cobra. Although I use them and like them, the SWR meter itself is less than stellar. It will only give you an approximation.
__________________
The opinions of worthless people, are worthless.

The only problem that you have with anyone in this world, is what you expect of them.

Society is no match for a stupid person.

"Life Is tough but it is tougher when you are stupid"

-John Wayne
dbbd1 is offline   Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 01:12 PM
Thread Starter
  #11
Jeeper
 
mudslinger150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VT
Posts: 1,128
Here is my CB setup, and the CD player i installed the other day...

I am open to and advice, i realize that my mount is a bit rusty and that my nylon washer is on the bottom....But i actually get transmition and a good ground when its setup like that so must be i have something shorting out or something.....I'm a mess i just really need someone to come over and set this up for me. With this setup i get 1.5-2.0 from channels 1-40...
__________________
Mitch

Vermont
The Green Mountain State

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3821222

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20dGUB6uJcQ
mudslinger150 is offline   Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 01:14 PM
Thread Starter
  #12
Jeeper
 
mudslinger150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VT
Posts: 1,128
.
__________________
Mitch

Vermont
The Green Mountain State

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3821222

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20dGUB6uJcQ
mudslinger150 is offline   Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 01:18 PM
Thread Starter
  #13
Jeeper
 
mudslinger150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VT
Posts: 1,128
before and after, day one to current
__________________
Mitch

Vermont
The Green Mountain State

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3821222

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20dGUB6uJcQ
mudslinger150 is offline   Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 02:14 PM   #14
Knows a couple things...

WF Supporting Member
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Escondido, Calif.
Posts: 48,393
When you installed your mount, did you grind away all of the paint between where it mounts to the tire carrier and at the bottom of the top part where the antenna mount washer & lock nut secures it? Those parts must be bare metal to bare metal so the antenna can get as good of an RF ground as it can which is important to having a low SWR. An RF ground is different and far more demanding than a simple DC ground is. An ohmmeter or continuity tester might indicate a good DC ground which can easily be insufficient for the RF ground (it requires a larger surface area) an antenna requires.

The external rust on your mount is no problem so long as there is no rust between it and the tire mount and and on the bottom surface at the top where the antenna mount's washer & nut must make a good electrical contact with it.

Here are the pics you asked for of my radios & antennas... the CB antenna is on the left, the 2m ham antenna is on the right.
__________________
When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is online now   Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 05:47 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Beachcomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 356
Your bracket looks like it has gray paint on it. The paint must be removed where it bolts to the tire rack and where the bolt heads are. Also I don't see a insulator between the antenna and the bracket instead I see what looks like a metal washer. Take a close look at Jerry's photos and you will see a insulating washer between the bracket and antenna.
Beachcomber is offline   Quote
Old 02-13-2010, 07:33 PM
Thread Starter
  #16
Jeeper
 
mudslinger150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VT
Posts: 1,128
Thank you Jerry for posting up some pictures of your setup. Yes, my bracket is bare metal between the mounting surface and the tire carrier. But it is insulated on the bottom side of the top where the antenna mounts and it is bare on the top of the antenna mounting surface, sounds like it needs to be bare on the bottom and insulated on the top with the nylon nut on the top as well. I have my insulator on the bottom on the painted surface. What i will do is take that bracket off, grind it clean, re spray it completely except the very bottom on the mounting surface and the bottom of the top antenna mount.

I wonder if this will result in a better signal and longer range? We'll find out.

Thanks Again, I'll keep you all posted.
__________________
Mitch

Vermont
The Green Mountain State

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3821222

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20dGUB6uJcQ
mudslinger150 is offline   Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 10:57 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Actually, CB is not line-of-sight due to the fairly low 27 MHz frequency CB operates at. I've worked the world on ham radio on 10 meter which is even slightly higher than CB's 11 meter frequency. It's the higher frequencies like 75-80 MHz and higher where the signals become line of sight. In the right atmospheric conditions, you can talk across the US with CB.
Jerry, Ham and CB are worlds apart.

That said, you MAY be able to communicate on CB for longer distances using bounce but try to RELY on it. Better yet, try to RELY on the bounce when you are a mile apart and on the other side of the hill in Vermont. Not gonna happen except once every hundred years (on a day with a closed ionosphere, no sun spots and a perfect bounce).
stevens243 is offline   Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 05:16 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phila
Posts: 3,466
Agree with Jerry and Beachcomber; (posts #9 & #14). You need a ground and not just to the tailgate. The "antenna" is only half of it, the other half is the "ground plane", "counterpoise", whatever you would like to refer to it. Physically it's the jeeps body. You need that big piece of metal connected. Add a nice strap between the antenna mounting bracket (or the tailgate) and the body. The most flexible would be a piece of braid, but you can use wire. Put lugs on each end and scrape the paint under the lugs. A good solid electrical connection.
sparky is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 09:44 AM
Thread Starter
  #19
Jeeper
 
mudslinger150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VT
Posts: 1,128
Now to eliminate the entire issue I'm not opposed to buying the Rear tailight CB antenna mount. But....From what I have herd I will need to grind the paint away from behind the tailight so the antenna mount gets a good ground on the body..Now if i do that wont that area start to rust?

Also aren't some of those mounts powder coated? So I will need to grind the paint off the mount and body of the jeep on the contact sides for ground.
__________________
Mitch

Vermont
The Green Mountain State

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3821222

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20dGUB6uJcQ
mudslinger150 is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 10:03 AM
Thread Starter
  #20
Jeeper
 
mudslinger150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VT
Posts: 1,128
What is different about the Fire Ring setup...
__________________
Mitch

Vermont
The Green Mountain State

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3821222

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20dGUB6uJcQ
mudslinger150 is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 03:18 PM
Thread Starter
  #21
Jeeper
 
mudslinger150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Northern VT
Posts: 1,128
__________________
Mitch

Vermont
The Green Mountain State

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3821222

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=20dGUB6uJcQ
mudslinger150 is offline   Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 01:25 PM   #22
Newb
 
Mudderoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Katy, TX (Near Houston)
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Actually, CB is not line-of-sight due to the fairly low 27 MHz frequency CB operates at. I've worked the world on ham radio on 10 meter which is even slightly higher than CB's 11 meter frequency. It's the higher frequencies like 75-80 MHz and higher where the signals become line of sight. In the right atmospheric conditions, you can talk across the US with CB.
Hey Jerry I was searching the Internet for some RF grounding information and I saw your post. Actually 27 MHz is line of site. What makes it more than line of site (from time to time) isn't atmospherics but the electrically, or ionized, region of a belt of ion's that surround the Earth, aptly called the Ionosphere.

High energy particles given off by the Sun strike the ionosphere and cause it to become reflective to a wide range of radio waves. The higher the frequency the more of the radio energy escapes into space. The "useful" part of terrestrial communication reflective energy is generally above 50 MHz, also called 6 meters.

Atmospheric reflection occurs for 144 Mhz and perhaps lower say 100 MHz. Temperature inversions can reflect 2 meter signals. I have held conversations with someone 4 miles away from me in Houston, through a repeater in Arkansas. Silly but fun to do.

You can also hold very brief conversations during a meteor shower, generally people that do this use high speed Morse code. The meteor creates very reflective ionized trails. Some people even use the Moon to hold conversations hundreds and even thousands of miles away.

I realize you probably know most of these things, but I thought some of the other people might enjoy hearing about it. I've been messing around with two way radio since I was 16 and it still amazes me how the stuff works.

__________________
www.xjtalk.com
Mudderoy is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.