Head unit - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-06-2012, 04:38 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 94
Head unit

If you have the stock jk head unit without the touchscreen/navi are you able to put in a kenwood aftermarket touch screen one without having to cut

Jeeperforever is offline   Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 04:58 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Jma20a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fairfield, CT
Posts: 3,042
Nope, just need a wire harness to wire up

__________________
Dear Algebra, Please stop asking us to find your X. She's never coming back and don't ask Y.
Jma20a is offline   Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 05:30 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeeperforever View Post
If you have the stock jk head unit without the touchscreen/navi are you able to put in a kenwood aftermarket touch screen one without having to cut
Crutchfield claims the bracket inside the dash will need to be modified.
davefr is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-06-2012, 11:23 PM
Thread Starter
  #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 94
But the hole in the dash will be big enough for the touchscreen one to fit in?
Jeeperforever is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 02:32 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Lynskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 894
The opening in the dash will be adequate for a Double DIN unit. If you have the 130, you will need a new bezel to fill the gap. And if using the DD unit, you will have to remove the support bracket located inside of the dash. It is fairly easy.
Lynskey is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 03:22 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 72
I apologize if this is a dumb question, but I've always been a believer that aftermarket is better than factory when it comes to audio / DVD / GPS / etc.

Does the 130 radio include steering wheel mounted controls? I would like to avoid the hassle of going aftermarket but having steering wheel controls that are unuseable. I'd just as soon do without them.
HD_Rider is offline   Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 04:43 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD_Rider View Post
I apologize if this is a dumb question, but I've always been a believer that aftermarket is better than factory when it comes to audio / DVD / GPS / etc.
That's a pretty safe assumption assuming your talking about the higher end aftermarket units like Pioneer/Kenwood. However Jeep acoustics aren't the best. Going for the ultimate audio experience is like putting lipstick on a pig.

Quote:
Does the 130 radio include steering wheel mounted controls? I would like to avoid the hassle of going aftermarket but having steering wheel controls that are unuseable. I'd just as soon do without them.
You get full steering wheel controls with 130 if you also order the connectivity package option. Aftermarket is a hassle because you'll need a bunch of accessories and kludge adapters to make everything work. (Along with a big investment of time to install and run wire to everything). That's one of the tradeoffs.

If you want basic Garmin NAV and good audio you can always upgrade from 130 to 430 (RHB) and it's plug and play. (ie 10 minute swap) Everything works assuming you also have the Connectivity option (for uconnect) and Alpine premium audio (for combined GPS and Sirius antenna).
davefr is offline   Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 10:55 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Lynskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 894
^^ Correct. The Connectivity package is the key. If you have Connectivity, you have the stereo buttons on the back of the steering wheel. That is how mine came. In fact I purchased mine with the base 130/Connectivity becasue I knew I was installing a completely new system.

Just get the correct harness PAC-SWI for your harness and you will be able to program the buttons to the new HU. Super simple.

Also any good quality aftermarket HU will be 10x better than the stockers. Not sure about the 430 but the 730 apparently has RCA outs to help with amp/speaker/sub installs. But I am not sure if it does 2 or 3 sets (fronts, rears, sub).

Most good aftermarket HU will have 3 sets of RCA outs and will be 4v or 5v. That really makes life easy. Also most HU have complete adjustability and EQ settings plus High pass/Low Pass settings. That and a good amp will provide you with endless settings on aftermarket speakers.

Lynskey is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC