Factory GPS display? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-19-2009, 06:27 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 18
Factory GPS display?

I hate to admit it, I'm a tech savy guy, but this GPS is a RPITA. Any help is appreciated.

Another problem I'm seeing with my factory installed GPS...The unit (display lighting) is not automatically changing from day to night. The setup lets me adjust day & night briteness individually, but when placed in auto, it stays on the last one selected. Is it me or the unit?

09jk is offline   Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 06:56 PM   #2
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
We are having this same issue with gps in 2012 jkur. Got any ideas on how to fix?

Kf4pwb is offline   Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 07:09 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
mzbrandi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lake Tahoe California
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kf4pwb
We are having this same issue with gps in 2012 jkur. Got any ideas on how to fix?
If I understand correctly is that the GPS lighting will not change from day to night or back? Check the turn signal dash dimmer. There is a spot that makes GPS lighting stay bright or shades of dim.
__________________
321 SMW Grand Forks AFB, ND 1979 - 1987
----------------------------
If it's tourist season, why can't we shoot them.
mzbrandi is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2012, 12:24 PM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzbrandi View Post
If I understand correctly is that the GPS lighting will not change from day to night or back? Check the turn signal dash dimmer. There is a spot that makes GPS lighting stay bright or shades of dim.
correct. but there is a definite difference between day and night setting when setting it through the gps unit. not just dimming the daytime setting with the turn signal dash dimmer. when we set it to auto dim on the gps unit, it should change to night mode automatically like all my other gps units do
Kf4pwb is offline   Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 01:06 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
whiteyjfm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: La Quinta CA
Posts: 590
If I remember correctly, you have to turn the dash dimmer to the max and then one click back. Then the GPS will dim auto when the lights go on. Ours works that way and look just like all the other cars we had with a GPS.
whiteyjfm is offline   Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:58 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteyjfm View Post
If I remember correctly, you have to turn the dash dimmer to the max and then one click back. Then the GPS will dim auto when the lights go on. Ours works that way and look just like all the other cars we had with a GPS.
That's exactly it. I think that's what the other guy was saying but I didn't pick up on it until tonight when I was messing around with it.
Kf4pwb is offline   Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:03 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
SlackerMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MoCo,MD
Posts: 552
there is also a setting for this in the GPS menu...the auto night mode changes the GPS map background to black.
SlackerMD is offline   Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 06:46 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
New Jeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 310
Been there! Did that! Felt like a dope! Yes if you have the dash lights on full bright, the radio/GPS does not dim when you turn on the lights. One click from full bright and the automatic setting actually works. Took me awhile to figure that one out. Once again, the radio manual is poor!

New Jeep is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory softtop or factory hardtop....which one?? Jeep2175 TJ General Discussion Forum 6 04-19-2008 12:37 AM
2008 Jeep Sahara - Aftermarket Stereo problem with factory amp Haloshot Communications and Electronics 0 11-27-2007 02:35 PM





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.