Jeep stock radio - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > General Jeep Discussions > Communications and Electronics

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-25-2016, 01:39 AM
Thread Starter
  #1
Jeeper
 
tori42387's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: DMV area DC MD VA PA
Posts: 30
Jeep stock radio

2016 black bear wrangler. No alpine upgrade. Will replacing this with an aftermarket pioneer or alpine.. affect my sound?..even if I've already changed out my sound bar speakers.

Will it enhance it?
How so?

tori42387 is offline   Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 03:07 AM   #2
::WF Moderator::

5-Year WF Supporting Member
WF Lifetime Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: AZ. In the Ponderosa Pine Country, where the Bears are hungry..
Posts: 26,092
I moved your Thread to the Electronics Forum. You should receive more response in this Forum!

__________________
1974 CJ5, 2003 TJ, 2013 2 door Black Rubicon, auto, with 4.10 ratio.
Shaking at 40-70 MPH, Read this!!!

The Mighty Grizzly is not concerned,
with
the needs of the Hunter....


Click here and become a WF supporting Member
Old Dogger is online now   Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 03:57 AM
Thread Starter
  #3
Jeeper
 
tori42387's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: DMV area DC MD VA PA
Posts: 30
Thanks I realized I posted it in the wrong area after a few days. Newbie. Lol. Thanks
tori42387 is offline   Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-27-2016, 08:41 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 57
I put in a Pioneer AVH-4100NEX and it made the factory speakers sound better and more power. That lead to Focal speakers and JL amps and Sub. Now it's better. : )
Jules.1 is offline   Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 09:13 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Excoastie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Bossier City, LA
Posts: 1,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by tori42387 View Post
2016 black bear wrangler. No alpine upgrade. Will replacing this with an aftermarket pioneer or alpine.. affect my sound?..even if I've already changed out my sound bar speakers.

Will it enhance it?
How so?

Replacing anything in the system should result in improvements in sound quality. A new head unit and speakers can make a world of difference.

Add an amp (or two or three) and a sub (or two) and you'll get even better results.

good luck

Exco
__________________
JKRHR, SOLD!
Build Thread
---------------------------------------------------
I'm going outside to stand.
If anyone asks, I'm OUTSTANDING
Excoastie is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 04:39 AM
Thread Starter
  #6
Jeeper
 
tori42387's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: DMV area DC MD VA PA
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Excoastie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tori42387 View Post
2016 black bear wrangler. No alpine upgrade. Will replacing this with an aftermarket pioneer or alpine.. affect my sound?..even if I've already changed out my sound bar speakers.

Will it enhance it?
How so?

Replacing anything in the system should result in improvements in sound quality. A new head unit and speakers can make a world of difference.

Add an amp (or two or three) and a sub (or two) and you'll get even better results.

good luck

Exco
Thanks will do. Now I only need to decided factory head unit or aftermarket. I have a sun amp but will be getting one for the speakers now that you mentioned it.
tori42387 is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 04:42 AM
Thread Starter
  #7
Jeeper
 
tori42387's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: DMV area DC MD VA PA
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jules.1 View Post
I put in a Pioneer AVH-4100NEX and it made the factory speakers sound better and more power. That lead to Focal speakers and JL amps and Sub. Now it's better. : )
I just looked at some focals. Didn't know they exist. Those must be the best speakers EVER. With that price tag. They even look fancy. Lol.
tori42387 is offline   Quote
Old 05-28-2016, 07:02 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
37Olivestreetbrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Danbury
Posts: 182
I put an alpine ine s920 in with alpine power pack amp under glovebox and changed out sound bar speakers. It's now kicking out great sound. I have now wiring or other beneficial skill and with Youtube and crutchfield I was able to do it.
37Olivestreetbrews is offline   Quote
Old 05-29-2016, 11:47 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
rollinrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sierra Nevada Gold Country
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by 37Olivestreetbrews View Post
I put an alpine ine s920 in with alpine power pack amp under glovebox and changed out sound bar speakers. It's now kicking out great sound. I have now wiring or other beneficial skill and with Youtube and crutchfield I was able to do it.
Does the factory wiring handle the amp or did you run a wire to the battery?

I just got a Alpine head unit and the 445a amp. If I understand the Jeep manual correctly the factory radio is on a 15 amp fuse.
rollinrob is offline   Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 09:29 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
37Olivestreetbrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Danbury
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollinrob View Post
Does the factory wiring handle the amp or did you run a wire to the battery? I just got a Alpine head unit and the 445a amp. If I understand the Jeep manual correctly the factory radio is on a 15 amp fuse.
The alpine power pack amp does not need a separate power supply that's the beauty of it. It's more like that extra little power. The radio harness plugs into that and then into the speaker harness if I remember right. I specifically chose that amp because it was plug and play with the alpine head unit.
37Olivestreetbrews is offline   Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 10:37 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
terpsmandan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Penn Yan, NY
Posts: 1,915
I had one in my TJ and it is a great little unit. If I were going Alpine, I wouldn't go without one.
terpsmandan is offline   Quote
Old 05-30-2016, 07:20 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
rollinrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sierra Nevada Gold Country
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by 37Olivestreetbrews View Post

The alpine power pack amp does not need a separate power supply that's the beauty of it. It's more like that extra little power. The radio harness plugs into that and then into the speaker harness if I remember right. I specifically chose that amp because it was plug and play with the alpine head unit.
Thanks, that's what I wanted. I got the pac harness to keep steering wheel audio controls.
Hopefully this will work with the Alpine amp and new Alpine head unit.
rollinrob is offline   Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 10:46 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
37Olivestreetbrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Danbury
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by rollinrob View Post
Thanks, that's what I wanted. I got the pac harness to keep steering wheel audio controls. Hopefully this will work with the Alpine amp and new Alpine head unit.
that's the setup I used.

37Olivestreetbrews is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off






All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, Gladiator, Mopar and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to FCA US LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with FCA US LLC.