Installing aftermarket HU with Maestro RR - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-04-2017, 10:21 PM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 48
Installing aftermarket HU with Maestro RR

Hi all!

I just received all of my supplies to install a new Pioneer 4200NEX in my '17 JKU, and have a question about connecting the Maestro RR to my OBD2 port. When doing my research for the install I read there was a plug to plug in to the OBD port, but now the website is saying that I should be splicing wires. Which is it? I really don't want to cut/splice into any of my wires, and am getting confused with the conflicting info.

I really appreciate the help, can't wait to ditch the crappy 130!

iliekdrugs is offline   Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 06:57 AM   #2
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
TerryC6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hesperia, CA
Posts: 6,677
I have heard of people using a plug, problem is you have to disconnect it every time the port needs to be connected for service. It is simple to splice and you will have other things to splice as well, namely power. This makes life much easier:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XD6QS4T...detail_0?psc=1

FYI: Always a good idea to label wires so if you sell the rig someone knows what is what.

__________________
Terry

35" Baja MTZ P3's - Level 8 Tracker Pro 5 Wheels - Dynatrac ProGrip Brakes - MetalCloak 2.5" GC Suspension, 6Pak Edition - Griffin Attenuator - Artec Front Axle Armor - Nitro Axle Sleeves - JCR Vanguard Bumpers - Poison Spyder Brawler Rockers & Bombshell Diff Covers - RockHard 4x4 Skid's & Sport Cage - Genesis Dual Battery Kit with G Screen - SPOD - Zeon 10-S - VisionX headlights - Traildash 2 - Morris Mule Trailer
TerryC6 is offline   Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 07:32 AM   #3
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Iowa
Posts: 529
I plugged mine in directly to the OBD port. It's easy to get to, should I need to disconnect. Maybe I'm missing something but to me leaving it stock in this regard seems less obtrusive with only a very minor downside.
crazychile is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2017, 08:19 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Dan_Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Danbury, CT
Posts: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazychile View Post
I plugged mine in directly to the OBD port. It's easy to get to, should I need to disconnect. Maybe I'm missing something but to me leaving it stock in this regard seems less obtrusive with only a very minor downside.


Agreed, itís a plug. No reason to go cutting wires.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
2016 White Willys 2dr: Teraflex Leveled, Spidertrax 1.5, Pioneer 4200nex, kicker speaker upgrade, Rockford Fosgate PS-8, Stubby Ant. EAutogrilles rock crawler, Wild Boar grabs, Westin nerf bars
Dan_Z is offline   Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 09:28 AM
Thread Starter
  #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazychile View Post
I plugged mine in directly to the OBD port. It's easy to get to, should I need to disconnect. Maybe I'm missing something but to me leaving it stock in this regard seems less obtrusive with only a very minor downside.
What did you actually plug into the port? My Maestro RR didnít come with anything that looks like it would match the OBD port
iliekdrugs is offline   Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 12:35 PM
Thread Starter
  #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 48
Okay, took a look at the Maestro CH1 I also bought and it looks like that is what plugs into the port! Confused that they wouldn't tell you that in the super detailed installation instructions they provide
iliekdrugs is offline   Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 08:45 AM   #7
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Iowa
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by iliekdrugs View Post
Okay, took a look at the Maestro CH1 I also bought and it looks like that is what plugs into the port! Confused that they wouldn't tell you that in the super detailed installation instructions they provide
So....I'm pretty good with electronics, schematics, etc. and have a lot of years experience with consumer electronics both professionally and on a hobbyist level. I'm also an engineer so I do all sorts of techie crap on a daily basis. I've even written a few user manuals in the past.

Having said that, the Maestro instructions leave a bit to be desired. Sure there are a lot of capabilities and options, but I had to read the diagrams and on-line materials several times to figure it out. There were some wires that simply were not needed, and then figuring what connects to the various plugs on the Maestro box can take a little time. I guess thats the price you pay for having a box that works with so many different vehicles.

So it's totally understandable that it takes a bit to get this set up correctly.
crazychile is offline   Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 01:17 AM
Thread Starter
  #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazychile View Post
So....I'm pretty good with electronics, schematics, etc. and have a lot of years experience with consumer electronics both professionally and on a hobbyist level. I'm also an engineer so I do all sorts of techie crap on a daily basis. I've even written a few user manuals in the past.

Having said that, the Maestro instructions leave a bit to be desired. Sure there are a lot of capabilities and options, but I had to read the diagrams and on-line materials several times to figure it out. There were some wires that simply were not needed, and then figuring what connects to the various plugs on the Maestro box can take a little time. I guess thats the price you pay for having a box that works with so many different vehicles.

So it's totally understandable that it takes a bit to get this set up correctly.
Yeah the instructions could have been a little more helpful, but surprisingly I got the wiring right on the first try! My main gripes would be the quality of the Metra mounting kit, and the lack of sturdiness without the factory metal bracket installed. I'll have to do some finagling with the mounting because the headunit can't clear the dash to remove the faceplate, and I need to saw off the bottom of the metal bracket so I can reinstall it for some more stability.

Overall, stock speakers sound much better, although I'm ordering the wiring needed to replace them. I also miss the volume knob, it works much better than buttons
iliekdrugs is offline   Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 09:42 AM   #9
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
TerryC6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hesperia, CA
Posts: 6,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by iliekdrugs View Post
I'll have to do some finagling with the mounting because the headunit can't clear the dash to remove the faceplate, and I need to saw off the bottom of the metal bracket so I can reinstall it for some more stability.
I had some old 1/2 strapping laying around that I made a bracket that attaches to the rear of the H/U and to a existing screw on the firewall. Steady as a rock even in the wash boards.

__________________
Terry

35" Baja MTZ P3's - Level 8 Tracker Pro 5 Wheels - Dynatrac ProGrip Brakes - MetalCloak 2.5" GC Suspension, 6Pak Edition - Griffin Attenuator - Artec Front Axle Armor - Nitro Axle Sleeves - JCR Vanguard Bumpers - Poison Spyder Brawler Rockers & Bombshell Diff Covers - RockHard 4x4 Skid's & Sport Cage - Genesis Dual Battery Kit with G Screen - SPOD - Zeon 10-S - VisionX headlights - Traildash 2 - Morris Mule Trailer
TerryC6 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC